We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great hotel all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I traveled to Mazatlan for my best friend’s destination wedding. From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived it was nothing but an ideal vacation. El Cid Marina with the help of our favorite friend there, Octavio, truly exemplifies what a Mexican vacation should be. Everyone there is so eager to make it an experience to remember and trust me, they do their job well. If you want to stay at a stuffy resort like Pueblo Bonito, do so but realize that, in my opinion, Mexico has so much more to offer you than the 4diamond rating they so boastfully tell you about any chance they get (I experienced it firsthand from my visit for a massage there). Gracias Octavio, without you, our trip would not have been the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xol626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear XOL626

It is a great pleasure to read that your stay at El Cid Marina was so perfect. We are delighted that we met your expectations in both, facilities and service. You can not imagine the pleasure it give us to know that our staff, especially Octavio went beyond expectations to make you have such a great experience.

We look forward to serve you again to pamper as you deserve.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    468
    114
    43
    16
See reviews for
767
744
57
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

From the moment I arrived the staff was friendly, courteous, and very respectful. Right from the people at the front desk to the entertainment staff by the pool everyone was great. I always felt like they really wanted me to be there and all week I was well looked after. If your looking for a relaxed yet fun place to stay the Eld Cid Marina has some of the best entertainment staff in Mexico, like Yulii H, Jamie and Maritza. I would highly recomment the El Cid Marina and I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sysco185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My friends and family came down to Mazatlan to celebrate my daughter's quinceanera. Once again my family and friends stayed at the Marina El Cid in Mazatlan and were treated like movie stars. Mr. Gomez greeted us and made sure that everyone in the group was satisfied with their accomodations and having a good time. Fidel and his team at the pool were rock stars making sure that all had what they needed. We could not have had a better time. We will all definitely be back.

Anne & Amiga's from Minnesota

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnesotachicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear minnesotachicks

Firstly, many thanks to all of you for having your loyalty. Secondly, I am glad because you chose us to celebrate your daughter´s birthday and allowed me to pamper you as you deserve. I am happy to read that each one of the staff members made their best effort to satisfy all your needs. I will share your comments with El Cid´s family, be assured they will be grateful with you for kind words.

For your next visit to El Cid Marina, I will appreciate if you contact me directly for any assistance you may have.

Until soon!!!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Service is great and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our houskeeper Olivia was outstanding as well as the the Pool and bar attendents. We also used the Marina for our boat and Gladys in the harbor office is wonderful as well as the dock and marina staff.
Ray Morabito
Highlands Ranch, Colorado

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmorabito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Mr. Morabito.

Greetings from the Pearl of the Pacific!!!!!

On behalf of all the staff, I would like to express our gratitude for your kind words. It give us a tremendous pleasure to read that your experience with us was so pleasant and that you found our staff friendly and helpful, I will pass along your comments with them, be assured that will be grateful for your praises. I am glad as well, to read that you were pleased using some of the services that Aries Fleet offers.

We look forward to pamper you once more.

Best regards,

Isais Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The service is excellent, the amenities are very good and the place is incredible.

Room Tip: if you don´t like the noice you´ve better choose an upper room, like third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura-olivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear laura_olivo

Firstly, thanks a lot for your loyalty. Secondly, we are so glad to read that every time you come to El Cid Marina enjoy of every aspect of the hotel.

On behalf of all the staff, will be waiting for you to provide another pleasant vacation.

Until soon,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in a large room that had obviously just been vacated by a hard-partying group. It took a couple of days to get it really clean, but Olivia did a great job, always with a smile and helpful attitude.

We usually stay at the El Cid Moro Beach, and by comparison, this property is just a tick off. The rooms are clean, bright and relatively new. The restaurant food was more expensive and not as good as the Moro. Also, despite daily "newsletter" assurances that the Iguana Cafe opens at 10, it does not open until 12 which severly limits morning food choices. In fact, the two days we were there, the cooks and waiters were all at the cafe well before 12, but stood around talking and eating, ignoring us. After it opened, the service was still unimpressive.

Another inconvenience, at least at the Iguana pool, they don't allow food or drink at poolside. Guests have to be seated at tables near the bar to get drinks -- even though they are served in plastic containers.

The hotel is relatively isolated, although the tourist district is expanding to the north, giving guests more dining options which are still a short cab ride away.

Overall, the level of service at the pools combined with the availability and quality of food drags this property down.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Venturatraveler13

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid Marina we thank you for taking the time to share this review. We appreciate both, positive and constructive comments as they give us the tools to improve our service and product. I am so glad to read that the room met your expectations, although I sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations with the Food & Beverage service, mostly of our guests find this service to their liking, I apologize for any inconvenience we caused you. Thank you for let us know what are our areas of opportunity, be assured that our Food & Beverage Manager will analyze your comments in order to reinforce where needs.

We will be honored in serve you a near future and change your first impression of El Cid Marina.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We purchased this El Cid property 10 years ago and have been visiting ever since. We have never been disappointed.
This trip we brought our daughter and son-in-law. The Hotel manager upgraded us to the 2 bedroom Master Suite. It was truly amazing, it was sprawling and had the largest balcony/patio in the whole resort. We could sit on our lounge chairs overlooking the pool (which we could jump off into the pool, into 9 ft deep water)....enjoy the ocean views and watch the boats come in and out of the Marina.Very relaxing during the week, altho the weekends are a bit noisy with brining in conventions, etc.
The best waiter EVER works at the pool/bar restaurant - FIDEL!!! Truly a treasure, he really takes care of his guests. He pamperped us and served us lunch and drinks on our patio, which also had 2 sets of tables and chairs.He remembered us from our last mazatlan vacation 3 years ago.
It was hard to leave the resort....A place you could truly stay forever!
Of all the El Cid Resorts the Marina is the BEST!

Also a plus is the shuttle, which will take you to any of the other El Cids, and from there you can walk along the beach and venture out. We walked from there all the way downtown one day...just a note that we didn't see any danger, and felt very safe. Mazatlan prices are resonable, the people friendly and happy to have visitors to their lovely city.

Room Tip: Request ahead, or ask the mgmt. for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDi_and_Cowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear ladyDi_and_cowman

Delighted to read your complimentary remarks. Let me thank you for your loyalty through these 10 years and for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your remarks on both, service and facilities.

Our staff strives to provide a personalize service, and it is rewarding to know you had such a good experience. Our staff, especially Fidel will really appreciate your positive feedback and it will helps to all of us to provide even better service. I am happy as well, to read that you took advantage of the shuttle service to visit the entire complex and enjoy of the services they offer.

All of us We look forward to host you again in this lovely city and in this beautiful hotel to pamper you even better.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.6 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
3.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and impeccable luxury of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubs and El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, peaceful private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers a memorable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beach reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Two restaurants • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport • Pronatours Tour Desk in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing