We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not ready for guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank William And Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank ALAMOSMEXICO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have traveled to mazatlan many times and play Estrella del mar every time, the course is always immaculate the staff and the golf attendants are great ..I would go back anytime at all. Love it.. The holes along the beach are beautiful of course with the wind you have to club down on 16.
Planning a trip again soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonerunner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was so impressed with this resort, it's hard to decide where to start this review. Location seems like a good starting point - the hotel is just a few minutes from the airport, about 40 minutes south of the main tourist area of Mazatlan. It is isolated from the tourist chaos, but that also means there are no non-property restaurants or entertainment nearby. That was perfect for me, but could be stifling if unexpected.

I give an unqualified thumbs-up to every other aspect of the facility. The staff was outstanding. For example, when Carlos checked me in, he offered to have a Wi-Fi access point relocated nearer to my room in case the signal wasn't strong enough. It wasn't necessary, as wireless coverage throughout the property was strong and easy to access, but I was impressed that he would even offer. And the rest of the staff was equally as attentive to my every request.

The food was delicious, the drinks top-shelf, the room well-appointed, and the view incomparable.

The resort is on a long stretch of sandy beach, with an impressive-looking golf course, and includes condominiums, private residences, and the hotel. The hotel has a couple of sections - a recently-built main hotel, where everything is modern and first class, and an older area with quaint villas that have been there for many years.

I stayed in one of the villas last year, and not knowing that they belonged to the original development, was a little disappointed with their older style of layout and design. In response to my comments in the customer-satisfaction survey the chain sent out (which apparently they actually read!), the manager invited me back to experience the new part of the hotel, and I'm pleased to report that his confidence in the property is not misplaced. The 'new' hotel is as elegant and inviting as any tropical resort in Mexico.

While floating in the infinity-edge pool, watching the sunset paint the sky pink and red and orange, sipping a cocktail served poolside, I decided this was one of my very favorite resorts in Mexico, and definitely in Mazatlan. I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view will be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a condo and it was paradise! July and August are the two hottest months of the year. There aren't a lot of people at the resort during these months. Which we felt was perfect! We had the pool and beach to ourselves for 3 of the 7 days there.

The resort is 10 min from the airport. They will pick you up and drop you off if you need them to. It's really nice to get your luggage, ck into your condo at the resort and head to the pool within an hour.
The grounds are immaculate. There are always people cleaning and servicing the grounds.

The golf course is breathtaking. There are 6 oceanfront holes. It was a beautiful course. We played early one morning and the views were great!

The staff at Estrella Del Mar was very kind and helpful. They will shuttle you anywhere you would like to go. We took a shuttle one day to Mazatlan and spent the day sight seeing and shopping.

We can't wait to return!



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luvtotravel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We wanted a relaxing experience, and we got it. The resort is well-removed from the craziness of the Malecon in Mazatlan. It's located south of the city in an area that is very remote and very beautiful. Once inside the grounds, you'll find a huge property which includes a golf course, condos, private residences, and the hotel. The beaches are clean and without any crowds- the strong rip currents keep people out of the water, and the remoteness of the property keeps it isolated.

The plusses are that the rooms are large and well appointed, with large bathrooms, flat screen TVs, etc. The restaurants have very good food, and the service everywhere is excellent. The pool areas are clean and picturesque. There are several small pools and a large one to choose from. The spa is very nice and the prices are excellent. If you want a deep tissue massage, ask for Maria and she'll work you over.

The minuses are that the property is very isolated, and you are at the mercy of the resort's restaurant's hours. If you want snacks or a bottle of water, bring them with you. Also, there isn't a lot to do if you're not a golfer. We thought that our young adult children would have been bored had they gone with us. There are the swimming pools, a beach volley ball net, and horses can be hired for beach rides. Other than that, there isn't much else.

Depending on who we travel with, we will stay at the resort again, We appreciated the excellent staff, who were attentive and friendly. But be aware that it is truly a getaway experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
65 reviews
14.6 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#64 of 80 in Mazatlan
407 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#46 of 80 in Mazatlan
101 reviews
8.8 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#17 of 80 in Mazatlan
138 reviews
13.9 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £49 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Mar sits oceanfront on over three and a half miles of secluded beach in Mazatlan, Mexico. Located 10 minutes from the Mazatlan Airport, the 900-acre gated community includes a colonial Mexico-style hotel with a gracious open-air hacienda-like courtyard and features 47 ocean-view and garden-view rooms and 62 one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Both the guestrooms and condominiums feature private balconies and free WiFi. Estrella del Mar features the spectacular 18-hole Robert Trent Jones, Jr. championship golf course that runs along the Pacific Ocean, home of the PGA Tour Latin America. Other amenities and activities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pools & hot-tubs, restaurants & bars, tennis courts, soccer fields, water sports and a turtle sanctuary and conservation project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing