We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for finding something different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Etnika

Casa Etnika
Ranked #2 of 16 Shopping in Mazatlan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casa Etnika offers distinctive, handcrafted products for highly personalized individual use and home decoration. We offer our customers the experience garnered from having obtained our wonderful artisan merchandise that we bring exclusively from the remote corners of our beloved Mexico. We offer a vast range of handicrafts and decorative articles that are hand made by artisans from diverse regions of Mexico. At Casa Etnika you are assured of an original, distinctive piece at an accessible price.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for finding something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Helena & Miguel the owners of Casa Etnika have some of the best hand made crafts from around Mexico. If you are looking for something different for a gift or for yourself I am sure they can help you find that something special.Also they make some of the greatest coffee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodtimes2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
“a unique place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

having traveled all over Mexico, it has been hard for me to find a "real" Mexican handicraft store because it seems that half the stuff I find is not even made in Mexico! So imagine my pleasant surprise when I stumbled across Casa Etnika in Mazatlan. The store is filled with 100% made in Mexico handicrafts, most of which would qualify as art in the strictest sense of the word. All the items are authentic and the selection is vast. The owners are very knowledgeable and speak excellent English. You can tell that the owners are comitted to bringing the public fair trade indigenous art, all of it very unique. The place is so comfortable and colorful that visiting Casa Etnika is a cultural experience in itself. Casa Etnika rocks!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must visit in Mazatlan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My grandma always takes her guests of Mazatlan to Casa Etnika for shopping, and I'm so glad she took us. I found several things to take home for myself and for gifts for friends and children. There is beautiful jewlery and hand crafted items along with good quality unique t-shirts.

Thank you Helena and your very helpful and patient husband! From Shannon (with patient and funny husband)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must See When in Mazatlan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have come to vacation in Mazatlan almost every year for over 20 years and this is my favorite store in all of Mazatlan! Casa Etnika contains a huge array of original products from Mexican artists in a variety of forms.There is jewelry, scarves, purses, and all kinds of accessories, art work, t-shirts, photographs, things for your home and so much more. These are items you are not going to find at Walmart..........they are items that people take note of when they see them because they are so distinctive. It is hard to choose what to buy and for whom as there are so many choices. While you are browsing through the store sip on a cup of their coffee that tastes amazing! The owners, a fun loving husband and wife team, are very capable of taking care of their customers in English so no fear gringos! Stop by, browse through and I can guarantee you will find something to love!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greengecko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must stop on your tour of Centro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Check out this gift shop for some of the best selection in mazatlan. They have alot of different items that you wont find anywhere else in the city. If your looking for a great coffee or latee this is one of the best places in town. Excelllent and friendly staff ...... dont miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Etnika also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Casa Etnika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing