We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rothesay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great spot!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My sweethart & I vacationed here at El Cid Moro from Feb to 12th to 19th, 2014. It was a fabulous place, very clean, lots of activities, 5 pools, from quiet to loud music separated, of course. And the BEACH with vendors, but, just say:"No Gracias" and they are very respectful. Don't forget to buy from them before you leave though. We did not eat on the premises except for the first day, breakfast. It was fabulous, lots to chose from but a tad too high priced for our liking. We like to go out and explore anyways. We were within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, mercados, pubs with live music at night, Gus Gus was awesome, we danced there first evening. Mary's Place is a great place to have a good breakfast! El Cid has 5 hotels, a Golf & Country Club, a Marina, etc..so, we could shuttle free between all these places. I would return there but this time I would stay at Punta Pacifico, because we bought a timeshare with them and we totally loved the small, private area, excellent & very friendly people. We have to spread the JOY and help the economy as much as we can. Have a great stay, Mazatlan ia a beautiful spot in Mexico!

Room Tip: Make arragement ahead of time, if you do not like the location of your room, ask immediately to chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear, SilverFox…

We really appreciated your recent contribution to TripAdvisor regarding to your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to read about your positive experiences in the hotel and surroundings. We really wants to provide you all the time the best possible service for all guests - your comment will be even more motivating them to do so.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the real Mazatlan and even more share your experience with the followers on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to having with you form more good experience.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    513
    199
    81
    54
See reviews for
725
521
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didsbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for our second week in Mazatlan. Our first week was at sister resort El Cid Marina.
This is part of the El Cid mega resort. The El Moro beach is the tower, and the Castilla makes up the other buildings on the beach side, with the Grenada to the east across the street.
We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the 12th floor... it was the northwest corner and had fabulous views of the ocean and sunset.
The rooms themselves are a bit older and dated, but typical for a timeshare resort of this vintage. Lots of space for dining and living area, plus two bathrooms, both with nice big soaker stone tubs.

The Good:
- fairly central to the Golden Zone, close to many restaurants and stores, including an upscale boutique array of stores right in the complex.
- several restaurants in the complex; the a la carte menu restaurants were very good, but I didn't find the buffet restaurants to be as good for a paid dining experience (we did not do the All Inclusive option, so found it very pricey for the quality and choice of food). However, the pergola dining room features a rotating buffet selection and entertainment every night with supper, and the Mexican Fiesta (featuring games, music and entertainment) over at the Grenada is a worthwhile outing for Wednesday evening.
- easy transit access with busses, taxis and pulmonias everywhere to take you where you want to go. NOTE: there is a new Walmart super center north in the Marina area, so you no longer have to go down town to shop.
- several pools; the VIP resort is on the north end, in the quiet zone; the central main pool is heated and where most of the activities take place; the south pool is unheated, but more private and quiet.
-there is a shuttle that takes you up to the Maina resort if you want to do tours, or hang out at their more private beach on the other side of the marina canal.
- we came during a less busy time of the year, so we were able to up grade into an ocean view unit, instead of a side unit.
- the beach was handy for walking and strolling in both directions... lots of interesting things in the surf and shoreline if you look for it; yes, there were the ubiquitous vendors, but they generally leave you alone if you don't make eye contact or just say "no, gracias"
- the resort hosts do ask if you want to attend a presentation in exchange for transportation, tours, etc when you first arrive, but were pretty good about not harassing us continually (unlike some other resorts...) once we told them we were not interested.

The Bad:
- our showers only had two settings, "on" or "fire hose"... both bathroom showers had this issue where the shower pull would still direct water to the shower head as soon as you turned on the water - pulling it up into shower mode gave you a strong blasting shower, whereas pushing it to "off" gave you a softer shower. If you wanted to have a bath, you had to fill it up via shower, first.
- We asked for a light bulb to be replaced in our unit, which was not done before we left.
- internet service was down during a few times during our stay, but you could at least get a decent value for it... 330 pesos for a week's access, for one device at a time.

The Ugly:
- there was a rather obnoxious brass band that wandered the beach in front of the resort on the weekend evenings, making it very hard to get to sleep. (rather inconsiderate if you have children, or prefer early to bed, early to rise on your vacations...) We had to call the front desk several times to complain before they got security to talk to them. Other friends and patrons staying at the resort that we spoke to were none too fond of this disturbance, either. We were tempted to transfer back to the Marina resort, but thankfully it did not continue on during the weekdays, so we stayed put.

Overall, it was not a bad place to stay, but I would have enjoyed it more if the brass band hadn't put us in a foul mood in the first few days of arriving.

Room Tip: If staying in a 1 bedroom suite, ask to be placed on the north side of the building if you like quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Cary F ,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are glad that you had a great time and you had time to look at the new places in town. We want you to know that we are aware of the situation with the shower and we are sorry about the light bulb. Next time, you can call directly to Customer Service, ext: 3332 and the girls at the office will definitely help you fix your problem more quickly, since we are interested in your comfort and we are pleased to serve you during your stay with us.
On the other hand, we are happy to see all of your recommendations about the city, it looks like you got plenty of time to explore and have fun. That means you had a great time and that makes our hotel very very happy. We really hope to see you soon next year so you can look at our renovations in our bedrooms and enjoy a couple of drinks at our swim-up bars.
Greetings,

Warm regards,
Salvatore Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Good Morning!

I am going to your beautiful resort in March! So excited. I have a question though. Do you guys have shuttle service from the airport? If not is there taxis there to bring us to the hotel.

Thanks!
Austin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear, Austi n T

Thank you so much for in among options at Mazatlan you choosing El Cid Resort to spend your vacation.

I will glad to answer all your questions, we have a shuttle service with pronatours you can reserve at reserve@pronatours.com.mx they will be happy to assist you and providing all the necessary information.

If you have other question please contact to me at mamoran@elcid.com.mx.

Greetings from the sunny beaches of Mazatlan.

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is our 7th visit to Mazatlan and El Cid El Moro. There have been many improvements to the facilities since our last visit two years ago. Of particular note is the greater attention to service and quality in the restaurants especially the fine staff working the breakfast service. The internet service has improved but their current policy of one device per password should be reviewed.

The past excellences in service of the pool and beach area remain outstanding, with one waiter in particular, Ramon Moyoles remaining one of the premier reasons for our wonderful vacation. Ramon never fails to impress and is more than attentive to each guests needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear, John D

Thank you so much for your loyalty during these 7 visits to El Cid Moro. It’s not best pleasure than a satisfied customer. We are very glad to read that you noticed our improvements we work hard every day; we actually know that we are in a competitive marked and your comments and suggestions are very helpful to make the difference.

Concerning to the internet service we will share your suggest to the next executive meting for make the best possible to have a good.

I will share your nice work with the staff, be assure that they receive a great mention for their hard work.

My best,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just got back from our trip to Mazatlan and would love to go back. Our stay at El Cid El Moro was one of our best vacation destinations! We absolutely loved the pools and the activities staff was AMAZING! We were blessed by the fun, loving personalities of Hans, Bruno, Ruben, Frank and Angelica!! They were very friendly, helpful and fun to be around. We did not bring our kids, but seeing them interact with children at the resort, definitely makes us want to return with ours. We would like to especially thank Hans and Ruben for the great times during water aerobics, beach volleyball, crazy games and ping-pong. They did a great job getting people to participate and made everyone feel welcomed. We are also thankful that Bruno took time to tell us more about Mazatlan and got us to play BINGO. All three of these men deserve a lot of credit for making our stay very enjoyable. We hope to come back and see them again!! Miss everyone!!

Erika was our housekeeper and she did a wonderful job. Every time we saw her she had a smile on her face and would say, “Hola!”

Our main complaint would be that our beds were very hard.

Wishing everyone at El Cid the very best!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear, Michelle…

I´m so happy to read such a wonderful words regards to our activities staff. You impressions are very important to us, be assured that I will share your opinions to let them know the results of an excellent work. I’m proud to having them working to us. Also to the maid service, waiter and the rest of the staff.

We keep working in improvements to our rooms and public areas, Is glad to read that you could enjoyed our pools. Concerning to the hard beds I would love to know about this situation, I’m pretty sure that with foam can see the different.

Please the next time that you came to Mazatlan, We sincerely hope to be the hotel of your choice.

Kind Regards

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Well , this is fifth year we have stayed at the El Moro hotel @ the El Cid resorts . As usual we had a very good time for the two weeks ...wish it had been longer .
We would like to acknowledge a few of the employees who we feel always go above and beyond .... Capitan Guillermo @ the La Concha restaurant , who treats us like family .....Capitan Joel @ the patio restaurant and our favourite waiter Juillan who both keep us laughing , what a pair ! Felix and Migual @ the Las Cascada and Carlos @ the pool bar continually put a smile on your face .
The resort although a bit dated is always kept clean and tidy ....thanks to housekeepers like Alma Rosa ....the El Cid people seem to stay on top of the maintenance .
We really appreciate walking the miles of unrestricted beach ...you just have a very safe feeling at Mazatlan. People are very friendly and easy to talk to ....a simple no gratias is all it takes to have the vendors leave you alone , although it seems as we know most by name now and talk to them about their families etc ( very nice people ) !
looking forward to coming back to El Cid again next year !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 973mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear, 973mike

I can´t begin to express what your review means to me and all the staff. It is always nice to be recognized when you put in a little extra work and your wonderful comments can benefit enormously El Cid team atmosphere. Thanks to positive feedback for our staff, be assure that they received a huge applause for their consistently great job.

The next time you, a friend or family member visits Mazatlan, remember we are here to serve you!

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are at El Cid for the last 2 months and still 2 months to go but we could not wait any longer to praise these people. Excellent overall experience The resort is a little dated but it is very clean and they are doing renovations all the time. The staff is friendly and excellent and by far the best.
Special notice to Guillermo at the La Concha restaurant, Javier: La Marina restaurant, Joel: El Patio, Raul : La Cascada and Victor Manuel: Pool Bar. They are incredibly professional, friendly and make us feel home. They are Captain but they would always personally greet us, thank us for coming.
Special waiters: Jose Luis: La Marina restaurant, Jesus: La Concha, Roberto, Alejandro, Aaron, Juan Enrique and Luis: Pool Bar, Martin : La Alahambra & La Pergola, Jaime, Julian & Jonathan : El Patio, always attentive to our needs, quick, professional and really good at their job. There is so many others that we could mention but those are the cream of the cream.
Maids: Petra our room maid always with a smile and do a very good work and the tiny Felipa at La Concha in the evening, we can see they like their job and do an awesome one too.
Hostess: Pamela at la Concha always comes to say hello if she didn’t seat us.
Our outstanding concierge Rosy Morales is the best of all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazatlanlovers154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Mazatlanlovers154943,

How awesome to hear you have been with us for a while now, and how great to know that my staff has been doing an excellent job in treating you like royalty attending your every need we hope this continues throughout your stay, I will definitely acknowledge Guillermo, Javier, Joel, Raul, Victor Manuel, Jose Luis, Jaime, Jonathan,Roberto, Alejandro, Felipa Rosy Morales and Aaron for their hard efforts. We hope you keep having a wonderful time here with us and if there is anything we can do to even better your stay please don´t hesitate to ask.

Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#47 of 78 in Mazatlan
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing