We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, quiet and excellent hospitality”
Review of El Sol La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Sol La Vida
Ranked #4 of 52 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are glad we decompressed at this top quality B&B north of Mazatlan's Golden Zone. Ray and Linda are so welcoming and as soon as you arrive they fill you in on options, how to get around, even planning day trips with you and other guests if you are so inclined. We didn't really miss having a car. Ray even picked us up at the airport, arranged in advance. Talking with them at breakfast and poolside is a lot of laughs. We are pretty adventurous about taking buses and figuring out transportation options. Anyone who isn't and does not want to stay put at this idyllic beach and pool should arrange for a car. Lee's restaurant is great and you can have your own private dinner but be sure to arrange for it more than 24 hours prior so she can accomodate. Saturday afternoons at the Surfs Up Cafe for reggae are fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue_B_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I winter in Mazatlan every year. This year, after a very hectic few weeks dealing with a family destination wedding, we decided to spend a 3 day weekend at El Sol. We were able to unwind and our hosts Ray & Linda made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Our room was great. Had a private terrace, stocked mini fridge, satellite TV and a great bed. Very nice continental breakfast is included which you enjoy on the terrace adjacent to the pool. Ray & Linda's daughter, Leanne, owns and operates Surf's Up cafe next to El Sol. Gourmet food for breakfast and lunch. We have decided to spend time here every year. Thanks Ray, Linda and Leanne.

Room Tip: Sunrise suite with its private terrace was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maz4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

So glad we stayed here, can't say enough good things about the location, the amenities, or the hosts. It's an oasis, loved every minute of it! It's a little out of the way, but only a few minutes of driving has you at restaurants and shops. We enjoyed being able to take all that in and then retreat away from it to count waves and clouds with Ray (our apprenticeship!) Ray and Linda are great company, and a great source of info on where to go and where to eat. They drove us to restaurants, a nearby town and even connected us with a realtor when we discussed moving to Mexico. The cafe next door is also wonderful, the menu is one of those where you can't decide what to order because it all looks so good. We enjoyed having our feet in the sand while ordering lunch.
The beach goes on forever for those of you who like to walk, like we do. it's reasonably clean, no piles of seaweed to dodge. Usually you are the only one there, I think the most people we ever shared it with was 6. It's probably a little rough for swimming, but the pool is an excellent option. The waves are loud, so if you don't like that at night, bring earplugs. The breeze off the water is perfect, could hardly believe the thermometer when we found out it was 30 C one day.
Never wanted to leave, can't wait to go back. Next time we will plan to book for a Saturday and attend the reggae party at the cafe.
Thank you Ray and Linda!

Room Tip: We liked the Sunrise room with its balcony and large bathroom. I think the balcony was more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michelle289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well what can we say. The Ross' stayed at the B & B for 3 nights as a get away for the first 2 nights with no kids. We wanted to decompress and we did just that and more. We started the 3 day get away with the Wrights and they were fantastic hosts from the get go. By the end of the visit they were life long friends. El Sol is out of the way...don't let the dirt road as the entry to the resort like B & B scare you. It is a stunning upscale 5 star like B & B with incredible value with the rates as well as the hospitality. We laid by the pool or walked the private mile long beach by day and shared great times having dinner with the Wrights by night. Ray and Linda's daughter Leanne owns and operates the restaurant next door called Surfs Up! The food is cuisine that you would get in upscale restaurants yet some of the best comfort food we've had not to mention they have a "Reggae" afternoon every saturday where you can listen to great music and try out of this world tapas. The restaurant was closed Mondays and Tuesdays but the family went beyond all of our expectations to make sure we were fed. We could go on and on.

It definitely is a place in paradise! you just need to try it for yourself. Thank you Ray, Linda and Leanne. New friends we will always spend time with every visit to Maz!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheRossFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

El Sol La Vida is far from the madding crowd but near enough to get the bus, taxi or pulmonia to town.
It is set on a beach north of the Golden Zone.
Very relaxing and charming hosts, Linda and Ray.
Continental breakfast was filling. Lunch was obtainable from daughter Leanne's Surfs Up cafe.
The garden room I stayed in was great, comfy bed, minibar with water, beer, chips and candy. They provided a kettle with cups, to make tea or coffee. Cable tv and the wifi worked great.
I would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank cher57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just got back from Mexico, and Linda and Ray Wright have got it right! This lovely, small, secluded B&B was wonderful. Linda & Ray are fabulous hosts, attentive without being intrusive. They were always ready to help us out in any way, and couldn't have been warmer or more accommodating. Our room, Sunrise, was perfecly appointed: fabulous private terrace, large bathroom, great satellite TV (from Canada!). The grounds are beautiful, with an immaculately kept pool, and you are literally steps away from the ocean. The beach seems endless and is almost always empty, you can walk a long way without seeing anyone. This is the perfect spot for a real getaway. The Surf's Up cafe run by their daughter Leanne is right there, open for breakfast & lunch (though guest get a fine continental breakfast included, served by the pool). Leanne will fix you a wonderful private supper if you make plans ahead of time...we did, after consulting about what was available we decided on a pasta primavera - delicious, served under the stars...be sure you visit the cafe one way or the other.

One thing to keep in mind, El Sol La Vida is in Nuevo Mazatlan, so it's quite far from the malecon or Centro Mazatlan. You'll need a car or a cab to get just about anywhere. Linda and Ray were great about helping us get cabs - and there are buses too, if you speak Spanish and can find the right one. If you value seclusion, this is a fabulous place. If you need more action, grab a cab. But get to this little piece of paradise soon, we understand development is coming and before you know it, the high rise hotels will sprout! Right now, it's a private paradise, we hope it keeps it's charm no matter what!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleeplessinajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

El Sol la Vida is one of those places that makes you feel good fortune has somehow brought you there.

Ray and Linda are wonderful hosts. Generous and genuine. You have everything you need before you need it.

Laying by the pool in the heat and Ray suddenly provides a cold beer and you think "Hey, that's just what I needed!". It happened over and over.

The rooms are lovely and immaculate, the beds are comfortable, mini bar is always stocked, towels are cozy and water is hot for days.

Surfs Up cafe is part of the property and run by Ray and Linda's Daughter Leann. The food is fresh and delicious.

I had everything from waffles with strawberries and mascarpone to empanadas.
It was all incredilble.The girls also make a great cocktail!
They have a reggae band and tapas on saturday, total enjoyment and fun!

The sun was hot, the pool refreshing, the beer cold, the beach gorgeous and deserted.

This place is a bit of magic in Mexico.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLovelyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 80 in Mazatlan
693 reviews
9.5 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#17 of 80 in Mazatlan
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,571 reviews
17.5 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
8.7 mi away
Las 7 Maravillas
Las 7 Maravillas
#2 of 52 in Mazatlan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol La Vida

Address: Avenida Ernesto Coppel # 520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range: £111 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Sol La Vida 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The translation of 'El Sol La Vida' is: The Sun The Life. That's what you get when you visit us! We offer a luxury Bed and Breakfast directly on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are in a secluded bay, where you can stroll for miles along the seashore. Each room has its own private entrance. Mazatlan has a lot to offer those seeking adventure, relaxation, or a romantic getaway. Our Boutique Resort is an oasis for the perfect vacation on Mexico's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your El Sol La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing