We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best resort in the perfect central to everything location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
trevor-wa
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“the best resort in the perfect central to everything location”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

we own "points" at El Cid and go to Mazatlan once a year and have been for 30 years. The El Cid is on the best stretch of walking beach and you can walk either on the beach or on the street to countless other hotels, restaurants,bars. The El Cid is older but well maintained and has an excellent long time staff.

The newer places like the RIU and the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay are 20 minutes north and have beaches , but you can't walk to anything else, you have to take a shuttle bus

The El Cid has the best pools in town. The rooms range from basic hotel rooms on low floors with pool views to ocean front large rooms, we recommend you go for some sort of ocean view room

They offer an all inclusive option for around $35 per person per day, but as there are so many other good places to eat we only recommend that for a day or two when you want to stay at the el cid and drink a lot

New this year is their Mexican Fiesta on Wednesday nights. The Playa Mazatlan forever had the best Fiesta in town, but they shut it down last year. El Cid has picked up some of the performers and now has the best fiesta show in town, we highly recommend it.

We also went with friends for the first time on the tequila factory tour - very well done and we recoomend it

Our friends went on the long standing "country tour" and said it was long and boring

Room Tip: ocean view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your sweet comments we are honored that you have been with us for such a long time and that you keep coming to enjoy a vacation. We work each and every day to maintain everything to high standers we are actually renovating some new rooms as we speak to make sure they are up to date but we always try not to lose that touch we have maintained for years now that makes El Cid a known hotel. As far as the entertainment goes I truly glad that you speak so highly of our new Mexican Fiesta I’m glad it was a success we always try and bring in new and fun thing to do so there is something for everyone. We now also count on an Argentinean night including tango dancers so maybe in your next visit you can come see it for and let us know what you think of it. We will be waiting for you with open arms for your next visit.

Best Regards,
Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    521
    202
    84
    54
See reviews for
741
528
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at this resort in a 2 bedroom lock off unit. We are Wyndham timeshare owners and used our points for the stay. We were given a regular 2 bedroom at check in, got upstairs and realized it wasn't the lock off, which is two separate units and 3 bathrooms versus one unit with 2 baths. We needed the extra bath and the option of closing off a unit if we wanted. So back downstairs, told it wasn't available, I said okay we will wait. Then it was suddenly available, so off we went to unit 2529-2530. This is an older, unrefurbished unit with rock hard beds, very slow drains in the sinks and showers, barely working hot plates, lights burned out above the dining table and windows and doors that are not very secure. We just decided to deal with it and start our vacation.
The staff are great. We had great waiters at all the pools, beach, and restaurants we visited. We did not do all inclusive so we went out for many meals. The food at the resort is average, the drinks were average.
The beach is great, we were able to be in the water and had fun. The vendors are just relentless, they come back over and over and over again, even when repeatedly told no thanks. I did ask security to help keep them behind the ropes, that lasted five minutes!
The pool doesn't have that problem so we went there for a break.
The noise of the city was very apparent in this unit. Our last night there was a car alarm sound, may have been the marina nearby, that was going off every 20 seconds from 8 pm until 7 am...not pleasant.
We have been to Cabo San Lucas and Nuevo Vallarta and the resorts there were just fantastic, the cities were much more fun to explore. We will not go back to El Cid, or to Mazatlan, there is just much better options within Mexico to go to. I'm afraid Mazatlan is a very dying city with lots of empty units, graffiti and a real forlorn look and feel.
The resort would be better with an upgrade to rooms, food and drinks, but I think it is struggling to remain viable.
The staff though is top notch, and they really want you to have a good time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpeterson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear: dpeterson9

First of all thank you so much for staying 2 weeks at El Cid Moro Hotel and choosing us among other options in Mazatlan, I’m so proud to read that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special, and to ensure that you depart feeling renewed and better than when you arrived.

Regarding the room you had during your stay: We are currently under a full renovation programs. We are trying harder and harder to upgrade the property and put into consideration everyone's suggestions; we are slowly but surely making changes in our hotel.
In reference to the beach vendors we strength this area with more security guards to prevent this people disturbing our customers and prevent this situation from happen again.

I have used the comments provided by guests on this site to help guide the critical customer service shortfalls that we have been guilty of in the past and I would like to once again thank you for taking the time to let us know how we failed to meet your expectations on your visit with us thus helping us know what it is we need to improve on.

If you would be so kind to give us another opportunity to host you in the future, I can assure you that we will work diligently to ensure your satisfaction, and that you will be pleased with our service.

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We just returned from a 3 week holiday in Mazatlan and our experience at El Cid El Moro and El Cid Marina has been just great. We were there during Carnaval time so it was busy but the sale rep. Rui manage to offer us a better suite than the first one we had, although in the older section of the hotel. Everyone was very friendly, from the chambermaid Margarita that was keeping our room nice & clean and always had a nice design made with towels, the Spanish teacher Fhernando also in charge of entertainment at the pool, to the waiters Cande, Luis, Carlo at La Concha and Daniel and Javier at La Marina and all the others that I've forgotten their name but were there to make sure we were well taken care of and enjoy our visit. Breakfast and dinner at La Concha and La Marina were always a pleasure with excellent food, service and music entertainment. We attended the Carnaval night parade and felt safe among families that were there with children and group of well behaved merrymakers. We enjoy both hotel, El Cid El Toro for it busy activities and closeness to town and El Cid Marina for its more laid back quiet atmosphere. The nice thing is you can always take the free shuttle to go from one or the other hotel and enjoy whatever you feel like on that particular day. We are looking forward to return to El Cid in the fall.

Room Tip: Our room at La Marina was definitly larger and newer than the one at El Moro but both were nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for writing such wonderful comments, It is great you were able to experience our annual carnaval we are fortune to be able to enjoy these festivities it is one of the many things that make Mazatlan such an amazing place. We try to make our food the best it can be in order to leave our guest wanting more we always try and change up our selection so there could be a variety. As far as the activities we have to for its good to know you enjoyed them such as our Spanish classes our activities staff has to offer we always try and find new and fun ways to keep our guest entertained such as a new program we have recently started know as the “Argentinean night “with entertainments such as tango dancers. I’m glad to hear you felt safe here with us in Mazatlan and got to truly experience Mazatlan for yourself. We hope you come visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Nice rooms, microwave, full refrigerator, toaster oven, toaster, and coffee pot included. Reasonably quiet even though it is on the main drag. Near the Golden Zone for those who like to shop. Easy city bus access. Pressure to attend a time share presentation isn't overly aggressive. The buffett at La Pergola is nice. We had breakfast at El Patio this morning, and will not do that again--burned toast, ham like a bad slice of lunchmeat, and poor service. Only other negative experience is that the pool area runs out of towels by 2:30-3pm. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear: Brenda J

It was great to read your kind observations & I am delighted that you found our rooms nice and comfortable, and you mentioned our convenient location near to the golden zone. All your comments and suggestions are help to us as it provides us with a clear picture of a guests personal experience of the hotel, the team ensure that all comments are comprehensively reviewed as it is our intention to provide an enjoyable and relaxing stay for all guests.

We will certainly look in to the comments you have raised about the food and assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F & B Manager and Executive Chef. We are constantly monitoring our performance against the high service and standards indicative of El Cid Resorts and we will insure these areas are restored to approve upon these concerns for future guests.

We hope to see you soon; we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to El Cid Moro where no efforts will be spared to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable.

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Two weeks of excellent service and friendly staff at El Moro. Luis at the front desk very friendly , Jesus did a fabulous job serving us breakfast in La Concha resturant and Daniella with her friendly smile always asking how we were enjoying our stay. Christian does a great job with recreation activities and his staff of Bruno and others made it very enjoyable especially the water aerobics. Ceasar does a great job managing the Alcazar resturant and the food was excellent. Great service from Martin at La Cascada and La Concha. Keep up the great work as we look forward to our next vacation at El Cid.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shooter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear: Sir/Lady

We are so glad to read about your kind review and nice words about the staff and services in our Hotel, especially to know that you enjoyed the activities and food service. Each guest comment is an opportunity to the entire team, as this will tremendously help us in continuously and consistently improve on our services.

Once again, thank you so much for your confidence in our service and providing us with such constructive remarks and thank you for choosing El Cid Moro Beach Hotel as your destination in Mazatlan. I am sure you will become our frequent guest and will all be more than happy to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

While vacationing in Mazatlan Mexico..you must stay at El CId at El Moro Beach or El Cid El Castilla because the Staff of El Conchito Pool Bar is the absolute BEST! Cervando, Tomas, Ignacio, Ivan, Ramon, Angel, Felix, Jorge, Pancho will treat you like a King and Queen. They serve you continuously without request. They serve you the most fabulous lunch without request.
THEY ARE SIMPLY THE BEST!

The Lobby Bar has an EXCEPTIONAL WAITER named Ivan X. He makes you ask for nothing, he always smiles and serves happily!

At El Patio Restaurant...THE ABSOLUTE BEST WAITER IS Jaime!
you can EXPECT FULL SERVICE HAPPILY GIVEN!
The steaks and shrimp are to EXCELLENT.
The Deserts are wonderful and best of all the FLAMING Banana Liquoer drinks are FABULOUS!

Please go to EL CID AT EL MORO BEACH AND EL CID AT EL CASTILLA FOR THE BEST SERVICE IN MAZATLAN!

We Love you guys!
Jeff and Kelly Klein
Les and Angie Pugh

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite sleeps 8-10 at El Cid at El Castilla!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly and Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear: Sir and Lady

I was delighted to learn that you found our staff warm and attentive. We have a tremendous reputation for warm, friendly and anticipatory service so I am always grateful to read reviews like yours that confirm we are on the right track. Be assured that we give a mention to Cervando, Tomas, Ignacio, Ivan, Ramon, Angel, Felix, Jorge, Pancho, Ivan X and Jaime for their excellent work.

Thank you so much for your great recommendation to our hotels Moro and Castilla, I’m so happy to see that you are able to enjoyed our restaurants and food there, and even more that our staff are the most important to make your great vacation.

Please let us know of your next visit, I will gladly to prepare the room and ensure the best service ever!

Kind Regards!

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The best yet. the staff was the BEST... we are coming back Friday.... last year just wasn't enough.. The food was out of this world, can't wait to come back... loved it....see you soon,,, Thank You El Moro for showing me PARADISE !!!!

The Holdens

Room Tip: all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flairw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear: Flairw2011

What a wonderful news , I’m so happy to see how you enjoyed your stay here; I’m feeling so proud that you recognized all of our great labor from our staff, and also for your mention that you found paradise in our Hotel. Again, thank you for your encouraging remarks and we look forward to hosting you soon again. Feel free to contact me I will be happy to assist you.

My best wishes,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#44 of 79 in Mazatlan
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing