We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing trip, Christmas 2012” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“disappointing trip, Christmas 2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I am sad to say this trip was a disappointment.
1. Three of five got sick and spent several days shut in the room. From the symptoms we say food poisoning. Having purchased the all inclusive and only eating at the resort it must be their food. So to add to the disappointment of spending vacation in bed & bathroom in pain, is the thought of spending money for all inclusive that is not being used by some... for days. And then finding out that room service is not included in the owners price for all inclusive. Having sick people that think they are getting better and want to try eating something, in the comfort of our room, and having to pay for it on top of the cost of all inclusive is a slap in the face. And others are not allowed to go order at a restaurant and get it to go for them. What a rip off!
2. The maid did not leave the usual extra t.p. roll on the toilet tanks (3 bathrooms) one crucial day so I had to go off seeking them out for more t.p.
3. Laundry could not keep up with towel use so we couldn't get more than 1 wash cloth for 5 people- two days in a row. Really?!
4. Employees in general do not seem happy or concerned with serving or providing for the guests. Some were rude. Some just gave real poor service. Some ignored the fact that we were at the pool without anyone taking our drink order. We had to go ask to be served.
5. In general we all felt that we were treated differently than previous trips by wait staff and wonder if it is due to the all inclusive plan/bracelet. Do they get tipped as stated in that plan? We also added tips to most every slip since it was the holiday week and we like to be generous to those having to work instead of being with their family.
6. Info about the cart system to move around the property indicated we did not need to call for a ride but wait on the path as the cart moves continuously back and forth. However, the empty cart driver told us he couldn't take us as he was going to get someone who had called for the cart. Told us to wait for him to come around again. What?! We walked instead, in the rain one day.
7. Using the sofa bed each night, we found one night at 10pm that the sheets for that bed had been taken but not replaced. So we called and waited for someone to bring more sheets.
8. Along with #7, when originally calling for bedding for the sofa bed we received sheets and one thin blanket. Since that didn't keep my daughter warm I gave up my bedspread. I hoped I would get another one on my bed the next day, never did.
9. While it is stated that pool chairs are not to be saved, each morning the same folks were out very early saving many chairs for their group that would then wander in and out at various times of the day. Seemed quite unfair to those attempting to follow the rule. Seeing many chairs not actually occupied for hours is frustrating.
10. Being owners at this resort we have loved our vacations here in the past. However we will not be going back anytime soon. We will book into other resorts, maybe not even PB and enjoy being treated properly.
11. DO NOT PURCHASE THE ALL INCLUSIVE unless you plan to eat round the clock and be drunk every day... that is the only way it would save you money.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tropictree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    454
    167
    83
    74
See reviews for
1,280
719
23
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our 16th all inclusive stay in Mexico. We have stayed at different resorts each time. Reviews can get long so here is our opinion of this resort in a nutshell:

Pros:
-Beautiful grounds with flamingos
-Rooms are spacious and big
-Cleanliness level is great
-Pools are beautiful

Cons:
-Bad beach. Very rocky and if you come at high tide, you may not see the rocks and can get badly injured.
-Erratic service but often slower than most all inclusives. Also the staff didn't have the same enthusiasm and positivity we have seen so often. There were many sullen faces.
-No nightlife at all. No entertainment or disco.
-Low variety of food
-Confusing building names. Each building has a long four word name and an alphabet and three number codes!
-Spa pricing was tricky. Wouldn't honor deals advertised on their own website!
-Restaurants and bars ran out of things like straws and glasses routinely! Never heard that before.
-Extremely poor wifi, even when you pay
-Hidden levy as a "donation" on your bill at the end, without being asked.
-Several extra charges on top of the all inclusive. Extra charge for eating in certain restaurants, for room service and for some types of drinks.

This resort used to be mainly a time share and started doing all inclusives about two years ago. There is a sense of being nickled and dimed at every turn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 4Love15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We, a group of four families of friends and children, stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay during the last week of December.

Airport transfers and check-in went smoothly and the front desk staff were friendly. We had four junior suites. Although we had requested months ago for rooms close by, the best we got was four rooms in the same building.

We were constantly pursued in the front lobby for the timeshare presentation. We relented finally since they were offering discounts on sailing and zip lining in addition to cash discounts on the final bill. The presentation which was supposed to be 90 minutes was closer to 180 minutes.

The resort, which is ten years old, is nice with beautiful grounds. Rooms, while large and comfortable, show their age. Both the air conditioner and the refrigerator were very noisy. Thankfully, we didn't need to use the air conditioner. Both the restaurants on site went out of their way to accommodate the large number of vegetarians in our group. Pools were very nice as others have noted.

Now for the BAD part. Eight of us got sick -- fever, vomiting and diarrhea -- after eating pool side on Thursday night, two days before our departure. I went to the front desk the next morning to let them know and to check if anyone else had reported similar issues. I was given a comment form to fill out and that the manager will not be onsite until 3PM. I went again after 3PM with the manager still nowhere to be seen and I was told that the manager will call me in our room. My wife finally managed to talk to a manager after dinner who told her that the "incident" will be "investigated" and offered to take off the pool side food charges from our final bill and credit us for a day of future stay by email. They did take off the food charges, but the email that they promised to send us is no where to be seen. Overall, it left us very disappointed at the end of what was a nice vacation until that time. We'll not be going back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rdsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Being our first trip to Mexico, we had no idea what to expect.

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay was a nice getaway. Upon arriving we were welcomed with an invitation to the time share presentation with the option of a 15% discount on all resort purchases or $51 all inclusive per day package. Doing the math and looking at the menu's, we elected for the all inclusive package and went to the presentation.

We stayed in one of the Junior suites, which was well appointed. The room showed signs of wear, tiles were cracked and slightly discolored and humidity has warped some of the furniture. Overall, we felt comfortable in the room, however, it wasn't 4 or 5 star quality.

The pools where very nice. People loved to get up early and cover the poolside chairs which made it hard to find a spot poolside for more than three people after breakfast. We learned to get a spot before going to breakfast and just going to breakfast and leaving the towels.

The restaurants were decent, however, toward the end of the 7 day trip, we found ourselves eating to make use of the all inclusive package even when nothing appealed to us. La Cordiare had themed nights. Mexican night was by far the best night. Surf and Turf night made my wife and I sick. Asian night was flat out bad. We assumed it would be a dumpster fire and we were not disappointed. The menu night wasn't bad, however, it's nothing you will write home about. Breakfast was also done very well. Sunday Brunch was great and very well done. Service was pretty good all around. On menu night the staff apologized over and over and you could tell they where understaffed and slow.

Pool side had great service and some of the better food. We sat in the service range of Raphel, and he was a blast. Drinks seemed very very watered down. I consumed more drinks than ever in my life and barely got buzzed. If you want get your drink on, stick with Tecate which is served in can and isn't weak.

The time share presentation wasn't super pushy at all. We worked with two gentlemen that gave a lot of good information and provided some great info and presented everything matter of fact and where not hurt when we declined. When they left us, we took a "survey" with a final worker whom was "the closer", we firmly declined and 2 hours later we were on our way.

Overall the resort was nice and it would be worthy of another visit.

We did take the shuttle to the other resort which was a lot smaller and a little older than Emerald Bay, still nice though.

The only regret we made was to purchase the travel package to and from the airport through Orbitz and Panotours. They simply coordinated a taxi for us which we could have done cheaper. Most providers spoke English and we spoke enough Spanish that it would not have been an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The grounds here are beautiful,you can almost get lost walking the lovely,winding trails filled with trees,flowers,ponds,&fountains all over. Our rooms overlooked gardens& an adult only pool-very quiet. There are several pools & activities take place around the largest pool but enough space to find quiet. note:a 1bedroom unit does not have sleeping spot in livingrm.!(couch doesn't accomidate adult). Beware the timeshare sales!
The staff here are not very friendyl for the most part,& some barely spoke when greated& seldom smilled.
Restaurant here was uninviting&cold.Food was good but no atmosphere here!
Was so looking forward to returning to Cilantro's,the restaurant at their other P.B.hotel in town. What a major disappointment! Reviewed it here in feb.& raved.It has gone down some.

Room Tip: I would guess rooms right over main pool would be a bit noisy,but there doesn't seem to be a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay is way out of town with very poor service to the sister hotel in town. The staff is not very friendly, for example if good morning was said you had to be the one that said it first otherwise they would walk right by you. The activities director is the high point in their staff as he is very friendly and knowledgeable about his country and a good tour guide. The food is Great and the pools are also great. We had the all inclusive and it was good for food but not so good for drinks as too many items were left out and it was a very expensive option. We stayed at another resort the week before coming here so we had something great to compare this place to otherwise this review might have been different.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We had a room far from the lobby and the transportation that was advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We spent a week at Emerald Bay in November, bringing family who had never been to Mexico. We had the most incredible time filled with so many memories. Bought the all-inclusive package for 3 days, as a result we tried things we never would have, wonderful great deal! Every restaurant on the property was excellent, never been to the Bistro, but it was fabulous. Adrian at the front desk resolved all of our questions and problems professionally and completely. Angel at the poolside took care of us every day perfectly. Pool bartender Samuel was the greatest. Can't say enough good about ALL the wonderful staff, they are friendly yet professional and provide GREAT service. All the food was excellent!! The resort is absolutely the best and Mazatlan is a wonderful city to vacation at. If you get a chance, go see The Brenster perform on Tuesday afternoons at Diago's on the beach, what an entertainer and singer. Sun setting over the ocean is picture perfect. Adrian is the best waiter ever!! Mazatlan Rocks!! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Montana6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#47 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing