We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$39
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Azteca Inn(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Villas Resort(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melville Boutique Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,750)
Filter reviews
2,750 results
Traveller rating
1,868
653
158
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,868
653
158
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana poolwater taxifree shuttleone bedroom suiteshuttle servicejose luisgolden zonetime shareother resortsmain restaurantthe entire staffheated poolall inclusive packagecity tourall inclusive planspecial thankstimeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 2,750 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We usually vacation in Puerto Vallarta but decided to try Mazatland and the El Cid Marina. Beautiful hotel, very clean, great and friendly service. Staff very accommodating, especially Fidel (server at the Iguana Bar) who kept moving our table so we could be seated in the sun. Rene, at the Callipso Bar, always made sure we were well taken care of (food and drinks). These guys work very hard and always polite and smiling.
Our first impression when arriving at the Airport in Mazatland was "Wow, no time share hasstlers!" The airport is small but neat and modern. We were met by the hotel van and after 40 minutes arrived at our hotel. Wonderful room with a great view of the pool area and ocean. The food was great (we took an all inclusive for 4 days - great value) and enjoyed eating at Marina restaurants and outdoor bars. We enjoyed the heated pool (the deep pool was cold) and the entertainment.
The only negative thing we could say was that it was rather windy the first few days and once the sun goes down and the wind picks up you need a wrap or a light jacket (never had that problem in P.V.)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Dear VeeNel

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about El Cid Marina and team.
Impressions are made special when people remember names of our staff that had the difference in everyone's visit to our hotel...

Thank you for pointing out specific people and trust me I will make sure to tell them personally of your great comments. We pride ourselves on our service as anyone can build a palace, but unless the foundation of the team is there, you cannot continue to do business. We receive many rave reviews on our food and are delighted that your experience was no exception.

Our "value" is what we strive to create and we hope that you will come visit us again soon...

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My wife & I visited Mazatlan in late March 2009. All the hype about the drug war is unfounded in Mazatlan. We stayed at the Marina El Cid resort. This resort is a little bit remote from the most popular activities, which was perfect for us. This resort & service is first class. El Cid has two large pools areas with the largest hot we have ever seen. The beach area is across the marina and easy to access. We opted for the EP meal plan and ate breakfast and snacks only at the hotel. Be prepared to be bombarded with time-share proposals. They will entice you with a lot of freebees. Unless you are genuinely interested, just be firm and say no. Your vacation time is too valuable to waste half a day.

Because of negative news about the world economy and the drug war, tourism in Mazatlan has been hurt. There is more to do in Mazatlan than you will have time for, do your research on line before you go. There is very little need to purchase tours, as everything you might want to do is an inexpensive taxi ride away. We climbed to the top of the lighthouse, which was exhausting, but one great view. We went on tour to Stone Island, which was regrettable. We took a sunset sailing cruise on the Patricia Belle, which was most enjoyable. Twice we went to the Aroma Spa for massage. We had 1.5 hour massages for only $19 plus tip. If you enjoy a massage, please don't miss this. Aroma Spa is in Old Town Mazatlan and when you arrive it might be little scary, but once you have done this you will have no fear of returning.

We ate our evening meal at a different restaurant every night. The service every place was awesome. Our most enjoyed meal was Italian at Angelo's just a short walk from our hotel. Angelos is a little expensive but worth every cent. Save room for dessert. We also enjoyed Pedro and Lolas restaurant in Old Town Mazatlan. They set-up your table in the street and the dining experience is unforgettable.

Take a taxi from the airport to your hotel, it is the same amount of money and will be a whole lot faster. Pulmonias are fun, great way to get around and cheap if you negotiate the price before you get in. Remember that it is not customary to tip the Pulmonia driver, just pay the agreed price and say thanks. Take the bus once or twice just for the experience. Pacifico Beer is great, we brought some back home. The best shopping is in the Golden District.

We hope you have as much fun in Mazatlan as we did.

Thanks, Ken, Ankeny, Iowa, USA

1  Thank HappyinAnkeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Dear HappyinAnkeny

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation in respect of your recent stay here at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We take pride in our sense of hospitality and your comments certainly assist us in enhancing the quality of our services.

We naturally are delighted to hear that you have totally enjoyed your visit. I was really happy to read that your feedback is similar to the comments left by the majority of guests leaving comments about the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and that on your next visit you will try our beautiful La Marina Restaurant for lunch and dinner too. With its unique water views, personable service, and the freshest ingredients, we do believe it is well worth the experience when compared to most restaurants in Mazatlan.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking or if you have any queries.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Since I read TA a lot before going to a hotel/resort, I will try to keep my report the way I like them: Short and to the point!

We really liked everything about El Cid Marina. PBEB might be nicer, but it is brand new (and really far away) and should be. They do a great job of keeping El Cid looking super. It's been # 1, 2 or 3 every time I've opened up Trip Advisor, as it should be. Its a great resort.

This hotel used to be considered 'out of the way' but it really is not. As mentioned a lot, there is a van that will take you to the other El Cids, closer to where the "action" is, but even walking there is not too bad.

I am loading some pictures and hopefully a video of the room to help people get a feel for what the place is like. We had a one bedroom unit, with a living room and kitchen. (We always eat out, so the fridge would be enough for us!) The room is always spic and span; the maids are super. Some of the features are a little older and could be updated, ie: The sink, shower heads, etc. But I'm not going to let a sink ruin my vacation, are you? Take a look at my pics and vid and make your own call.

The resort itself is laid out around the Marina, basically making an "L" shape with about 8 or 9 buildings that have maybe 12-16 units apiece in them. We stayed closer to the end of the resort, the western edge, where the marina begins. Walking around is always pleasant; there are always tons of boats to look at.

Of the two pool areas, we stayed mostly at the non-heated one. The heated one has a swim up bar, so being away from that was a little unnerving for me, but I got by! The non-heated pool has the funky rock structure (see pics) and you can swim underneath to the other side. It also has the hot tub, which was always busy. I personally liked the cold pool; nice to jump in and cool off. Oh, and finally, this pool has Fidel, one of the finest cocktail waiters I've ever known! Bravo senor!

One more thing about the pools; they have games and stuff at the heated one and nothing at the 'cold' pool. I really enjoyed not hearing music non stop or having to listen to Bingo every day. I'm only 40, but a little peace and quiet is kind of what vacations mean to me.

We chose not to go all inclusive (being timeshare members) but I did seriously consider it. They had a 4 for 3 deal. Buy 3 days at $55 and get the 4th free, making the net cost about $41 a day; not bad. We ate breakfast there twice and really enjoyed it. The food is pretty good, considering it is a buffet. Breakfast was about $10US and I thought it was worth it.

OK, hope I was brief, yet thorough enough to be helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helpuican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Dear helpuican

Thank you for the fantastic comments about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel and for taking the time to upload images to Tripadvisor. 5 DOTS IS THE BEST RATING FOR US! More importantly your loyalty to El Cid Resorts is worth a life time of ratings...

I was really pleased to read the great comments on the staff, location, breakfast, comfort and cleanliness! I have passed the feedback on to our accommodation services, front office and breakfast teams. I will also pass on your compliments to Fidel our employee of the year.

I do hope that you choose to stay with us for any future stays, so that we can showcase all of our upgrades and décor changes that will take place during this year.

Look forward to hosting you again here in Mazatlan!

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed three weeks again this year at El Cid Marina. The El Cid complex of four resorts are perhaps the best maintained and operated in Mazatlan. The El Cid Marina added land volleyball, cooking and tequila drink making classes and outdoor movies to their already significant offerings of activities. The Broadway show at the Castilla was excellent. We will surely spend another 3 weeks at the El Cid Marina next winter. We were able to walk to many nice restaurants and enjoy the celebrity impersonators at Heather's. A short bus ride takes you to the Mega Store or Walmart where you will find anything you need.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0ngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Dear J0ngal

A big thank you from all the team for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to pass on to the team here at El Cid Marina such kind and thoughtful comments!

We are happy that you and your family have had positive feedback on the food, location and friendly staff; and went back home with good memories encouraging you to share with fellow travelers, for which we thank you deeply. We have a high level of return guests which we believe is down to our personalized service and friendly approach, combined with our excellent facilities.

We very look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. In the meantime, once again thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed at the Marina El Cid in 2007 and enjoyed it so much that we couldn't think of staying at any other place, so we returned in 2009. We felt so welcomed and comfortable both stays. All of the staff were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful, especially Isaias Gomez and Armando Lizarraga Rios. They provided us with helpful information about El Cid as well as about Mazatlan tourist attractions. The resort itself has two beautiful pools and a hot tub to relax by. A nice man named Silverio makes beautiful jewelry by the poolside, he even custom-made earrings to match my necklace. We also loved being close to the marina and really enjoyed the catamaran rides, Sebastian (guide) made the trip extra fun!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandBGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2009

Dear TandBGreenBay

Thank you for such a glowing review. Each time we receive a review like yours pure delight is brought to our hearts. Our goal of creating the best experience has been achieved and we know that all of our efforts are worth it.

We think it is very important to instill a sense of pride in each of our associates and from your review we can see that they truly do care about making each of our guests have a wonderful stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed our services and our amenities throughout the hotel. We take pleasure in offering the little extras and ensuring each request is responded to quickly by the staff.

Thank you for staying with us a second time and please feel free to contact me directly when you would like to make future reservations.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews