We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My grandfather owned a time share here and I've been a couple times. The staff, especially Victor (the manager) and Pancho & Javier (activities coordinators) are fantastic. Very helpful and accommodating.

I had a studio with a kitchen. The kitchen had all the utensils and dishes I needed. So great to be able to cook my own meals.

The view is spectacular - you see the sunset dead center between the islands. Beautiful sunset each night.

Worth the money, for sure! Not high-end, but clean and friendly and everything you need for a Mazatlan vacation!

Room Tip: Get the kitchen! And the rooms in the tower all have balconies facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    119
    74
    32
    22
See reviews for
101
80
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I have been staying at Costa de Oro for many years and I stay here 1 week per year. Yes, it is an older property and needs some updating. However, the service that you receive and the location of this hotel can't be beat. The pool area is very relaxing and the wait staff will take very good care of you. If you need anything "G" or Pancho will make it happen. The food at the pool is great! Be sure to try the nachos and the ceviche. There are many shops and restaurants just outside the front door, so you can walk or take a short pulmonia ride. I also own a timeshare at another property, but still have to visit Costa de Oro when I stay at the other property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvMazatlan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I went to Mazatlan a few days ago to attende a friend's wedding. We stayed at Costa de Oro for two nights. The price was reasonable (120 USD for two nights). When I got there the type of room I booked was full so I got an upgrade to a suite with ocean view! That was a plus. The room was big but needs improvement and renovations. The bedroom was dark as well as the bathroom, so I had to go to the living room to catch the daylight and get ready for the wedding. The staff was helpful and always smiling. I would recommen this place but it does need some renovations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabyrd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

we love costa de oro the staff there are sooooooo great and sincere the food is great never had a bad experence ther and been staying there for 6 years and every year gets better

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twigzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We've been owners since 2002 - my in-laws have been owners much longer. We're actually here at Costa now - as I write - staying 2 wks in the Tower (one-bedroom suite) over Adobes. Our take? We love the pool staff! Lucy, Florencio, Luis...they're like family and we know we will be well-cared for by them. But yes - the hotel is not the ritz. While the elevators in this tower have (finally) been replaced, things are, well, old. Some of the rooms got a bit of a makeover, but only in the form of new slipcovers. The mini-fridges are hit or miss operation and our 2-burner stove top had to be replaced today because it shocked us everytime we tried to use it. But we love the water pressure in the shower (although we'd like a bit more room in the bathroom itself), and the suite is spacious (it's just 2 of us). The beds (at least in this bldg) were upgraded a couple years ago and are a little firm, but still decent. We have a beautiful view of the ocean and see some georgeous sunsets. Okay, now Gus Gus. Yup, they can be loud. Band starts around 8 - 8:30 and run to closing. The bands generally aren't fabulous, but it is a popular place, so don't expect changes there. We don't do the night life anymore, so we just resign ourselves to having to hear it every night. And as far as we know, there is no room in the hotel where you can escape it.

The pool area is one of the nicer ones on the strip (we all spend a lot of time out ther!) and Costa has a nice beachfront. We love that we can start shopping the minute we step out the front door!

It comes down to this. We'll continue to come to Costa, but not because it's a A-1 resort. We come because of the staff. It's not a new structure, but it's comfortable and for what we pay, we feel we're getting a good deal. But if we had to pay full-price hotel prices, we'd probably look at some place newer.

One quick note: It's a very tough economy down here right now, running 30-40% occupancy in local hotels/resorts. So of course they want to sell you something. You can always decline, but do expect you will get "invitations" on a regular basis. We just ignore them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PJPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

well just got back from our vacation now i can get some sleep. Gus Gus across the street was loud it sounded like it was in our room and it went on till 1 am and the live band sucked,after 2 weeks i can tell you what songs the sang.The walls were so thin that i could here the person snoring next to us.the people next to us would party till 4 am and when i phoned the desk they said we will see what they could do but nothing happened.i would not stay here again and if you have kids i would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Gold Bar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We have been timeshare owners since 1997 and in the lock-off suite since 2002. We own 4 weeks. This year the hotel was filled with a busload of young people who partied loudly and continuously from Wednesday afternoon until Sunday morning.

My complaints were met with apologies but no action.

In addition, the owner of the property held debauched parties in the "office" area on the first floor below our unit. This suite is passed by anyone heading for the beach or the restaurant and the doors were open.

These parties featured loud music, writhing girls and old men. There was obvious liquor consumption and equally obvious drug use. Not something I would expect in a "family" resort.

The hotel and restaurant staff are still wonderful, but they are powerless to deal with the issues caused by the owner.

We planned to stay 8 weeks this year but have cut our losses and are going home after 4 weeks.

My prediction is that the owner is on his way to ruining the resort and will probably lose it to his drug habit.

I don't think that we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WaSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#21 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#28 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#50 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#54 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Property: Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing