We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with friendly, fantastic service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our second visit to Costa Bonita condos however this year we spent a month at the resort vs 1 week last year. The resort is located on the beach which meant daily walks in either direction looking for sand dollars (shells), frolicking in the waves or getting to a restaurant or bar. If you are looking for a younger group with plenty of noise at night then this is not the place as most evenings it becomes quiet by 10pm. We had one issue over a weekend with noisy tenants below us and on the Sunday after we complained they were evicted from the resort.
The accomodation we stayed in was very clean and well maintained with the owner of this condo always checking to make sure things were OK.
The grounds were immaculate and one always welcomed the warm pool and hot tub for relaxation. In the event that you needed to cool down one could enjoy the cold pool or as they called it "the Canadian Pool".
The palapa (restaurant by the beach) and staff ( especially Roule) were outstanding as they worked to ensure the meals and drinks met your needs. (loved happy hour). The staff can understand and speak english enough for a short conversation.
Daily activities for those inclined included water arobics, yoga, volleyball, tennis, and fitness center. Boogie boards were available however did not use. If you like crafts, Carlos brings ceramic bowls, piggy banks, candle holders, etc. which you can paint. He then takes them home and glazes and fires them - often touching them up as well and you pick them up after - sometimes only 1 day after.
The resort is situated a ways from the Golden Zone however our group took the buses that run by the resort with a cost of 7 pesos. They are not luxury buses but they got us to where we had to go. There are restaurants (Bruja, Last Drop and Roys) and shops located within walking distances of approx. 1.6 km and we ventured there many times to enjoy the walk on the beach, savor the food and enjoy hockey games in the evening.
If you wish to cook in your condo unit, the Mega store is downtown in the Golden Zone area - we took the bus down and then have other transportation options to return.

Room Tip: If you want sun in the evening choose condos in A block whereas we had sun in the morning in C block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trailerparkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you are looking for the resort experience, then you should book somewhere else. I exchanged this resort on Interval International and would have preferred to stay at my resort in San Diego instead.

The hotel is in New Mazatlan which makes it about a 10 minute cab ride (100 pesos) to the gold zone and (200 pesos) 20 mins to Old Town. Can get expensive if you are looking to go into town. There is not much to do at the hotel (beach/pool only) and nothing close by expect a gas station and a few other hotels. There are no beach activities although you could book some things through the hotel (allegedly).

The hotel is right on the beach and if you are on the beach side, the view is great. They have beach cabanas and the pool is nice. Drinks and dinner at the restaurant are very reasonably priced - food is just ok. It's not really a true bar so don't expect to pull up a bar stool and hang out. It’s better to get your own liquor and make your own drinks.

It's mostly filled with condo owners and an older crowd (60 or more) so not really good for young folks.

The room was clean but cheaply decorated. Beds are hard, towels are horrible, and the kitchen is sparsely populated with pots/pans/utensils/etc that I did not use. They do not provide a hair dryer or shampoo, lotion, etc so bring your own. My shower had no water pressure as the majority of the head was clogged. I asked for a repair and the maintenance man never came.

The concierge was nice. You have to exchange cash (dollars) for credits to use at the bar and restaurant so make sure you bring some. The lady that ran the time share services was not at all helpful and seems put off by questions. The store is closed most of the time but you can ask for it to be opened. I would recommend the gas station across the street instead. The bar tenders were great - a little tip goes a long way. No hiking trails (as advertised) that I found and the gym and tennis courts are only open to owners.

Definitely not worth the exchange at Interval. It's better to stay at one of the true resorts in the gold zone where they have great pools and great beaches with all the other resort goodies I would expect. My friend and I checked out early and moved to El Cid to save our vacation.

Room Tip: Get the beach side otherwise there is nothing to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foltyn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were there for one week, the facilities were amazing, they really care for their guests!! Richardo and Mosera at the front desk were wonderful and very helpful. The grounds are beautiful, they got gardens full of flowers, lakes and a private beach..... All the staff is so friendly, we met the manager at the restaurant when he approached us asking if everything was ok. The food was delicious.... we just felt like home... Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaySpiltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our second time staying at Costa Bonita as my parents have rented there the last two years in a row. It's about a 30-40 minute cab ride from the airport and about 10 minute walk away from the Riu resort. It's right on the beach with only a short walk down to Playa Bruja where there is the Looney Bean Coffee Shop and a few restaurants. The complex consists 2 buildings. A/B/C are in the main building and D is on it's own behind it. Both trips we have stayed in the A wing and it's the oldest of the four and it's really starting to show. Our unit had a fabulous deck but the shower in the main bathroom was starting to collapse in and overall needs a bit of a face lift.

The complex has boogie boards in which you can use and we had some huge waves while we were there so that was a great activity. Watch out for the current though, there were some times where you couldn't help but be pulled by it. The restaurant is absolutely sensational. The prices are extremely low and the cooks know what they are doing. Everywhere we ate we would compare it to the restaurant at the complex with the complex winning out most of the time. They also were having movie nights every Monday - we didn't check any of them out - but it was a nice option.

Room Tip: The end units have the larger decks, but try for the C building. A is a little older and not as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

we have rented here for the previous 5 years and every year it gets better.the condo owners now manage the place and have improved almost everything.the restaurant and bar called the palapa has good food and drinks and the waiters raoul and carlos are friendly and efficient.drinks are cheap..each thurs there is a chef special.there are now 27 tv channels available in english(shaw from canada and direct from the us)and the lake is new and improved complete with lilies anjd fish.almost every nite bob the piper plays at sundown.buses and taxis are still inexpensive.all in all this place cant be beat

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank oldfolksWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

At least 35 min. taxi ride from airport. You do get a chance to see many areas of Mazatlan on the trip to and from airport.
Be prepared to sleep on mattresses that are like cement.. Kitchen area is poorly equipped so we did enjoy eating at the restaurant on site.
The holidaying regulars were very friendly and we did leave feeling like we had made some acquaintances and would consider returning next year only if the conditions of the rooms improve.We booked this through Interval International on an exchange and whomever got our unit in Palm Desert got the good end of the stick.
Watch out for mold if you have allergies this is not the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gran63470214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Particularly enjoyed the condo overall...it is beautifully furnished, the beds were super comfy and it was sparkling clean. The kitchenette rocked. Also, as a single mom traveling alone, I felt very safe. I loved the view from the balcony and the location on the beach was unbelievable. The pottery man who comes every day was fantastic and this is a great idea for guests to have something quiet and artsy to do while there.

It was one of the best vacations I've had in years and my kids LOVED it. It was also fantastic that the condo had these super-cool boogie boards and sand buckets and shovels at the condo there for us to use.

On the downside, the resort only accepts cash so bring plenty and best is to exchange it elsewhere first so you have pesos. The food was delicious at the little bistro on the property, prices very reasonable, but it generally closes at 4:30 p.m. and the service was very slow. Though you can buy alcohol at the little restaurant, no poolside bar service:( The hot tub is ONLY for adults and was not very hot, even when I told the maintenance people. They just shrugged...it is what it is.) The best part of the pool area was the swimming pool which is gorgeous and the warm half is nice and warm every day. Families with young children, do note that there are mostly retirees staying at the resort. It's QUIET.

Plenty of lounge chairs were available at both the pool and the beach. Because the resort is far off the Golden Zone, one is not bothered by too many vendors on the beach and there is excellent security at the resort. I might have rented a car had I known how far off the beaten track the resort is because taxi fare was about $10 one way into the Golden Zone where the nightlife is. Still, bottom line: loved Costa Bonita and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingtheWorld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#64 of 80 in Mazatlan
444 reviews
14.3 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
0.6 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#28 of 80 in Mazatlan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
#33 of 80 in Mazatlan
950 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#15 of 80 in Mazatlan
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 7500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £59 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Bonita Condominium And Beach Resort
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing