We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Concha & out side pool service review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glenwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Concha & out side pool service review”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We spent 9 days at El Cid Moro first week of October. The staff in the La Concha rest. & the bar by the pool is outstanding. They are all such clean cut handsome young men & make you feel like it is truly their pleasure to serve you. We rank them in the 100% for professional service & their friendly manners. Thanks to Rodolfo, Ramon, Mauricio, Anjel, Louis Enrique, Richardo & Manolo among just a few. Be sure to enjoy a margarita at the swim up bar too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Chris A

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid Moro, we thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

Making our guests have an excellent experience to take back home is our goal, and to read that it is achieved, it give us a great pleasure. Our staff is characterized for making their best effort to go beyond expectations, and your recognition to their job makes us to feel very even more proud of this great family that is El Cid. I thank you for the employees you mention by name; I will share your kind words with them.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again and provide you with another wonderful vacation.

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    493
    191
    78
    53
See reviews for
697
510
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I were celebrating our 12th Wedding Anniversary in September 2011, and having stayed at El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan on six previous occasions, we knew we had much from which to look forward.
In checking in at the hotel we were graciously upgraded to the exclusive El Moro Tower with a 2 room suite on the 24th floor with a fabulous ocean view of the nearby islands. One of the bathrooms even had direct ocean view, from which we watched surfers in the morning, and gorgeous sunsets in the evening, while showering.
The breakfast is our favorite meal while traveling, and every morning we savored the large selection buffet at the exotic La Concha restaurant, including delicious Chilaquiles.
Also enjoyed delicious snacks during the afternoon there.
The staff as always, was extremely friendly and helpful throughout, and we recognized many from our previous visits, providing for a pleasant atmosphere
Free Internet and Wireless was available.
The management whom we also recognized from previous visits was very hands-on and friendly, ensuring our well being, and offered upgrades for our next visit, when possible.
We will definitely return to El Cid Resorts on our next trip to Mazatlan.
Larsen Family.

Room Tip: Upper floor corner suites facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ove L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Ove L

First of all, let me congratulate you for your 12th wedding anniversary, we wish you spend the rest of your lives together. We are pleased that everything was satisfactory as in previous visits, especifically that our room accommodations were to your liking, and to hear that you enjoyed of the beautiful sunsets from your room; as you experienced, when ocupancy allows us, we upgrade our guests, we really enjoy making all possible to offer you a memorable vacation, and I am happy that we achieved our commitement with you.

we are glad as well to know , that our food variety has been to your liking, in fact our Food and Beverage team, is working on menus in order to provide even more variety and tasty dishes, for sure, in your next visit you will enjoy these changes that I mention.

One of the reason for what customers give us they preference, it is for the excellent service provided by our friendly staff, I am glad to hear that they have gone beyond to attend your needs.
On behalf of all of us, we look forward to serve you in your seventh visit to celebrate your 13th wedding anniversary. Thanks so much for your loyalty, and please, if you need any assistance for future trips, feel free to contact me.

Receive my best wishes,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We live in Canada and just booked our 3rd annual escape to El Morro for February 2012 to escape from the cold prairie province of Saskatchewan. We love our time spent at this resort, the staff is very friendly and so eager to please, and feel so at home at this resort. This year along with celebrating my birthday and Valentines Day we will also be celebrating my up coming retirement (May 2012) and our 1st wedding anniversary. While we were there in February 2011 we got married on the beach, the wedding planner Mary was great and made our day very special. We had problem last year with the tiles in our living room breaking up due to the cold weather (wasn’t cold for us but for Mazatlan it was!), they offer to move us to another room however we liked our room and especially our maid, so it took them a day and they patched it up and put carpet over it and we were happy. The reason we didn’t want another maid was because one day we inadvertently left our key to the safety deposit box sitting in full view on the bathroom counter and when we returned in the evening nothing had been touched in our deposit box! It was so wonderful to know that we could trust our maid 100%. There are so many great places to eat and drink on the resort that we seldom eat anywhere else. And it is great to have the fridge and microwave so we can snack in our room any time. We love El Morro and hope to be able to return for many years to come.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToonTown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear ToonTown50

It is amazing to read that we will have you here at this your home next February, escaping from cold Saskatchewan; we really appreciate your loyalty and will be more than happy serving you again, and making our best in order that all these celebrations you mention, are memorable, You can not imagine the pleasure it give us to read that you have chose us to celebrate such an important events in your life. I remind you that if you need any special celebration, Mary is the right person to make you have a perfect event, you already know her.

It is our main interest to make our guests feel welcome and at home away from home, a proof of this is the excellent service delivered and the care that our staff takes of you in each one of your visits; they are aware that service is what makes the diference between companies. I will share your kind comments with all the staff.

Rest assured, that once more, you will enjoy your stay at this your home, I will make sure of that; and I will appreciate if you contact me for any assistance you may have for your next visit. Email:rahernandez@elcid.com.mx

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Until soon!!!

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have stayed at El Cid El Moro for two years. Last year we stayed at another resort just down the beach. Since my mother is an owner at El Cid we still spent much of our time at the beach at El Cid with her. We felt so much more at home here. The food, drinks and wait staff is amazing. We look forward to the smiling face of Ramon every year. We are happy to say we already have our week booked for next March back 'home' at El Cid. Coming here is what gets us through our long cold days of Michigan. See you soon!

Room Tip: There is nothing more beautiful than watching a sunset from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Michigan banker

Thanks a lot for giving us your preference to stay on vacation; your loyalty is much appreciated. You can not imagine how happy your kind words make us. We are glad to read that every stay with us is greatly pleasant, that enjoy of every aspect of the hotel, and above all, to read that you consider us your home away from home, that is for what we work daily very hard, to make that our guests feel pampered and have a wonderful vacation.

It is nice to read as well, that every time you want to escape of cold days in Michigan and enjoy of the view of a beautiful sunset, you think in Mazatlan and El Cid to visit.

I will be more than happy if you contact me for any assistance you may have for your next trip; I would like to have the pleasure to meet you in person.

See you on March!!!

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for a week with a girlfriend as her father owns the timeshare and got us upgraded to a gorgeous, deluxe penthouse suite. If you have an upgrade option take it! The suite even has a sauna in one of the 3 bathrooms and a hut tub on the balcony! Have stayed in the other El Cid Castillia tower and the rooms have very low balconys and are badly in need of renovations. You can use the facilities on both sides however, and the pool food, especially the hamburgers were very good! Beers in a bucket and 2 for 1 happy hour is a great deal too. Security and staff are very friendly but if you use their transportation from the airport, you will be signed up for a timeshare presentation. The pool was very busy during Easter and the Mazatlan bike show, but got very quiet in the second week we were there.

Room Tip: Fantastic Rooms and Service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilstepmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear evilstepmom

Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience with us. To read positive comments like yours encourage us to continue with our commitment of offering memorable vacation. With regards to your stay I am glad to read that you have enjoyed staying in the well equipped, deluxe and spacious penthouse, of the food service and of the service provided by our staff friendly. I also appreciate your observations and I would like to share with you that we still continue with our renovation program at the Castilla Hotel in order to provide our guests even more high standards of quality in our product.

On behalf of all the staff, we look forward seeing you again in this beautiful port of Mazatlan.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

...it has such a different feel to it when you come to El Cid Moro in December or you visit in August! Im not referring to the staff or the hotel which remain awesome to us. So very friendly and the hotel itself has everything we needed to accomodate our kids desires as well as our own.... however the people vacationing at the hotel during our stay this August changed our entire outlook on vacationing here again in the Summer.We travel to many different MX destinations (ZIH,PVR,SJD,LTO,ZLO,CUN) all seasons and haven't ever experienced what im about to mention: It was mayhem at the buffets with adults and children pushing and cutting in front of us (even my 8 year old waiting patiently for ice-cream!!!) like it was the last meal they were about to eat! People RUSHING into the elevator as the door opens for us to walk out! We are talking about even ADULTS running into us to get a spot in the elevator before we had a chance to walk out. I have never experienced this type of behavior at any other place we vacationed in and we had to explain to our kids that perhaps the culture is different and that it acceptable for them to act this way. Cutting in front of us any line we stood in. It was insane. We spoke with another vacationing family that confirmed our complaints. Thank GOD the hotel offered reservations at several outstanding restuarants located within the various El Cid properties. Chef Chichi at the Villa Italian restaurant located in el Castilla was so superb with food prep and display, food was great and it was nice and quiet inside the restaurant, also just a quick shuttle bus ride over you could eat at the Marina.The food was very good (steaks, seafood, vegetarian options!)
Our room as always is amazing and has everything we desire when we travel, including kitchen, even though we take advantage of the all-inclusive it's very convenient to have the fridge to add cold drinks into. The two large bathrooms are great! Aside from the crazy shower which had a mind of it's own and squealed at random times and trying to figure out how to use the bathtub plug was too hard so we ended up shoving hand towels down the train. It worked out great. Very comfty bedding with lots of pillows, air conditioning worked perfectly and thankfully, we took a room without the super scary low balcony, yet with huge windows to over look the ocean, we were treated to severe thunder/lightening storms every night (mother nature) that made us hide under the covers! I wanted to say that one of the highlights of the trip was taking a tour to Stone Island. The shuttle bus drops you off at the Marina where a Catamaran takes you on a little cruise to the peninsula called "Stone Island". Awaiting for us was a tractor that pulled around 20 of us to the other side of the penisula that held restaurants, vendors (not too pushy!) and superb soft sand beaches. The 1/2 hour horse ride through the "jungle" (LOL!) was really just a quick ride through the town. We LOVED how they pointed out the Watermelon Plantation, yet it was really a dirt field full of potatoes ready to be harvested. But for 5.00 per person for the horse ride what more could you really want? We had our choice of three different lunches, fish, chicken(BBQ!!)or quesadilla which we ate on the beach, then swam a little, then were carted back through town on the tractor and back to the catamaran. The folks running this were hilarious and we had a great time! I highly recommend it if you have an open mind that "stone island" isn't going to look like "Fantasy Island"! Also wanted to note that the VIP pool was heaven! Much quieter than the other pool areas and perfect for the kids, although they did enjoy the waterslides they really liked how the pool had a shallow to deep area to use (especially the 3 year old!) All in all our trip was good. It is not the hotels fault for the type of people that they accomodate! We will always stay at El Cid because it has all we really need, however we will most certainly visit Mazatlan in the fall or winter instead! I also wanted to suggest that if you have questions about what the color of your bracelet for all inclusive or whatever actually means to you (and also what is included) you should ask as SOON as you check in just to avoid confusion. We learned the first time we visited that everyone is issued different colored ones that mean different things to the staff! ASK!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YOUMETHEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear youmethem

Thank you for visiting us again; it’s a pleasure to having you and your family with us; we appreciate your loyalty. It is great to know that at El Cid Moro Beach Hotel you find everything you and your family need to have a great vacation; it give us a great pleasure to read that once more you have enjoyed of the facilities, of the food service provided in the wide variety of restaurants El Cid offers in all their properties and of the excellent service provided by our stafff, and to read as well , that this time you had the opportunity to meet a different side of Mazatlan, as the stone island, which is already part of our culture and our visitors enjoyed visiting, hopefully in your next visit to Mazatlan you take the opportunity to visit Dear Island, Old town, to mention a few, I am sure you will be happy meeting these fantastics touristic places.

By the other side, August is the time that kids are off from school and many families got their vacation from their job, for us is the time of the year that we receive lots of families who usually want to spend some time having fun and have a great vacation, our desire its to make that every single guest feel welcome and happy.

We hope to having you soon, in any time of the year to keep offering the vacations that you deserve, and if you need any help to plan your next visit to us, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I came to Mazatlan for a week vacation right before school starts up (we are both teachers)... We actually have 2 days left, but I wanted to write this as soon as possible to help anyone else thinking of coming here.

The facilities here are amazing... the room is HUGE, and the pools are very inviting and different. Anna at the information desk is truly a phenomenal lady that we wish we could talk to more... she is always helpful. Beyond that however, this hotel is not a place to relax

I prefer to list things here like bullets to help for easy reading

As a visitor here, you are constantly asked for tips... By the shuttle drivers who take you across the street tot he fitness center, the waiters, basically any hotel staff you meet. One person even said to my wife while I was in the water... you came to Mazatlan to spend money!!...It isn{t casually suggested, but in your face at all times with signs and even people saying.. you should tip

The all inclusive deal is terrible... there are so many restrictions, and times you can use this or that, and they still approach you with each receipt for tips.

You ahve to make reservations for dinner in the restuarants... OK, I get it if it is packed... we have been turned away from restaurants that have (literally) 4 tables out of 25 filled... thats 21 tables EMPTY... and we are asked... do you have a reservation? SERIOUSLY??

There is no information available anywhere. when you ask someone a question, you are referred to another desk. The information taht is printed is not correct. We went to the steam room at 8pm and were told it closed at 7... another person said 8, the door to the room and the brochure say 9.. whcih is it? We are always approached with the words... I have a special deal for you.. come with me.... I am on vacation, I don{t want to be bothered all the time

Lastly, you can sit through a 90 minute presentation about the time share.. whcih I have to say.. Roberto is one of the few people who made us feel comfortable... but that is the frist day.. before you see how the service is

I believe this resort could be fantastic... the facilities are amazing, the beach is gorgeous with 2 islands that make for stunning views... but the management really needs to get ahold of the people and start making them understand that we aren{t here to spend more money all the time.

Room Tip: oceanview rooms are amazing.. and HUGE for 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKT189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear jkt189

Thanks for selecting El Cid Moro for your recent trip to Mazatlan. While you are still staying with us, we sincerely appreciated that you had taken a few minutes of your valued time to share this review. We are glad to read that you are enjoying of the comfort of the room and of the amazing view to the ocean it offers, pools, and the excellent service provided by Ana, she always goes beyond in order to make our guests feel welcome, however I sincerely regret that your stay is not being as pleasant as you expected. We really appreciate that you bring to our attention these drawbacks which are unacceptable. Considering that currently, you are staying at the hotel, I will be grateful with you if you give me the opportunity to discuss this matter with you directly, Kindly call the operator and ask her to connect you to me directly so if I am not in my office I won't miss your call.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#50 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing