We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Azteca Inn(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melville Boutique Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
478
193
126
94
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
193
126
94
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean view roomocean sideexchange ratestone islandoceanawaitersgringoblastblendermargaritasvendorsadrian
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Went Skyservice two weeks all inclusive, for the price well worth it. Flight all-right and on time. Check-in very quick and found are way to are room without any help. No.219 is clean with a kitchen and big fridge to put water and beer for after 10.00pm. (bar shuts down to early). Great ocean view from the balcony! Like I said clean and only used the floor fan as AC wasn,t needed. First week was just F,d up for idiots playing the towel game. Putting towels down at 6.00am. and not using chairs until after 10.00am. Really considerate A- holes from WINTERPIGERS. The second week loungers were plenty even after lunch.
As for food, yes as other stated, Breakfast good, lunch/snacks alright and dinner hit and miss. If a miss no worries hit the street for many resturants that rock with good shrimp and rib dinners!. There is only one bar but the three bartenders are very good at pouring you a fine drink. Got tired of the Takati only cerveza, they might want to bring in Mazatlan's finest Pacifico! Beach is great although the venders hound you, do to not many people seem to be visiting at the time we were there. I would go back again if the price was right. If not, do the non all inclusive and eat out. Gring Lingo,s all you can eat was awlsome! Superbowl at Sports Salon was a good time. All is good at the OP too bad the Winnipeg hogs thought they owned the place on are first week!. Oh watch out for a duffus wearing red Crock sandals from BC. He says he is 105 yrs. RUN FOR THE HILLS!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanman308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

If you're looking for the ideal vacation in Mexico, the Oceano Palace isn't going to cut it and neither is Mazatlan.

Mazatlan is the same unkempt, dusty, depressing mixture of tired and dilapidated buildings and time-share hucksters that it was 18 years ago when I last visited. Compared with many other destinations in Mexico, Mazatlan isn't even in the same league. The centro, or central core of viejo Mazatlan, is much the same – only 18 years older. There is a rather large malecon (seaside walk) stretching the length of the zona dorado, or golden zone, but it has little to recommend it, other than it's wide and easy to traverse.

Oceano Palace is clean, the staff is generally friendly and helpful. Humberto is perhaps the most overworked bartender in Mexico.

Most rooms at the Oceano Palace face the sea and are reached by two tiny, groaning elevators off the lobby. Wireless internet is available, but only in the lobby and the restaurant - not in your room. Our room was better than many we've stayed in in our travels, complete with two double beds, large windows, door to the balcony and air conditioning that worked and didn't keep you awake at night. An in-room safe (at an extra $2 per night) was a welcome plus.

I can only assume pool staff are selected for their ability to crank up the volume on the poolside speakers and play mindless games to amuse themselves - disguised as "daily activities". They might consider spending a little more time grooming the beach or maintaining the pool chaises.

There is good food to be had in Mazatlan – just not at the Oceano Palace. Unless you've grown accustomed to institutional food, you'll find the selection at the Oceano less than inspired. It's been my experience that making good food is not rocket science. Making bad food requires dedication and the food preparers at the Oceano are perhaps the most dedicated group I've found anywhere. This was our first stay at an all-inclusive. We generally tend to fly to a destination and then seek out a locally-owned hotel on our arrival. As previously mentioned, the Oceano Palace met a number of tests, but failed miserably on the food. All meals are buffet-style. Breakfast was reasonably good, with a number of choices, including pancakes, omeletes, cereal, granola and good coffee. Lunch slipped from that standard, with various steam-table offerings of indeterminate origins and hamburguesas. Dinner is best skipped, unless you find the food at your local hospital or high school cafeteria appetizing.

As we were leaving, I mentioned that the last time I was in Mazatlan was 1991. I quickly corrected myself: the last time I was in Mazatlan was 2009.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Calgary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Check in was slow. The food was ok but there are several good restaurants just a few blocks away. Heather’s, Fat Fish and the Purple Onion are all very reasonable and the food there is great. The rooms were ok but the beds are hard, lots of hot water. Everything was clean. Pool was cold but after sitting in the sun it was refreshing. You can also swim in the sister Hotel called the Luna Palace. Watch the beach venders as they have been know to swipe your money. Don’t get too friendly with them or tell them too much info about yourself. The beach is the best in the area and great for walking or jogging. Make sure you get a ocean view room as the sunsets are the greatest. The elevators are not to be trusted as someone got trapped in one while we were there. Over all this hotel is great for what you pay. We liked the WiFi in the main area took our laptop to keep in touch. We took a wonderful sailboat ride on MiCasa Sailing tour while there. Make sure you check their link here at trip Advisor or go to http://sailmicasa.com/

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gr8windsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I've been to Mexico a few times and this is the worst hotel experience i have had. The food, other than breakfast was boring and no variety. The maid service in our room was pathetic to say the least. Two of us in the room and we were given 2 towels and one face cloth - not even a bath mat. Bits of paper stayed on our floor for days proving it was never swept. the now unused snack bar is covered in pigeon droppngs and there are dead plants hanging all around. I can inderstand why someone who's first experience in mexico was this hotel would never go back.
The bar and restaurant staff are excellent, always smiling and more than willing to accomodate, The beach is nice and the weather was outstanding. Just wish I would have been staying in a tent - it would have been better!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

we stayed for a week at the Oceano, the check-in was fast.
The rooms were clean and waiting for us.The beds were very comfortable. The food in the only resturant was good for breakfast, alright but not fabulous for lunch, supper was okay, we usually went out for supper. Lots of good resturants in the area.Housekeepers kept the rooms and hallways super clean. Somethings you miss is a clock radio, coffee pot and a little frig. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that wanted a good but cheap place to stay. We were gone alot of time but enjoyed the time we spent there

Stayed: January 2009
Thank lainie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews