We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst vacation of my life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst vacation of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

If there was a option below terrible I would choose it. In 2010 we stayed at the cancun El Cid and loved it. So much we bought a trial membership to come back. We wanted to try another location because we wrongly assumed it would be the same. This is the worst vacation I have ever been on in my life. Almost everyone of the guests don't speak English. Some barely understand what you are saying and say rude things about you in Spanish when you try to be nice to them. The only employees that are nice are the waiters and bartenders. The food is horrid the only edible restaurant is the Italian themed one. We literally have ants in our hotel room and stains all over the furniture and bedspreads. Pretty sure there was a feces stain on one of the beds. Everything is overpriced and the so called "all inclusive" service excludes multiple restaurants. The member quiet zone pool is the only semi-worthy place to be. It's supposed to be for only members but they don't enforce the rules. You can't step on the beach without being harassed by peddlers and they are completely un-swimable, infested with jelly fish and sand crabs. The pool closes at 9 pm even for adults and so does the majority of the hotel. There is so many things wrong I cant even list them all. I will never come back to Mazatlan and sadly probably the same for all El CID resorts. Don't waste your precious vacation days here.

Room Tip: Don't ever vacation here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear: Hannah N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions. With each guest comment we receive, we view it as an opportunity to learn and understand our guest’s experiences, as there is always ways in which we can improve.

We are sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable with the fact that many of our guests, at this time of year, do not speak English. As a Mexican resort with a mix of both national and international customers, that is something we have no control as we aim to provide outstanding service to all of our guests. It just so happened that during the days of your stay, we had more national guests. This is also the time of year when we have jellyfish at different times of the day, and for the protection of all we strongly recommend that no one swims in the ocean. This is monitored closely as mornings are usually the best time to swim, but the safety flags indicate the conditions.

With regards to your comments about the food and the lack of supervision over the member’s pool, I have shared your observations with my food & beverage and security team to ensure that changes are made. We know that we can improve.

I would welcome hearing from you to discuss the details of your stay and can be contacted at smeza@elcid.com.mx should you wish to do so.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    437
    176
    74
    52
See reviews for
631
462
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
211 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from 6 days here and was very disappointed. We got a 2-bed condo on the 26th floor through my in-laws time share program. The beds are hard as a rock, the time-share "peddlers" were way too pushy, no one was friendly except the concierge. On our 3rd day the A/C went out and the temps were in the low 90s so we were miserable. After complaining numerous times and getting the run around, they finally offered a different room with A/C on the 28th floor. We packed up everything, moved there and found it too had no A/C and no ocean-front view like we had in our other room so needless to say, we moved back for the breeze alone. Unfortunately, the A/C was out for 2 days and we were told that all the rooms from the 19th floor up were out. No one ever offered an apology, offered something in return such as giving us a room in another El Cid resort, a free meal at the restaurant, money back, nothing. This place looks like it was built in the 80s, needs major work. We've stayed at many resorts in Mexico but won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear: Charrie S

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at El Cid El Moro Beach resort.

We agree that your experience with the malfunctioning air conditioning system is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. While the maintenance team worked around the clock to resolve this issue, some new parts were required and the order and delivery process took longer than anyone would have liked. The lack of service was not initially on numerous floors so while I am glad you were given the opportunity to change rooms, I am sorry it didn’t work out. We take pride in maintaining our facilities to Cristal and Check Safety First’s international standards, but in this case we fell short. It is not what you had expected, nor is it El Cid’s standard and for that are truly very sorry.

Warm regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Felix Flores was AWESOME! Wish we could of had his service everyday. We sat in his section as much as we could. Wonderful friendly hardworking service. Also my husband and family caught 60+ fish and the grill by the pool prepared it all for us and sat a beautiful table for us outside by the pool. THe food was yummy and we were well taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear: Melanie M

It was great to read your kind observations & I am delighted that you and your family had a comfortable stay.

Your compliments of our staff are most appreciated. Felix Flores is gleaming from ear to ear when they read your review and boasting to the rest of the staff. Thank you for your time and effort in informing potential guests about your experience at La concha restaurant.

On behalf of the whole team El Cid Moro Beach Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconto, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned from a week in Mazatlan. We stay in the Castilla towers on the 18th floor. view was great and the overall size of the two bedroom suite was nice, but man could the furniture use an update. Very uncomfortable chairs.

As nearly all who have stayed at the resort will attest to, the service by the wait staff is excellent. Loved the swim up bar, and our bartender Carlos was great. He made a drink for us on day 1 and had it ready whenever he saw us coming.

The downside is the wireless, or lack of. We have stayed at the Grand Mayan in Neuvo Vallarta, Accapulco, and Riviera Maya, so everything is in comparisson to the Mayan. Service at El Moro was better, but it is there where the comparisson stops. The Grand Mayan has nicer furniture, accomodations, WIFI and phone service. The WIFI was very slow (and cost 29.99) and the phone plan was confusing. El Cid is a very nice place to stay but it is several notches below the quality of stay one encounters at the Grand Mayan.

I played each of the courses at El cid, and our caddy Carlos was as good as any I have encountered. The course was in great shape considering the time of year. The El Moro and Castilla nines can be a little tight, as evidenced by some of my shots hitting the condo:-) but the Marina course is open and fun.

We spent our nights eating out at the many excellent restaurants Mazatlan has to offer. Topolos was so good we went back twice!! Pedro's and Lola's was very good as well, especially on the weekend where we ate outdoors. Imperial Shrimp is the trademark dish of the area and you absolutely have to try some. Shrimp stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon. It is a Packer fans dream!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenandgoldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear: greenandgoldfan

We are most grateful for your very kind comments. We love to read your review which is very important to us in order to evaluate our performance! Great to hear also that you enjoyed the staff service, type of room allocated to you and the hotel surroundings.

One of the best parts about Mazatlan is the endless exploration possibilities, It is really nice to read about the positive experiences you have had in restaurants like Topolo, Pedro & Lola.

However, we would like to apologize for the poor connection of wi-fi, we are checking with our external company which is in charge of making sure the wi fi is up and working properly, that is why we have a extra rate. Regarding to the update we keep working in renovations there is always room for improvement we work hard each and every day to better the facilities. Please be assured that the management is looking into this matter to ensure that the problem will be solved and that the Hotel is always in its best conditions for our guests.

Please do contact me in advance if you are planning to come back to Mazatlan, I will be pleased to welcome you personally at El Cid Moro Beach Hotel!

Warm regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Booked the EL-Cid Moro Beach and they put us at the Castilla, just a little further from everything.
Paid for the ALL-INCLUSIVE, but doesn't include all, mostly includes the buffet's. At all cost avoid the La-Pergola buffet, food was the worst, the place was filthy, the service, well, they just didn't want you there, NO ENGLISH, the shows were a joke, 20 minutes diversion. seriously this place should be condemned.
On the good side the bar/restaurant by the pool was great, the waiter ( Felix ) made us feel so welcome, he went out of his way to make sure the time we spent by the pool was the best. ( This man should be in charge of all the waiters, the place would benefit, the guest would be happier ). The La Concha was great for breakfast and lunch, ( diner is extra ), if you eat there have Michael for as your waiter, he is terrific, one of the nicest, hard working, and most professional person working there. Over all Michael and Felix made our vacation more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear: jandernm

Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We appreciated your comments and thorough in your review.

We are so proud to having people working with us like Michael and Felix who are important to make your stay more comfortable, be assured they will received a mention for their excellent job.

Furthermore, I’m sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I do regret that the all inclusive plan did not meet your expectations. We have variety of all-inclusive packages that meet the needs of our customers, the regular all inclusive offers: Three restaurant choices for breakfast: two buffets and one a la carte restaurant. For lunch we have two snack bars, one buffet and one a la carte restaurant, and for dinner there are five options; four a la carte restaurants which are El Alcazar (Italian), La Cascada (Mexican), Ban Horu (Japanese), El Patio (Argentine) and the theme buffet dinner (La Pergola). Additionally, in or three El Cid hotels which are all available to All Inclusive plan guests we just recently added an Argentine Night with entertainment every Saturday, and our Mexican Fiesta is available on Wednesdays to mention a few.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guest’s experience and any suggestions are welcome.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me at your convenience if you would like to discuss this in a further detail at smeza@elcid.com.mx. We hope you have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Had to leave a review while we're still here...last year's impeccable service is even better this year. Pool waiters Thomas_____, Francisco Vallejo and Jorge Rangel were ALWAYS available and incredibly polite. Lucky us...we still have another week in paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtravlin1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Luvtravlin1950

This is such great news for us to hear! I thank you for taking the time in letting us know what progress we made in giving you such great service, I will definitely be giving Francisco Vallejo, and Jorge Rangel the recognition they deserve for going that extra mile and make your stay so pleasant, we hope to continue on with giving you such impeccable service and have you return again in a near future.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We are timeshare owners at El Cid, El Moro, and have generally been well-pleased with the accomodations, easy of availability, and truthfulness and low-pressure salesmanship of their sales people. Rooms are very spacious, and the all-inclusive food is generally very good. There are 4-5 specialty restaurants in addition to the general cafeteria for food. The quality at the cafeteria is so-so, but the specialty restaurants is excellent. The staff at the pool bar, especially Ramon, is great!! Don't forget to tip the waiters. This is their main form of income, even from the all-inclusives! All-inclusive is NOT mandatory, but is reasonable. One off-site restaurant which is a must-do is the Playa Bruja Restaurant (north of the marina). Order the specialty with the coconut shrimp...at happy hour drinks are also 2 for 1, and the coco-loco is muy fuerte!! There are lots of activities, kids stuff, etc. Be sure to take the pulmonias for transportation...fun!

The one thing I take issue with El Cid resorts is their handling of their time share points within RCI. You cannot, in spite of what they may tell you at the sales presentation, combine your El Cid points with any other timeshare company points for booking. Even though you may bank your El Cid points with RCI, they are still handled separately within RCI. The the RCI availability must be obtained via the El Cid Vacations Club website, rather than the regular RCI website, or through a special El Cid / RCI phone number. They do seem to be slowly coming into the 21st century, however. They used to mandate that your points, when banked with RCI, be changed into weeks. Now, within the past year, they have changed that so your points are banked in RCI as points.

One activity on their list to do at El Cid should be taken off. It is the Veranoando Zip Line. It is very dangerous!!! They have only one line between stations! Tthe lines are anchored on trees which look as if they're about to be pulled out of the ground with secondary anchoring scanty. Their gloves are not reinforced for stopping, and with other zip line companies, and their equipment is home-made. They want you to stop via twisting your pulley, which does not work well, and the lines are eating into the sides of the pulley equipment. Their main way of stopping the liners is via people at the next stand using a jerry-rigged rope system, and which depends entirely on the strength and attention of the guy doing the stopping. They encourage upside-down zipping, which we have been told is illegal, and they pay little attention to the liners' proper functioning of equipment.

The Huana-Coa zip line, however, is very professonally done, and the equipment is professionally made! There are two lines between each station, and the anchoring system is well-done with numerous strong, thick metal posts to help anchor the trees and lines where needed. They use the reinforced gloves for stopping, as do other zip line companies where we've been. The staff does ALL the work for you so far as the equipment is concerned, and are both friendly and funny. It is well-worth the price difference!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldrugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear oldrugged,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback for we know your time is valuable. It seems like you had a great time here with us. We always like accommodating our guest and we are happy we were able to do that in your case. We take pride in having all our facilities looking its best we have different rooms for everyone’s accommodations as well as a variety of restaurants’ to choose from like options of buffet to al cart restaurants, We are lucky to have Ramon on board with us and I will definitely be congratulating him for going that extra mile to ensure you were well attended and had a lovely visit. As far as the RCI incident I apologize for that inconvenience this is just how our RCI has always worked but I will definitely take your comments into consideration. Mazatlan is a beautiful city and we have the pleasure of being able to enjoy such fine scenery day to day! I was a bit shocked to hear about Veranoando Zip Line and its lack of professionalism although this is not associated with the hotel thank you for letting us know. All and all I’m glad you were able to find a place to Zip Line and feel safe wouldn’t have wanted you to miss out on such a memorable experience we hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in a near featured.

Cordially,
Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#62 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing