We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, relaxed establishment; not a posh palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed establishment; not a posh palace”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a suite with 2 double beds and 2 couches that serve as beds...it's an older place & the amenities are pretty basic--we had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot, 2 burner range, and all the dishes, pots, and pans needed. It can be a little noisy at times but if you shut the windows, it stays pretty quiet. There are several markets in the area & lots of restaurants & bars with live music. It's the kind of place that you feel comfortable walking to your room in your swimsuit. Staff at the hotel & in the bars/restaurants/stores are super friendly. The wifi in the rooms is sold as a card per device & we paid 150 pesos for a week. It was sometimes a little spotty & slow but we didn't go to Mazatlan for that, it was fine for facebook updates, etc. You can pick up free wifi in the lobby that is much faster & more dependable if you need it for something. Recommend the Roots Cafe next door for food, drinks, and live music---bacon wrapped shrimp is fabulous. There are a couple of stores accessible from the hallway in the hotel which makes things easy---bought some vanilla from Omar in El Cine to take home for a friend. Don't be daunted by the police going up & down the street; they are there to watch---I felt very safe in Mazatlan; visited a lot of local places & had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skook72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    119
    74
    33
    22
See reviews for
102
81
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We paid the $15 each for internet in our room. Not... faded in and out at will. Took forever just to get mail, forget about staying in touch with Skype or FaceTime. Beds are old, pillows older, taps leak. It's not keeping up with what's needed by today's traveler. Certainly not a place to invest in. Staff are good but need to upgrade menu to something more health aware. Bring your ear plugs because the noise off the street can be a bit much.

Room Tip: I changed rooms to get better internet, didn't help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been to this resort many times. We love it. There is not a lot for kids to do but they do have art projects and other little classes everyday but we don't go on vacation as a family to get rid of the kids all day! The pool is average size but too crowded. The rooms are nice we have stayed in the almost all the room types they have to offer and haven't run into problems outside of an elevator out of service for a couple days but that happens at the hilton too :).

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank drkdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Michael
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been going the Costa for years and have always had a wonderful time. All the wait staff and bartenders are great and the front desk people cannot do enough for you. The maids go above and beyond to make your visit as comfortable as can be. Other places may be newer, but you cannot find a better staff in all of Mazatlan to make your vacation the special time it should be.

Room Tip: we love the 6th floor in the new tower. Junita, the maid, is the best and always knows what we need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2007retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have never stayed at this resort before. It is a older resort in Mazatlan and I understand why they chose this spot. It is beautiful. The beach is great and even little kids can enjoy the surf as it has a very gentle slope. The pool is very nice as well.
The staff are extremely accommodating and many speak very good English. The restaurant had a great variety of entrées. But there are many other places to sample the food of Mexico around this resort.
This resort is of old style so you may need to ask for wash cloths. You may be able to ask for a hair dryer too but you may just want to pack one just in case. Our one bedroom had stovetop, micro, coffee pot, and a mini fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago while on a ball tournament. The staff were fabulous, the food was excellent, the view magnificent. There was a lot of things to do at the hotel and the staff was very willing to help you in any way they could. They were very accommodating in helping get side trips organized. It is very centrally located to walk to other hotels, restaurants and markets.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side, overlooking the courtyard on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinmomma2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The pool is very clean and you have the best beach view and access. The two for one drinks at pool are good and not watered down. Lucy, pool wait-staff, is the best. She is very attentive!!! De oro is one of my fav Mzt spots!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank placid1Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#27 of 78 in Mazatlan
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#23 of 78 in Mazatlan
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#28 of 78 in Mazatlan
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#53 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#43 of 78 in Mazatlan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Property: Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing