We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location”
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lace City Utah
1 review
“Terrific location”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Right above the Shrimp Bucket and across the street from a wonderful beach. Easy walk to town!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyMacSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    110
    44
    10
    8
See reviews for
56
94
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the La Siesta for four nights in an oceanfront room. Rooms were clean and barebones, but the location was outstanding and the views unbeatable. TThe courtyard was delightful and a short walk to the plaza and steps to oceanfront eateries made the stay wonderful. If you are very picky, feel free to pay double or triple and stay elsewhere. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I highly recommend the La Siesta. Nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean and the view is outstanding! Must get the ocean view room! WiFi worked great and the service was wonderful. Oh, you MUST meet and say hello to Louise. Tell him Ron & Samantha sent you. What a character! Our 2 week stay was a wonderful experience and we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. The Historic zone is by far the better area to stay. So much culture and events to keep you occupied. And no timeshare people! We give it a thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I was expecting a hotel room for $48 US per night to be fairly lacking but this hotel experience for the price was very good. There is traffic noise at night from the road below but is livable at least in the short term, TV reception was excellent along with Spanish subtitles for a private lesson. Bath room and bed comfort were adequate with dependable maid service and clean sheets and towels. Hotel staff spoke English and were very courtious. I did not use the hotel safe so I cannot say how safe it was. Internet connection amazing. El Shrimp Buket restaurant had a late night bar with good cable TV, food mostly affordable and delicious and good service.

BUT watch out for the tours the hotel sells. There is a woman named Brenda (a Mexican with good English) connected with the hotel who sells the tours and of course only has ONE brochure. Take the time to read it carefully. I cannot say for absolute certain that I was set up by a shill to go on one of the most expensive tours, but in retrospect it feels like it. The tour I selected and paid $119 US for never took place and Brenda called me twice telling me she owned me money and would be at La Siesta in the morning to pay me back. Of course she never shows and her cell phone no longer connects with her. I lost about $60-$70 in this game. The tours I did go on and also paid for were peopled with middle-aged out of shape Americans and Canadians who are obnoxious even on a good day. Loud, almost drunk and very impolite.

Should I visit Mazatlan again I would stay at La Siesta, but not go on any tours. Be careful!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

a classic in Olas Altas, Hotel La Siesta is just the sort oh hotel I like. Nothing fancy, clean, well located, friendly staff, close to the cafes, historic old town, in fron of the beach. Close to everything !(except the infernal Zona Dorada and its time share pain and terrible food).
Fan of discos and Senora Frogga beware, this is not for you. If you are looking for history, (Jack Kerouac stayed at the hotel in the 50s...) architecture, surfing waves (just in front !) a pleasant atrium and some good eating joints, this is for you !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neogeoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

This would be a Disney theme hotel where one would pay extra if it were maketed as "boutique"! Spending two weeks here was super--clean rooms, no problems, super Mario (and others) at the desk to help with suggestions on city features, great security, card keys,ShrimpBucket and Olas Altos steak house next door, corner c-store, clean pool, walking distance to mercado and plaza Marchado and super street vendor food on the Malecon at the cliff diver site at the "big flag pole". Free safe deposit box and 24 hr internet computer in lobby and wifi (which we did not use) and water cooler on second floor are other features we appreciated. Buy a phone card for long dist and calls out from the room are only 30 p which is super. And and and the green "tourist malecon "bus will whisk you right out to the zona dorada and shopping centres - Gran plaza and Mega easily, great maid service, always hot water , well lit rooms, great balconiesand a good variety of tv channels are other features of this hotel and location. Super for the money !!! Thanks for the great treatment to Mario and staff and to Brenda for the mexican advice and the location of the best Locos Papas in the whole city!! Cliff and Shirley - Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union city,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This place was great. Its not a perfect hotel but for the price you really cant beat it. Great location beautiful veiw from our balcony in the ocean side rooms which is a must, dont bother with the garden rooms. We had so much fun at the beach across the street and the resturant thats connects to the hotel and the little bar a few doors down was great. It is on a busy street but its great for enjoying a beer o the balcony and people watch. The only down side in our stay was the morning we left, the water went out for a half hour or so and when turned back on came out black and had to be ran for a few minutes before safe to use .It was kinda gross but hay it was only 40 a night and your in mexico. Overall fun place. I would definetly stay again

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#28 of 78 in Mazatlan
56 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
665 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#10 of 78 in Mazatlan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#53 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#19 of 78 in Mazatlan
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#43 of 78 in Mazatlan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing