We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceano Palace
Ranked #63 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even better than last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The service was really great in the hotel as well as the bar, pool side, food Total. The food was very good, the rooms nice, the pool and beach are the Best!!!

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    161
    114
    88
    107
See reviews for
321
214
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a great small (6 stories) no frills hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. It is situated on a great part of the beach right across from Bird Island and within close walking distance of many very good restaurants including 4 right on the beach. Amenities include 2 good hotel restaurants, swimming pool, beach chairs and palapas, beach towel service and, a large and well equipped exercise room. Rooms are basic with relatively comfortable beds for an average weight person. (I'm 150 lbs. I stayed at Los Flores last year and found Oceano's beds much more comfortable). Decor is simple with a 50's retro feel. The room amenties include all you should need and everything works as it should; tub size shower (bring a universal drain stopper plug and you could probably bath in it), hair dryer, air conditioning, TV with satelite (some English and Spanish with subtitles), free room safe that takes your own code, shampoo (no conditioner), 2 free bottles of water although the hotel water is fine. Electric outlets are 2-prong so don't bother bringing anything that needs a ground plug. Unfortunately, there is no coffee maker for those of us that like to have a cup or two on the balcony while watching the sun come up and listening to the peacefulness of the ocean waves. As a solo female, I felt very safe staying here. I really liked the private balconies. They have a nice built-in cushioned bench where you can sit and watch the sun go down behind Bird Island or, people watch if you want to be alone for awhile.
My only complaint is that the mariachi music is very loud and very monotonous. The sound gets trapped between the two wings of the oceanview units and carries upward very clearly to the rooms. The music also makes it unpleasant to be around the pool for too long. One or two CDs are played over and over. It would be nice if they would turn it down a bit and add something softer to their music collection, especially in the morning. Also, when I was there there were many Christmas parties, morning and evening, and for each they had the same live band. I found the live music particularly loud and in the rooms you got the accompanying speaker distortion. I believe that there is live music at other times only twice per week. The good thing is that the music is shut down no later than 11:00 and the really loud party was over at 10:00.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms either face south or west. Gardenview face north and overlook the front parking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndigoRose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Oceano Palace is perfect for an economy hotel and the price was definitely right! The rooms are average sized, bright, and we had a nice balcony. The only things I would add are hooks on the backs of doors for hanging clothes and ice buckets in the room. The housekeeping staff is exceptional. The room was always very clean.

My friend and I talked to concierge Alberto when we needed information or had a request. He is lovely, very personable, and was always able to help us. For the most part, the staff at the hotel were great.

The pool (and pool area) is beautiful and clean. Perfect place to lie in the sun when I wanted to get away from beach peddlers. Pool-side service is available if you want it, which is nice. The beach is wonderful. The hotel has the good beach chairs that you can lay on for 6 hours and be comfortable. The ocean is a bit rough for swimming - which is to be expected on the Pacific side.

We did not eat at the restaurant because the prices were high. The same breakfast we had for 43 pesos ($3.60) with a 3 minute walk was roughly 150 pesos ($12.50) at the hotel. Plus, the staff of either Loco Loco's or Chile's Pepper (our two breakfast spots) were most enjoyable to visit with in the morning.

A few negatives...my biggest frustration while at Oceano Palace was a man called Tony. He is obnoxious and inappropriate and stuck to us initially like a bad rash. I don't know if he is a hotel employee or what. Tony wanted us to buy things from him; a time share, tours, etc. and when we did not, he became angry and sulked around us before making rude faces at us for several days. I cannot even guess why he is allowed to stay on the property.

Turn the pool music down!!! Every day after lunch, the pool music was turned up to a screeching level and no amount of us asking could get it turned down...worse yet, it seemed that there was one CD playing over and over again. I finally just put my ear plugs in if I wanted to lie by the pool. Alberto did save us a few times and got the music turned down.

I was disappointed that we did not have a room with an ocean view since the hotel was quiet with empty rooms on that side. I would suggest this to management as a good marketing tool.

I would return to Oceano Palace. The location is excellent, you can walk many places, and there is lots of cheap transportation right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MickeysGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

As a family of four we wanted a clean, quiet hotel and that is exactly what we got. We found the service excellent, everyone was so attentive and helpful without hovering. The restaurant was excellent, the kids especially loved the mini donuts at the breakfast buffet. Transportation was easy to obtain, as it was required being on the edge of the golden zone. Beautiful area, and despite what many others say the area is safe. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the area!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilson9965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Wilson9965:

Thank you very much for select OCEANO PALACE HOTEL on your last vacation to Mazatlan, we are pleased to have read that you enjoyed the service of our hotel, I am sharing this comments to all our employees in our briefings to keep continue offering a warm service, Personally I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review here on Trip Advisor! We look forward welcoming you back very soon.

Happy holidays

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was staying at this Hotel until my apartment was ready on the first of Nov. It was very affordable. The rooms were clean and the service was fair as far as the front desk goes. The bellboys and the maids were exceptional. It is in a good location with plenty of inexpensive public transportation available. Also their are taxis outside pretty much day and night. The restaurant was pretty good and had beach view. The only complaints I had with the hotel were, one I booked a room with a king sized bed and got a room with two beds. The second was they said that they had wifi and they did but you could only access it from the lobby which being supposedly three star and 1/2 rated hotel you would think they would have in your room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrickmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Patrickmn1:

I would like to thank you for select OCEANO PALACE HOTEL for your last stay and for the time you are taking and send us your kind comments, we apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay, few days ago we had problems with the Wi-Fi but now they fixed and you can get it in all the rooms, I am glad that you received a good service from our staff, hope you give us the opportunity to attend you very soon in this your house in Mexico.
Looking forward to see you soon

Eduardo Jimenez R.
Rooms manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have booked “Oceano Palace” because of the excellent reviews and the overall position of #6 within in all Mazatlan hotels (October/November 2011) so in spite of an excellent deal (580 mexican pesos per night) we had high expectations. Don’t let yourself deceive! After spending 5 nights at the hotel we have to say that the hotel is far from being good or even excellent. I am pretty sure that the hotel is faking the ratings by posting their own ones. We are not picky and have been travelling in Mexico a LOT, but at best the hotel can be rated two stars.

The hotel rooms are shabby and worn out, the furniture is old fashioned, there are cracks in the washbowl, sprinkles of color everywhere (at least they seem to paint the walls regularly), some mold in the shower. No hairdryer, no minibar or fridge, free water only on arrival day, very limited choice of TV channels, some grainy or without sound (we changed room and had the same problems with the same channels in different rooms, so it’s the hotel system). The window (a terrace door) was not closed completely and is a real threat for families with children who can fall out. The handle of the shower went off (leaving it on with boiling hot water) and the shower drain grid was completely loose, so we asked for a room change, hoping to get at least an upgrade to a room with sea view, the receptionist refused our upgrade wish but changed us to the room next door. The wooden door between the two rooms allowed us to hear every word of our neighbors (and vice versa), in an almost empty hotel it is just stupid to put people so near to each other when you can hear every sound.

It’s not the hotel’s fault that during our stay there was a construction work on the street and air hammers woke us early during our well deserved holiday. We asked for the manager to demand an upgrade to a quiet room, which would have cost us 100 pesos (I know it’s cheap, but we are people of principle) and I have read before that people get free upgrades or moved to Luna Palace hotel, we were never offered anything for free. Also not the hotel’s fault was that they turned off electricity for 3 hours because of the construction work, but it was a shame that we had to go through the stairway (because the elevator was shut down) which was full of garbage.

Another disaster is the time share presentation of the Luna Palace Hotel, that we got invited to from the friendly hotel travel agents. We were promised free tickets to the “Aquarium” in Mazatlan in return for 90 minutes presentation and we will get a “free” breakfast. Well, after the breakfast they requested 50 pesos tip (which would be a 500 pesos breakfast with a 10% tip)…ridiculous for what we got. Also at the end we didn’t get the tickets with some lame excuses. The presentation was poor and unprofessional (we had other time share presentations before), we didn’t get the gift and had to pay for the breakfast. If you stay at Oceano Palace, do yourself a favor and avoid this scam.

When we tried to order some snacks at the beach that were on the room menu and also on a big menu besides the pool, the waiter told us that they are only available during high season…just so that we needed to order from the expensive menu. This was the first and last time that we ate at the hotel. Every time the shift in reception changed, people were unable to do some “hand over”. When we changed the room the receptionists just had changed and the night guy didn’t know anything. Same thing when we called a taxi: Although the taxi driver already reported himself to the reception, when we arrived the morning receptionist told us that no taxi has arrived for us.

Now a few nice words about the Oceano Palace: It looks like the street side front of the hotel as gotten some nice modern face-lift recently and gives now a nice first impression, same for the lobby area and the restaurants that look really nice and refurbished. People who ate at the restaurants say that the food is excellent, but there is also a good choice of restaurants in the area, so no need to stay there. The pool is small but nice and also has recently been renovated (I know from a friend who stayed there while it was closed). If they start upgrading the rooms the same way the hotel might get to a good standard soon. The rooms are at least clean, towels and sheets get exchanged every day. The beach is relatively clean; during our stay (when the hotel was almost empty) enough sun beds were available. People trying to sell are coming by every minute, only if you are interested try to negotiate, start at 25% of the price they ask for.

Hundreds of people (also inside the hotel, in restaurants…) will try to sell you a boat trip to “Stone Island” between 220 and 400 pesos per person. We heard from people who took the tour that it is not worth the money at all, rather buy some drinks at nearby “Oxxo” supermarket, take the bus to the “Embarquadero” (9,50 pesos) and take the boat to “Stone Island” (25 pesos both ways) and enjoy a full day on this lovely calm beach (food is very cheap at the restaurants – 60 pesos for a nice plate, they don’t have any problems if you bring your own drinks). The bus is also a good way to get into the “old” town of Mazatlan or to the “malecon” beachfront.

Be aware that in Mazatlan there are many people who lure you into time share presentations, keep up your critical spirit and don’t make any investments without really understanding what this means or how the business model works. The 90 minutes they promise are never 90 minutes (rather the double), they know all psychological tricks to make you want it. I don’t say time shares are all bad (Luna Palace is), but if you only want to relax on your holiday, learn to say no and don’t waste half days in this brainwash procedure. In case of Oceano Palace I think that they lure people into the hotel with cheap prices just to get them to sign for Luna Palace time share.

Room Tip: Better avoid the hotel completely. Go for room with sea view. Avoid Luna Palace time share presentat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dominik w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked this hotel for a weekend because of the rave reviews here on TA. I even called after the fact to assure we would have a king size bed with an ocean view. When we got there, we waited three hours for our room to be ready, which was equipped with two full size beds, both of which were old and lumpy, and the furniture in the room was from my grandmother's era.

The desk manager (Miguel?) was pretty great though, and he made arrangements to have us moved to the Luna Palace, another hotel one block away that they own. That hotel was nicer, but still not a 4 star as was claimed with this hotel. The view at Oceana Palace is great, especially from the top floor, but beyond that and their swimming pool (also great), I cannot suggest this hotel to anyone. The rooms are 1 or 2 star at best. Maybe a little higher if you are really keen on the pool and the view.

Room Tip: Select a higher quality hotel or ask about the Luna Palace, which they also own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#46 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#22 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Property: Oceano Palace
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 2601 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82103, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceano Palace is our signature property with 255 rooms, some of them with an equipped kitchenette, that were renovated in 2014. It is available in European Plan and All-Inclusive. It features daily shows, a fully equipped gym, heated pool, daily pool activities and music. Our amenities include a fully equipped gym with the free services of a personal trainer and babysitting services at an additional charge. Our property is located right on the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, overlooking Birds Island. Our location features spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and wildlife on the island. Our food service includes: La Terraza: Mexican Food Roxy Bistro: Pizzas and Steaks Grand Central Bar: Sushi Bar Our All-Inclusive Plan of their meals at their local restaurant in addition to a set number of dinners at our other restaurants and properties. Details: - 7 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 3 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 5 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 2 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 3 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 1 dinner at our other properties & restaurants Location 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing