We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cerritos Resort(Mazatlan)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision Mazatlan(Mazatlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,722)
Filter reviews
2,722 results
Traveller rating
1,848
647
156
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,848
647
156
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana poolwater taxifree shuttleone bedroom suiteshuttle servicejose luisgolden zonetime shareother resortsmain restaurantthe entire staffheated poolall inclusive packagecity tourall inclusive planspecial thankstimeshare presentation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,788 - 1,793 of 2,722 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the El Cid Marina from 2/12-2/18 2009. It was our 2nd time there in two years. The first time we were at one end of the resort and loved it. This last time, we were at the other end of the resort and loved it even more. The rooms are modern, spacious and sooooo clean. Every room has a balcony with both an ocean and marina view. Our stay was all-inclusive so all of our meals were eaten on-site and all were excellent. Order "The Mexican Dish," a sample of several things, including a small steak and it was so delicious. The caesar salad is to die for. My husband loved the mahi-mahi...they cook it 3 different ways and he loved them all, but the browned butter version was his favorite. Request the waitor Manuel, he was great. The breakfast buffet was mmm-mmm...great variety with omelets, quesadillas, and fruit smoothies made to order. The water aerobics and stretching classes led by Christian and Jamie were fun and invigorating....and they're both very handsome! We liked both pools. The activities pool was a perfect balance...fun during an activity, but quiet and relaxing in between activities. It has a swim-up bar and snack bar. The other pool has a beach entry and a HUGE hot tub off to the side...the water temp is nice and hot with jets that are good and strong. This 2nd pool also has waterfalls and man-made caves with skylights that you can walk through in pristine waist deep water. Really neat. Both pools have snack bars that serve good food and excellent mango margaritas. Every encounter we had with the hotel staff members was very pleasant; they go out of their way to be accommodating. We also had access to the restaurants, shows, activities, and amenities of the other two El Cid's nearby with free shuttle service. We went for a looky-loo only and they're nice too, but we preferred the atmosphere where we stayed at the El Cid Marina.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2009

Dear A TripAdvisor Member

El Cid Marina Beach Hotel is very lucky to have numerous repeat guests that truly enjoy staying with us and who are continually recommending our inn to friends, co-workers, and family. Writing reviews, word of mouth recommendations, and comments on our website let us know that the experience we attempt to create for each guest is happening. We truly appreciate each guest that returns to us.

Spoiling each guest that walks through our doors is our goal. We are pleased to know that we were successful and that you were able to enjoy all of our extras. The pillow menu is a great amenity that we love to have. Comfort while sleeping is a major part of what our guests are looking for. Having the right pillow can make or break the night. We hope you found a favorite pillow and continue to come and visit us.

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you every time you come to Mazatlan.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

My husband and I had a terrific vacation at the El Cid Marina and Yatch Club. From the moment we arrived, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The check-in was simple and efficient. Everything was explained up-front. The front-desk staff and bellmen spoke very good English and we felt they understood everything we asked.
We were approached right off the bat by a sales person offering us gifts in exchange for sitting through a 90- min. presentation. She was very nice and didn't seem too pushy. We ended up giving in. We enjoyed a nice complimentary breakfast and the sales lady was very pleasant. When we said no, she continued to be pleasant and showed us where to collect our gifts. It was probably the most pleasant sales presentation we've sat through. And we have been to many presentations!!
The bellman, Jesus Chelius was friendly, helpful and very thorough. He walked us to our condo with our luggage in tow and then went through the condo with us explaing and demonstrating how everything worked. The accomodation were clean, cheery, roomy and had a nice Hispanic flavor. The kitchen in the one bedroom was a bit small, but adequate. We had a nice view of the marina.
The grounds were kept up very well. All the pools and outdoor amenities were very nice. And again the service was excellent. We ate and drank by the pool many times. It was so nice to be waited on by such friendly people.
We chose to do the all-inclusive pkg. for 3 days and then got the 4th day for free. It worked out great! There were a variety of restaurants to choose from and again the service was excellent . The food at the buffets was good. All the meals we ordered from the menu was wonderful.
By purchasing the all-inclusive pkg. we had access to all of the El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. We took the free shuttle to the fitness center several times. It's small and has older equipment but it was adequate. We had several meals at the El Moro and the El Castilla resorts. We also played in the pools and hung out at the beach at both of these resorts. Again all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The ground and amanities were all kept very well. We never waited very long for a free shuttle to get to either of these resorts.
The resort is located just far enough from the Golden Zone to be out of the hustle and bustle, but only a short shuttle ride away!
We went on 3 excursions while we were there. The Sunset Tour of the area on a trolley was very pleasant. The sail trip to Deer Island was fun and the Canopy trip and tour of the tequilla ranch was unforgettable. We felt safe and well taken care of on both these trip. They were all reasonably priced.
All in all we had a wonderfully relaxing trip. It was nice to come here after having spent 4 days at El Salto Lodge bass fishing!
We are thinking of returning with our kids in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Christiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2009

Dear Amalia2go

Thank you for your glowing comments about the accommodations and service you experienced at the El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. As we have so often stated before, our staff is the ultimate key to our success and your satisfaction as a guest, and to that end we spend much time and effort in conducting training and sharing all manners of guest feedback with our associates. We certainly believe that we have developed and cultivated a caring team of professionals, and our staff reflects our philosophy of providing not only legendary hospitality, but also a memorable Mazatlan experience.

So many of our reviews focus on our spacious rooms and discuss the kitchenettes that are included with every accommodation, but there's so much more! Our restaurant La Marina is popular not only for our guests, but is favored by the surrounding community as well.

Finally, we appreciate the warm comments about Jesus. He is one of the many smiling faces our guests can always count on at El Cid Marina.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with the world!.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We had a very average stay here. The food was not good at any location we tried and we tried all of them. The workers were nice and helpfull. The room large and clean. The timeshare people at this hotel and everywhere were the worse I have ever seen. Relentless is the best way to describe them. Overall I will not visit another El Cid just average at best.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BobandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2009

Dear BobandJill

Thank you first for reviewing El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We are very glad to be rated by experienced travelers and just find our property clean, well equipped and our staff nice and helpful. We enjoy our guests and are always courteous. We have numerous repeat visitors and a large clientele based upon word of mouth. Many of them have posted very positive reviews on this and other web sites.

We will certainly look in to the comments you have raised about the food and assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F & B Manager and Executive Chef. We are constantly monitoring our performance against the high service and standards indicative of El Cid Resorts and we will insure these areas are restored to approve upon these concerns for future guests.

That being said, we assure you that your experience was an aberration and we humbly ask for an opportunity to prove this to you during your future travels to Mazatlan.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

The Marina El Cid is my favourite place to stay in Mazatlan.Every year I go back the staff is always the same ,they are all so helpful and courtious.,from the bellboys to the maids to the front desk staff I have nothing bad to say about them.The resort is extremely well kept and always clean.The rooms are spacious and are well equiped The pools are great. Watching the fish come in at 2:00 is one of my favourite things to do at the resort. Do not hesitate to book into this resort you will be extremely happy that you did.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

El Cid Marina has been a delightful resort to spend three weeks this last month.The staff are the most friendly helpful and knowlageable you could ask for. The units are very clean,comfortable and well situated around the pools and you can watch boats coming and going.The pool waiters and staff are very friendly and very capable,making sure you are well looked after,and the food is very good from the pool restaurant.The activities staff are a great bunch and deserve kudos for their attention to the guests.The dining room also has great food especially the Sunday Brunch is a favorite we do not want to miss.Last but surely not least is the free shuttle to the other El Cid Resort Hotels which is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2009

Dear Pookie46

Thank you for leaving such a nice review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We are so glad that your long-term stay provided you with all the comforts of home. It was truly a delight to have you spend three weeks with us. Many of our staff members have read your review and remember how much they enjoyed having you here.

Your list of 'pros' shows you really were able to relax and enjoy. Additionally, I love that you gave specific details; I hope others do appreciate this as well. I couldn't agree more that our energetic team does aim to please and nothing makes us happier than being able to be a positive force on our guests’ trips to Mazatlan.

The positive comments you left will help other travelers find us and feel confident that they are choosing a wonderful place to stay. We hope your travel plans will bring you back to our house again one day!

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews