We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo disappointing and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We rented a condominium. We understood that the furnishings, which are provided by the individual owners, will vary somewhat, but the furnishings as well as the overall appearance of the unit (appliances, floor materials, etc.) were a far cry from what we were sold. We paid $260 a night and expected to get what the brochure pictured, or something close to it.

The bed in our unit was the hardest bed I've ever slept on. And I travel internationally about 100 nights a year. We could not easily change it, because of course by the time we discovered this it was very late. I ended up sleeping on the couch. The following morning I went to complain about it at breakfast, and the manager came to see us about it 'only' four hours later. To her credit, she did understand that we were sold something that they did not deliver, and she did understand that the bed was not something that most people would tolerate. She moved us to a better unit and offered to credit us for the one night.

It has now bee two weeks since we left, and the credit has not appeared on our credit card statement, even though I've made several emails and pone calls to clear it up.

Room Tip: maybe the hotel rooms are better, we did not stay there. The hotel is a long ways from the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you want solitude and beautiful beaches this is the place. We stayed in the phase two portion of the condominiums and we felt like we almost had the place to ourselves. The pool is beautiful and well maintained and our room was only a couple of hundred feet from the beach. The resort has 3 miles of sandy beachfront. There is a small convenience store on property, but we went in to Mazatlan (about a 30 minute drive) to stock up our kitchen. We at at the golf course clubhouse restaurant twice and were very impressed. The airport is within 15 minutes of the resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank castlerockjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelEDM, Manager at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear friend;
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Angel Macias
Hotel Manager
Estrella del Mar Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful place, far away from the crowds in Mazatlan. If you want a meal from somewhere other than the hotel restaurant you have a long taxi ride ahead of you, but the isolation also makes it a very quiet, relaxed environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArizonaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Short Story: If you and a lover are looking to get away to a resort on the beach, be isolated, not drink alcohol after 5:00 p.m. and just hang out by the pool, this is your place.
The location: This resort is literally at the end of the road. There is nothing else nearby. There is a “market” that is open 9-5 Monday to Saturday but we never got there. There is a vending machine for sodas but nothing else on-site. The bar at the resort closes down at 5:00 Monday – Friday and stays open until 10:00 on Saturday and Sunday.
The food: We had one good meal in four days. Most of the time food is cooked by someone who doesn’t care. Breakfasts at the hotel were insipid at best. We had lunch at the golf course restaurant and the shrimp tacos were three shrimp fried inside a tortilla, with lettuce on top. The Chef Salad dressing was a watery Bleu Cheese. The only thing I can suggest from the hotel bar restaurant was the sautéed calamari with peppers.
The Staff: Unacceptable for a Wyndham. On several days we would come back from playing golf and go to the bar to get a drink. The bartender would walk past us, the only people in the bar, for 10 minutes before offering a drink. Once we got his attention, we got good service and great margaritas, but it was an effort to get service from anyone; from the front desk to the golf course to the golf course restaurant.
The same garbage/cigarette butts were in the sand outside the pool for our entire stay.
I tried several times before we arrived to get a shuttle from the airport and book tee times. Every time I called I would reach front desk staff and be told, “We will transfer you to someone who speaks English.” EVERY SINGLE TIME I was transferred to a number that would ring, and ring and ring but no one would answer. We ended up paying for our own taxi to the hotel. When I mentioned this to the desk agent and also, Lourdes, the Sales Manager, I was told, “That would never happen. Did you call the right number?” Even after I showed my cell phone record that I had called the right number. I don’t like being told that what happened, didn’t happen.
The Facilities: Good rooms, gorgeous hotel. The wifi is intermittent, at best. The pool is beautiful and overlooks the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice course, well designed. the breeze off the ocean keeps you cooler but it is still humid. The staff was great, the Professional was very friendly, pro shop well stocked and they got us out before our tee time. The pricing after playing Cabo was a breathe of fresh air too. Mazatlan has the best prices we found on the entire trip.

Room Tip: We just enjoyed the property from a cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walks4653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a quick note to Thank the staff at Estrella del Mar for their professionalism during my sister's wedding early this month. The entire hotel was booked with friends and family and we were impressed by the service. I remember calling the receptionist at night (11pm) as I was getting sick and getting a an extra hot tea (strong with natural honey and lemon) in 5 minutes. My cousin forgot a bag with expensive gold jewelry and money - which she remembered a week later - and we got it back. They went out of their way to keep us happy. The wedding was of course a huge success thanks to the location. Some relatives loved this place so much that ended staying a few extra nights after the wedding.

Thank you all again for making this happen!!

P.S. I hope this hotel won't change too much with the new management in place. Keep it nice :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OGA1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Giacomo P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
13.9 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#28 of 80 in Mazatlan
57 reviews
12 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
65 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 80 in Mazatlan
420 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
301 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £108 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Mar sits oceanfront on over three and a half miles of secluded beach in Mazatlan, Mexico. Located 10 minutes from the Mazatlan Airport, the 900-acre gated community includes a colonial Mexico-style hotel with a gracious open-air hacienda-like courtyard and features 47 ocean-view and garden-view rooms and 62 one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Both the guestrooms and condominiums feature private balconies and free WiFi. Estrella del Mar features the spectacular 18-hole Robert Trent Jones, Jr. championship golf course that runs along the Pacific Ocean, home of the PGA Tour Latin America. Other amenities and activities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pools & hot-tubs, restaurants & bars, tennis courts, soccer fields, water sports and a turtle sanctuary and conservation project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing