We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Location - but service is something to be desired"”
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oceano Palace
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Torreon, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Great Location - but service is something to be desired"”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The location is fantastic. The room was clean and beautiful. Good food. Beautiful beach. Heated Pool. Gym was good.

My big con was the staff at the front desk. I checked in early. I left instructions for them to give the room key to my friend who was scheduled to arrive later in the day. I gave them his name and cell phone number. When he arrived - it was apparent the hotel had lost the instructions or hadn't communicated them to the next shift. They spent 30 minutes interrogating my friend!

Besides the check-in situation - it was a fantastic 3 days at Oceano.

---> Eat at Tony's!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teaching85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    172
    119
    90
    112
See reviews for
349
217
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Oceano Palace through the Wyndham Vacation Club. We got an excellent deal for the week. There were a number of hotels we could have chosen, but Oceano Palace had a good location and a nice sized unit available.
We had a 5th floor unit, which was actually a studio side and a bedroom side. The airconditioning in the studio side had a bad odor so we never used the A/C on that side. The A/C in the bedroom unit was fine. Actually, we hardly ever even used the studio side since we ate out every day and did not cook.
Our views from the balconies were incredible! I would have liked some outdoor furniture, we dragged a couple dining room chairs out.
The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were sufficient. A few times, there was not much hot water.
Our coffee pot carafe was broken, and it was replaced after telling the desk twice and finally carrying the broken pot down there.
The pool was small, but never a problem. On the weekend, the hotel was really full with Mexican families so the pool and beach were packed. It was fun to see so many people out.
We never ate at the hotel or went to the bar or used the gym, so I can't comment on those.
Altogether we enjoyed the hotel. As we never mentioned the yucky A/C smell, we can't hold that against the managment for not fixing it. We had a few bottles of water in the unit when we arrived, but it was never replaced. That was surprising.
The beach was beautiful, and the hotel is in a very convenient location. We would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Oceano Palace Hotel in Mazatlán is a nice hotel, quite new, having clean and comfortable rooms. It is located in the Zona Dorada area in Mazatlán, which is north-west side of the city, pretty easy to get there either by bus or taxi, about 7-10 mins from the "malecon" (pier). There are several stores and supermarkets nearby. What you pay for the stay is pretty fair compared to the accomodation quality. However there are improvement areas for the hotel, such as the front desk attention, sometimes is not that easy and fast to get your room keys, specially as there are only 2 people attending when even the place is crowded. The beach is right in front of the hotel and you can pick one of the "camastros" from the hotel and lay on the beach under one of the "palapas" it is really nice and practical. If you choose this Hotel for your stay in Mazatlán you won´t be dissapointed!
(Note that the only disadvantage is that it is not within a walking distance from the "malecon" or the city downtown, however by taxi it takes about 5-10mins and costs around $5USD so it isn´t that problematic)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Erick T.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay with us, we´re sorry to hear about your experience with our front desk department, our front office manager has been informed, and we are continually striving to improve the experiences we provide to our guests. Thanks again for your kind comments and we hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to give you the experience that Oceano Palace is known for.

Best regards

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The weather got cold and we got a really good deal. We wern't expecting much for what it cost us so we were very suprised and happy with our accomodations. No they are not a 5 star hotel but we didn't pay 5 star prices either, which is what I think a lot of people expect. The rooms are clean and the staff are helpful. We were not pestered like some of the comments made, sure we had to say no thankyou serveral times , but hey it's Mexico you can epect that. When we where ready to take a trip it was handled very well and he came looking for us after the trip to see if we enjoyed it, so it wasn't like I have your money and who cares.
It's a shame that a lot of people are avoiding Mazatlan we felt very safe, but then again we don't do anything silly either. Would go again for sure

Room Tip: We stayed for 3 weeks so I wanted a studio room for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Ann D:
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, we really appreciate your comments, this is the best way to improve the service to our guests, Hope we have the honor to have you here in this you hotel in Mazatlan very soon, thank you very much for your time

Best regards

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The rooms are clean, but basic. The pool area is great and the pool is soooo warm. It is right on the beach with a beautiful view of the islands just off shore. The staff is friendly and the pizza is good. Great family hotel in a good area. Mazatlan is very safe. We have been going to Mazatlan for 9 years without any trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear pagl:

Thank you very much for taking the time and let us know your feedback about your last stay with us, I see you enjoyed our pool area with a beautiful sunset view, being in that part of the hotel is just to relax and enjoy, we are glad that you were comfortable; I agree with you Mazatlan has always been safe. Thanks again for your kind comments and hope to see you soon by this your house in Mexico, OCEANO PALACE HOTEL.

Cordially


Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamos, Sonora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

They were very polite and nice. The Hotel was very well kept, organized, and helpful. Most of the staff will go out of their way to help you. The hotel is just outside of the golden zone, so it takes some time to get everywhere. Though, there is an excellent restaurant in the hotel and a lot of good restaurants are around this. And if you want to go to old city you can take a city bus that is cheap or open taxi. The beach is great. A lot of water sport activities. Some vendors approached us on the beach but they weren't very pushy. As for the room, we stayed in the suite which had separate bedroom and dining room with two twin beds where our daughters slept. The view from the balcony was magnificent. Overall we had a great vacation and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Ody M:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you kind comments with us, we are very happy that we accomplished your expectative during your last vacation, I am sharing this review with our service staff to invite them to keep offering this warm service to our guests, they will be glad to hear it, thanks again and we are looking forward to see you soon.

Cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I love that place, the price was right and the people was great, We had a rude drunk Canadian making troubles but other than that everything was great.
R.A.
Italy

Room Tip: Beach front the sunsets are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear RoyAC
We really appreciate your comments of your last stay, this help us to keep improving our service, Sorry for our rude guest, but I am glad that you had a good time, looking forward to see you soon.

Cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 79 in Mazatlan
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 79 in Mazatlan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 79 in Mazatlan
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,799 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#38 of 79 in Mazatlan
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Property: Oceano Palace
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 2601 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82103, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceano Palace is our signature property with 255 rooms, some of them with an equipped kitchenette, that were renovated in 2014. It is available in European Plan and All-Inclusive. It features daily shows, a fully equipped gym, heated pool, daily pool activities and music. Our amenities include a fully equipped gym with the free services of a personal trainer and babysitting services at an additional charge. Our property is located right on the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, overlooking Birds Island. Our location features spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and wildlife on the island. Our food service includes: La Terraza: Mexican Food Roxy Bistro: Pizzas and Steaks Grand Central Bar: Sushi Bar Our All-Inclusive Plan of their meals at their local restaurant in addition to a set number of dinners at our other restaurants and properties. Details: - 7 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 3 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 5 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 2 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 3 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 1 dinner at our other properties & restaurants Location 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing