We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful for a quiet getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delightful for a quiet getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was so impressed with this resort, it's hard to decide where to start this review. Location seems like a good starting point - the hotel is just a few minutes from the airport, about 40 minutes south of the main tourist area of Mazatlan. It is isolated from the tourist chaos, but that also means there are no non-property restaurants or entertainment nearby. That was perfect for me, but could be stifling if unexpected.

I give an unqualified thumbs-up to every other aspect of the facility. The staff was outstanding. For example, when Carlos checked me in, he offered to have a Wi-Fi access point relocated nearer to my room in case the signal wasn't strong enough. It wasn't necessary, as wireless coverage throughout the property was strong and easy to access, but I was impressed that he would even offer. And the rest of the staff was equally as attentive to my every request.

The food was delicious, the drinks top-shelf, the room well-appointed, and the view incomparable.

The resort is on a long stretch of sandy beach, with an impressive-looking golf course, and includes condominiums, private residences, and the hotel. The hotel has a couple of sections - a recently-built main hotel, where everything is modern and first class, and an older area with quaint villas that have been there for many years.

I stayed in one of the villas last year, and not knowing that they belonged to the original development, was a little disappointed with their older style of layout and design. In response to my comments in the customer-satisfaction survey the chain sent out (which apparently they actually read!), the manager invited me back to experience the new part of the hotel, and I'm pleased to report that his confidence in the property is not misplaced. The 'new' hotel is as elegant and inviting as any tropical resort in Mexico.

While floating in the infinity-edge pool, watching the sunset paint the sky pink and red and orange, sipping a cocktail served poolside, I decided this was one of my very favorite resorts in Mexico, and definitely in Mazatlan. I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view will be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    18
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catawissa, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a condo and it was paradise! July and August are the two hottest months of the year. There aren't a lot of people at the resort during these months. Which we felt was perfect! We had the pool and beach to ourselves for 3 of the 7 days there.

The resort is 10 min from the airport. They will pick you up and drop you off if you need them to. It's really nice to get your luggage, ck into your condo at the resort and head to the pool within an hour.
The grounds are immaculate. There are always people cleaning and servicing the grounds.

The golf course is breathtaking. There are 6 oceanfront holes. It was a beautiful course. We played early one morning and the views were great!

The staff at Estrella Del Mar was very kind and helpful. They will shuttle you anywhere you would like to go. We took a shuttle one day to Mazatlan and spent the day sight seeing and shopping.

We can't wait to return!



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvtotravel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We wanted a relaxing experience, and we got it. The resort is well-removed from the craziness of the Malecon in Mazatlan. It's located south of the city in an area that is very remote and very beautiful. Once inside the grounds, you'll find a huge property which includes a golf course, condos, private residences, and the hotel. The beaches are clean and without any crowds- the strong rip currents keep people out of the water, and the remoteness of the property keeps it isolated.

The plusses are that the rooms are large and well appointed, with large bathrooms, flat screen TVs, etc. The restaurants have very good food, and the service everywhere is excellent. The pool areas are clean and picturesque. There are several small pools and a large one to choose from. The spa is very nice and the prices are excellent. If you want a deep tissue massage, ask for Maria and she'll work you over.

The minuses are that the property is very isolated, and you are at the mercy of the resort's restaurant's hours. If you want snacks or a bottle of water, bring them with you. Also, there isn't a lot to do if you're not a golfer. We thought that our young adult children would have been bored had they gone with us. There are the swimming pools, a beach volley ball net, and horses can be hired for beach rides. Other than that, there isn't much else.

Depending on who we travel with, we will stay at the resort again, We appreciated the excellent staff, who were attentive and friendly. But be aware that it is truly a getaway experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

In our opinion, this is the best beach hotel in Mexico. Huge pristine beach with great waves. Our ocean front suite was gorgeous. The grounds and gardens are simply fabulous. This is a fantastic retreat for families to play and really enjoy the resort life. The golf course looked to be challenging and for a golfer to have the beach and a great course would be a dream come true. The staff was efficient and we especially were taken by the charm of Eddy Valdez. We feel like Estrella del Mar is the best kept secret in Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango Du
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I liked the hotel, everybody was helpful and they treated us well. The room we stayed in was great. I didn't like too much the food they served at the restaurant, and maybe there should be more options in the menu without hot pepper in it or it should be specified in the menu what contains hot peeper and what doesn't. overall.. good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
6.6 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#27 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
7.3 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#49 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#14 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Property: Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10 | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
68-room oceanfront hotel in Mazatlan, Mexico within the gated community of Estrella Del Mar, just 10 minutes from Mazatlan airport. Activities and amenities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pool & hot-tubs, restaurant & bar, tennis courts and horseback riding, 18-hole championship golf course and 3½ miles of beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing