We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Well , this is fifth year we have stayed at the El Moro hotel @ the El Cid resorts . As usual we had a very good time for the two weeks ...wish it had been longer .
We would like to acknowledge a few of the employees who we feel always go above and beyond .... Capitan Guillermo @ the La Concha restaurant , who treats us like family .....Capitan Joel @ the patio restaurant and our favourite waiter Juillan who both keep us laughing , what a pair ! Felix and Migual @ the Las Cascada and Carlos @ the pool bar continually put a smile on your face .
The resort although a bit dated is always kept clean and tidy ....thanks to housekeepers like Alma Rosa ....the El Cid people seem to stay on top of the maintenance .
We really appreciate walking the miles of unrestricted beach ...you just have a very safe feeling at Mazatlan. People are very friendly and easy to talk to ....a simple no gratias is all it takes to have the vendors leave you alone , although it seems as we know most by name now and talk to them about their families etc ( very nice people ) !
looking forward to coming back to El Cid again next year !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 973mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear, 973mike

I can´t begin to express what your review means to me and all the staff. It is always nice to be recognized when you put in a little extra work and your wonderful comments can benefit enormously El Cid team atmosphere. Thanks to positive feedback for our staff, be assure that they received a huge applause for their consistently great job.

The next time you, a friend or family member visits Mazatlan, remember we are here to serve you!

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    514
    200
    81
    54
See reviews for
727
523
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are at El Cid for the last 2 months and still 2 months to go but we could not wait any longer to praise these people. Excellent overall experience The resort is a little dated but it is very clean and they are doing renovations all the time. The staff is friendly and excellent and by far the best.
Special notice to Guillermo at the La Concha restaurant, Javier: La Marina restaurant, Joel: El Patio, Raul : La Cascada and Victor Manuel: Pool Bar. They are incredibly professional, friendly and make us feel home. They are Captain but they would always personally greet us, thank us for coming.
Special waiters: Jose Luis: La Marina restaurant, Jesus: La Concha, Roberto, Alejandro, Aaron, Juan Enrique and Luis: Pool Bar, Martin : La Alahambra & La Pergola, Jaime, Julian & Jonathan : El Patio, always attentive to our needs, quick, professional and really good at their job. There is so many others that we could mention but those are the cream of the cream.
Maids: Petra our room maid always with a smile and do a very good work and the tiny Felipa at La Concha in the evening, we can see they like their job and do an awesome one too.
Hostess: Pamela at la Concha always comes to say hello if she didn’t seat us.
Our outstanding concierge Rosy Morales is the best of all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazatlanlovers154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Mazatlanlovers154943,

How awesome to hear you have been with us for a while now, and how great to know that my staff has been doing an excellent job in treating you like royalty attending your every need we hope this continues throughout your stay, I will definitely acknowledge Guillermo, Javier, Joel, Raul, Victor Manuel, Jose Luis, Jaime, Jonathan,Roberto, Alejandro, Felipa Rosy Morales and Aaron for their hard efforts. We hope you keep having a wonderful time here with us and if there is anything we can do to even better your stay please don´t hesitate to ask.

Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went to El Cid for the first time for 2 weeks, from Jan 18 to Feb 01. We went with my wife’s parents who go here every year and highly recommend it. Here are my thoughts:

- Excellent overall experience
- The resort seems a little dated but not bad. It is very clean.
- The staff is friendly and excellent. We go to an all inclusive every year and the staff here are by far the best I have seen at any resort. Special notice to Guillermo at the ocean side restaurant (can't remember the name of it). He was incredibly professional, friendly and made us feel very special. He is the Captain of the restaurant but he would always personally greet us, thank us for coming and sometimes take our orders. Also, Joel the Captain and our waiter Julian at the patio restaurant at the Granada. Joel was incredibly friendly and again made us feel special. Julian was such a character, always attentive to our needs, quick, professional and really good at his job. There were so many others that I could mention but those three were the top.
- The ocean is the best place to sit with great views. You have to be up early to get a seat but it is well worth it. There are lots of venders, but they are friendly and respectful and a simple "no gracious" is all they require.
- I ran the beach everyday. If you are a runner, you can go for miles here.
- I found the food better then most all inclusive.
- Our room was spotless when we came back to it everyday. I'm not sure who our maid was, but she was awesome.
- The only real issue I had was the pounding music and activity guy yelling in the mike at both pools. It’s really hard to relax when they play loud dance music all day and occasionally have some guy yell over the mike in Spanish playing bingo games or whatever. I would suggest to management maybe play the music and games at one pool and leave the other pool for those who want to relax in the sun.

All in all, really good experience. We will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 132_Drew_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear 132_Drew,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for allowing us the opportunity to host you. We are glad you took the advice and decided to come give us a try, it being your first time in our Resorts it’s great to hear you had an exceptional time , I’m happy to inform that we are working on some renovations to better our rooms and we hope to be done with this project soon. I see hear from your above comments you had a chance to try our restaurants on were fond of them we work hard to provide exemplary service and it seems like we fulfilled that goal in your case no more satisfactory feeling then that. I apologize for the disruption cased by my activity staff I have already talked to them and let them know to keep things a bit more quite. We hope you to recommend us to other seeing as thought you had such a great stay and we hope in hosting you again, if you need any help reserving for any future visits please let us know we would be more than happy to help.



Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Francisco Renteria who works for Bar La Anchita is the best waiter. Looks after our every need!!!! We truely have learned so much being here the second year. Owning the time share is a relaxing way to vacation, as the financial part is looked after before we left home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valerie C,

First of all i'm very happy to hear that our hotel has been your choice to spend your vacations in Mazatlan for many years.
I feel very glad that our staff made your stay that much better. I'll definetely let Francisco know your comments about him and i'm sure he will be more than happy to read your congratulations.
I hope we have the pleasure to assit you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

we had a fantastic time at el cid el moro,the people at this resort are amazing,right from the hostess,to the life guards at the pool,the waiters are incredible,we recommend this place to everyone,we found it to be very clean,and every meal we had was outstanding,there is lots of shopping right at the resort,and lots of stores with in walking distance.
we felt like we were part of one big family,so if ur looking for a great family getaway,then el cid el moro should be on your list

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwingsfan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear, redwingsf…

Wow! More like an eulogy! What splendid reading...very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer. ..we have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El Moro should be like returning home.

I am glad to note that our convenient location, facilities and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; it is rewarding to note that our focus on consistency and efficient service is welcome and we will review our approach in delivery and make the necessary adjustments to add more warmth.

You can expect the best in personalized service from the management, both General and Room Division, which takes great pains to make your vacation the best time of your life.
Again, thank you very much for your kind words and your loyalty. We appreciate it and the pleasure is all ours. We look forward to seeing you again!

My best,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Really enjoyed visiting Mazatlan, Mexico for two weeks. We stayed at El Cid Beach Resort and found it very nice. It has a little something for everyone. Our room was in the towers. It was a one bedroom suite. It could have used updated appliances, but everything was in workable condition and kept very clean on a daily basis. We did see that other rooms on our floor had new counters and stainless appliances in there kitchens. This hotel has three pools and one Hot Tub. The two larger pools have activities going on all day and they are heated at this time of year. The smaller pool is very quiet, no activities and the water is not heated. The hot tub is a great way to end the day catching up with the people staying at the hotel. Everyone talks about the places they traveled to around the city, tours they went on, restaurants they went to in case you desire to venture off the property. The restaurants on property are very good. If you like to walk on the beach there is plenty of beach to do it on. If you want a challenge take a bus (centro) to the Lighthouse and climb up the mountain to see the view of the view of the city. It was a fun trip. We would return to El Cid Beach Resort in Mazatlan again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear, debsred

We are very glad to hear that you loved your stay in Mazatlan and we want to give a special thanks to you for choosing El Cid Beach Resort as your prior hotel to stay. Our aim is make our customers the most happy possible during their stay and that is why we keep track of all services every day. We are glad to hear we are doing good and off course we look after every detail starting with keeping our rooms clean, giving a good room service, keeping our pools and hot tub clean and our food is actually certified by “safety first” only because we love to take care of every one of our guests. We also work each and every day on renovating our rooms, we hope that in a future stay you are able to get a chance to see the improvements in our rooms. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your stay and hopefully we will keep receiving good comments from you.

See you soon, we will be waiting for you and it’s a pleasure to serve you.

My best,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I would like to send out a special thanks to Francisco Renteria the waiter at La Conchita Pool Bar. We were there this past week and he remembered us from March of 2012. He goes over and beyond the normal service. We would sit in his section just so that he could wait on us even if it wasn't the prime location for the sun.

Another individual that stood out was Laticia that worked at the Lobby Bar. She also remembered us from 2 year prior. She would have drinks ready before we even ordered them.

El Cid is also a great resort. Food it good, drinks were cold, and everyone was so friendly. We will for sure be going back again in the future. Can't wait

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear, Sean A

Thank you very much for this pleasant comment; you can't imagine how much couple of nice words like these motivates the hotel staff! Your appraisal of Francisco & Leticia, while not surprising, is much appreciated. It's so great to hear our staff goes beyond expectations to take care of our guests!

When we see that our everyday efforts make our guests happy so they even find it possible to make us aware of that, it's really great and it's a guarantee that we will continue to do our best to deliver best possible quality.

Thanks again for helping us to serve you better and we will certainly be more than happy to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 78 in Mazatlan
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing