We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Siesta is a great deal in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“La Siesta is a great deal in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

I stayed at La Siesta for a week with my 13 year old son and we were both totally happy with our room and the service we received at La Siesta, The room was simple but very clean. We didn't have a beach view room which I think would have been even nicer and only $10 more a night... but hey we are cheapos!!... and didn't end up spending that much time in our room anyway. The pool at La Siesta is small but nice and for some reason we were the only ones who swam in it during our stay, the water in the pool was fairly chili which was refreshing on those hot afternoons, it's also nice to lay out in the sun around the pool which many quests did do . The location of La Siesta is a big bonus, with the malecon right out front, many buses pass right out front also and there are lots of restuarants just a stone's throw from La Siesta. (try La Cuerva del Leon for dinner and the Loonie Bean for coffee) The staff at La Siesta are very helpful and the gents at the front desk spoke English. Lastly there is free wireless and a free computer in the lobby for quests. To some it up La Siesta is a great deal for the money but some people will not like the fact that it is an older building in the "Old Town" part of Mazatlan but if you are a bargain lover do not hesitate to book you stay ay La Siesta.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theuglycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    110
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
55
94
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

No need to repeat what everyone else is saying: This is a no-frills hotel in a great location at a bargain price. What's the catch? There really is none, unless you consider no Kleenex or hand towels a deal breaker. This is an old building and could use a little sprucing up, but my room was perfectly clean, with air-conditioning that worked well, and a clean bathroom with a powerful shower. Beds are of Motel 6 quality. The free wi-fi worked perfectly in my room, and my iPhone rarely had trouble picking up the signal. Loved the ocean-view balcony, although facing the busy street is a double-edged sword - there is some traffic noise, and light sleepers might consider a room in the back of the hotel. Unless you came to Mexico to eat at a TGI Friday's, skip the Shrimp Bucket restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iraform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in the ocean front rooms on the 2nd floor,Basic rooms clean but in need of make over. Bathroom is good size but bad smells were coming out of shower floor drains in both rooms we had booked.Staff was always friendly and helpful,good meals and service in the Shrimp Bucket. Noise from the street makes sleeping at night a bit of a challange. Great sunset views each night.Good value for the money just be prepared for the night noise. I read the other reviews about the noise and it was much louder tham I was expecting.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BDHwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in March in an interior room. Room was great for the price we found (416pp). Bathroom nice size, but water smelt coming out of drains. Location excellent on the water. Hotel set up is odd with all rooms facing a kind of undercover courtyard with a cafe, restaurant, travel agency downstairs. This can make for a bad nights sleep with the restaurant quite load till late, and the staff very noisy setting up for breakfast in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Imagine three middle-aged Canadians waking up at the La Siesta, after their first night in Mazatlan, to find that someone has entered their room and removed a purse and a wallet? We were in total shock over the loss of our identification, passports, credit cards, bank cards, and spending money. As it all turned out, we lost about $400 US and a pair of prescription sunglasses, but we didn’t get hurt and the rest of our important materials were found strewn on a deck at the NE corner of the building.
La Siesta is designed for easy movement from deck to deck along the ocean front and along the North side, where the decks are particularly easy to access from the roof or the ground. The roof is easy to reach from an open stairwell inside the hotel or from ladders on the outside. We were occupying the NW corner room on the 3rd floor of the hotel, which has a patio deck facing the ocean and a slide window that can be easily stepped through to reach the decks on the North side of the hotel. The intruder(s) likely walked along the shared decks on the North side of the building and entered the unlocked slide window. People we have talked to suggest that we were victims of an inside job, given that the intruder(s) must have had knowledge of who to target and how to access the room without either awakening us or disturbing any other guests.
In fairness, the hotel clerk directed us to the police station and offered us a breakfast for our loss, even though he was unsuccessful in arranging any meetings with the manager. We stayed the rest of the week with all our important documents and extra money locked in the front office safety deposit box and with our room entrances and windows locked at night, despite the non-functioning air conditioner.
La Siesta is exposed to lots of noise from nearby street and nightclub activities, but it is still a quaint, old hotel in a nice location. There are daily military patrols past the hotel and police vehicles are seen frequently, sometimes picking up loiterers drinking on the Malecon. We suggest that the hotel needs to implement significant security measures to ensure that other guests do not go through such a traumatic experience and have their holiday experience impacted in such a negative way.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

This older hotel was quite delightful & kept up well. The staff was very accommodating & helpful. It had a fountain in the middle & foliage was growing around various areas which added to the ambience of the surroundings. Our second story room had a gorgeous view of the beach & a little balcony to sit & relax at night. Bed was on the firm side. Great value for the price!! We plan to visit Mazatlan again & hope to stay there in the future!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvjesus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lace City Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Right above the Shrimp Bucket and across the street from a wonderful beach. Easy walk to town!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyMacSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#12 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing