We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Up and Down”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our 10th trip to Mazatlan, our 9th at PBEB and our 3rd at PBEB with our 'Italian' friends. Over the years there have been many changes to the resort, service staff etc. For this trip there were some areas that I think the management (if you can ever find them) have listened to on Trip Advisor and some things that I think they have ignored. On the UP side there were new towels poolside, new more modern TV's in the bedroom; painted and freshed up rooms and new fridges. We requested a room in the 14/15/16/17 buildings and we place in 1815. I rang and requested another room, after 1 hour I was happily rehoused in 1715 - perfect! Fantastic poolside service from Angel, Jesus and Jose Louis,although Carlos :( has gone to Topolos - we could not get a reservation, fully booked all the time. Book from the US before you leave! Other untrained waiters were poor and lacked the the happy hour mentality as it took almost an hour to get a drink poolside. Maids for the rooms were brilliant and the room was fresh and clean everyday, remember to leave them a tip please! Most pleasant surprise was the towel pool guys from housekeeping - whoever is in-charge of housekeeping great job! They were pleasant and helpful. Finally the security towel police are doing their job and removing the 'left' before breakfast towels........everyone knows what this means! Now to the negatives of which I think is heavily weighted because of the introduction of the all- inclusive plan. Service at the pool does not begin until 11 for anyone and ends around 5pm for everyone! We used to love to start early and finish late :) Portion sizes and alcohol content of drinks is severely reduced, even for those who are paying full price. The buffet food in the Cordeliere all but inedible. We went on the Sat night to the buffet from 5-10pm and arrived at 7pm. All the appetizers were all but eaten, there was virtually no desserts left and the outside buffet was much cold and stale. I requested to have some more appetizers and desserts and the chef asked why? most people have eaten! There was ONE table who came in after us and had nothing left. 370 pesos for 2* food at best. The entertainment was almost complete by 8pm and then he kept telling everyone to make a report on Trip Advisor - well here it it is. I if you advertise 5-10pm then you should have everything available till alt least 9pm! The all inclusive band is killing the quality of the food. This restaurant used to have high end shrimp, steak and lobster. Now there isn't even a shell in sight! The Bistro is a much better option. My last gripe is the front desk/concierge. A hotel that offers this service as most 4*/5* hotels do should ensure that the front desk and the concierge co-ordinate. Lost bookings, mix ups on trips, restaurants unavailable??? You used to be able to get drink coupons! I think PBEB does NOT want you to leave the resort, If so do not offer a concierge service. We are OVER the timeshare already.............please change the check in procedure, its so lame..............well overall we had a fab time. Pools are still fab, Roberto and the tennis was excellent, some of the trained staff are great, oh and the activities are fab as well and so is the pottery. Some of the things we come back to PBEB for. So may I suggest management revise the all inclusive to include everyone from all aspects, those who prepay and those who do not. Train the newer pool staff alongside the trained ones and talk to chefs about upping the quality of the food. Till the next trip.................see my reviews on Pedro & Lola; Angelos; Cilantros......

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor balcony go for 14/15/16/17 followed by a 1, other than that go to the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    477
    178
    89
    78
See reviews for
1,332
744
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PEARLAND,TEXAS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We arrived on Dec 15 2013 and from the moment we stepped in we were treated like royalty. Great food and beverages; hotel was decorated beautiful for the Christmas Holidays. Perfect holiday can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLBAILEY1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 1 week all inclusive vacation at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and loved every minute of it. We were given a great 3rd floor room with a garden view and a great ocean view from our balcony as we were at the top of the complex. The best way to describe the layout would be terraced from the ocean up to back of the property. Our room was spotless and maid service was good.

No building is higher than 4 floors and they are spread out over this large property with landscaped path ways taking you from one end of the property to the other. They have a large pool, a smaller adult only pool with hot tub and swim up bars in both. There is also a large 3rd pool outside the Bistro which was quiet and very relaxing. We enjoyed the beach for veging out and watching the waves as well as long walks but as others have said, this is not a “swimmers beach”. The sister hotel in town (free shuttle) was available for that.

Food was excellent and plentiful. The Buffet was served at breakfast and dinner only and every night there was a different theme for variety with occasional entertainment to go with dinner. Breakfast, lunch and dinner could be had at the Bistro which is beautiful full service restaurant with great food and excellent service. Pool side service was available for lunch and once again the selection and quality of the food was excellent. I am lost to imagine why some said service was lacking, the staff was welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

No complaints from this couple, just what we were looking for and by the way, excellent value for what we paid.

Room Tip: For a good view, request a Junior Suite with an ocean view and you should be OK but try and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam-from-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent one week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan (see separate review) and one week at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. Between the two resorts, we much preferred Emerald Bay. At the end of this review is a comparison of the two resorts.

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay is located north of Mazatlan, about 5 miles north of the marina (which is just north of the Golden Zone). It is important to note that it is very isolated from the other resorts and businesses in the area, so take this into consideration. If you are doing the all-inclusive (we did not), this may not matter to you. However, you will find yourself having to take a taxi to most places off resort due to the isolated location. We did walk to other resorts, restaurants and stores nearby, but most people did not, staying on location. There is a Walmart about 4 miles away (taxi is 80-100 pesos) north of the marina as well as a new shopping center across the street. Or you can take the shuttle to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, where you will find the Scorpio II Market across the street, as well as Henderson’s Meat Market further left (north) one block. If you take the shuttle to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, there are two good restaurants right across the street—Pancho’s is across the street and to the right and Fish Market is across the street and to the left. The shuttle runs every hour during the day and every half hour in the evening. Note that the downtown (“centro”) area is pretty far away and will cost about 180-200 pesos for a taxi if you go there directly from the resort. Alternatively, you can take the shuttle to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan and take a taxi/pulmonia from there for 80-100 pesos.

Note that this resort is a timeshare, so although you can purchase rooms like a standard hotel/resort, many of the people here are timeshare owners. So you will be mixing with those who bought into the timeshare concept (we are not owners, just stayed here). You will be hit on to buy a timeshare while you are here, so make sure you do not leave as an owner. Hint: if you are even possibly considering it, you can buy this timeshare (and others) on the secondary market for a fraction of the cost. Don’t give in to the high pressure timeshare sales pitch. Better yet, turn down any offers to go to the presentation, even though they will offer you $200+ in resort credits. It’s not worth ruining your vacation to be stuck in a high pressure sales pitch. They say it is 90 minutes, but they often go 4-5 hours and only end when you say yes. Just say no at the outset and they will leave you alone.

The resort itself is very well maintained, with beautiful grounds, three pools (the main pool area in the center of the resort is huge), two large hot tubs and a variety of activities available to all guests, whether you are part of the all-inclusive or not. There is a beautiful spa with a 10-station relaxation experience and workout gym. Unfortunately, the spa and the gym are not included and you will have to pay to go there. Normally it is $17/pp per day. Tip: if you purchase any of the $10 classes at the spa, you will get the spa and gym included, so you get a class and save $7.

Although the entire resort is fronted on the ocean, not many of the rooms have a clear ocean view. We stayed in 1844 (Building I, Canobbio Building, Building 18). Note that every building has essentially three names—a letter (such as “I” in our case), a number (“18” in our case) and a name (“Canobbio” in our case). When you check in, they will refer to the building by either letter or number. Tip: the ideal rooms are in building I/18 and J/19, which are both 4-story buildings fronting the ocean and close to the main pool. All of the other 4-story buildings have 2-story buildings in front of them. If you are staying I/18 or J/19, best rooms are 4th floor. The lower floors are somewhat blocked by the palm trees. If you cannot get into I/18 or J/19, buildings K/20 and L/21 are 2-story buildings, also fronting the ocean (try for 2nd floor for better views due to shrubs blocking the ocean view of the first floor).

Tip: do NOT take the resort’s offered shuttle service from the airport. The cost of a taxi is about the same as the shuttle for two persons and you will be first in line for available rooms (and without the extra 30 minute wait at the airport for the last person off your plane).

Positives:
- Beautiful resort grounds and beautiful near-new rooms, excellent price for value
- The location can be a positive for you (if you want to be remote and separate from the rest of Mazatlan)
- Kitchenette in each unit with nice sized fridge, sink, microwave, two-burner stove, coffee maker and toaster along with all of the pots, pans, dishes, silverware and utensils included
- No local hawkers on the beach due to the remote location
- Beautiful area to walk the beach—you can walk more than 8 miles north on the beach (hint: you can also walk south if you take the path over the rocks just before the end of the beach, then follow it out to where the beach begins again)
- On-site restaurants and bars are decent although prices are somewhat higher than other establishments in town, since you are paying a premium for on-site convenience
- Free wifi by the deli, although it can be slow and spotty (OK for checking e-mail, although don’t plan to do any intensive Web browsing or video)
- No added resort fee surprises at the end of your stay

Negatives:
- Location locks you into either taking a shuttle or taxi to most places or eating on-site
- All-inclusive fees are extremely high ($89/pp per day)
- Timeshare pitch by the “concierge” when you check in, they won’t give you the key until they finish explaining several different “offers” to entice you to attend the timeshare presentation (just say no and be firm, it will take you about 10 minutes to get your key)
- You have to return your pool towel every day by 8p or be charged $25 per towel
- Although the resort is relatively new, the quality of the materials and craftsmanship are lacking. For example, screen doors that are broken and off track, cracked stucco, over use of caulking in showers and tubs, etc.
- Smoking is allowed pretty much anywhere outside (including the entire pool area), so it’s luck of the draw whether a smoker sits down in the open lounger next to you at the pool; to be fair, that’s pretty consistent for most resorts and outdoor seating at restaurants in Mexico, although we did have a problem with even cigars being smoked by the pool during our stay
- Service for drinks by the pool was extremely slow, probably due to the number of people using the all-inclusive. It took from 15 to 30 minutes to get a drink order.
- We requested a late checkout of 1 p.m. (normal checkout is 10 a.m.) several days in advance, yet our room card stopped working at 10 a.m. on our checkout date. I was told I would have to come to the front desk to get a new keycard, since the system automatically locks you out at 10 a.m. I asked why this was done, since we requested a late checkout in advance and was told that the system requires it. Yet I was not told in advance, only found this out when I tried to get back into our room. Then I had to go to the front desk and wait in line to get new cards. Poor systems and poor customer service defending the poor systems rather than the customer needs.

We also stayed one week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan (our first week of our two week stay), so following is a comparison of the two properties, in case you are deciding between them:

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay:
- Location is more remote (6 miles north of the Golden Zone), better if you want privacy and plan to stay on property most of your vacation or have a rental car for getting around
- Newer property and more luxurious (in our view, it is a 4- to 5-star vs. 3-star for the other property)
- Resort is more spread out, long walk to the outer edges of the resort (which may be an advantage for you if you don’t mind walking and want more privacy)
- Several large pools including an adults-only pool
- More couple friendly property (although families will enjoy it as well if you plan on staying at the resort most of the time)
- Smaller studio rooms have balconies but most 1BRs do not (although ours did, they are subject to availability when checking in, make sure you ask in advance and call the morning you arrive)
- Beach is OK for laying out (and no vendors hawking you), but most of the ocean area is rocky, so less desirable for swimming, boogie boarding, etc.

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan:
- Location at the north end of the Golden Zone is best for access to local restaurants and businesses off property
- Older property, more typical of hacienda-style Mexican properties
- Resort is more compact, everything in easy walking distance
- One main pool in the center of the resort and a smaller pool on the south side of the resort
- More family friendly property
- Fully equipped kitchenettes in all rooms
- All rooms (including 1BR) have a balcony
- Beach is better for swimming, boogie boarding, body surfing, etc. in the ocean

Room Tip: Building 18 and 19 fourth floor have the best views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have gone to this resort before and booked again to go with another couple. 7 months ago, we sent a request for a top floor in a specific building. Got an email back saying that's no problem. When we checked in, they had no top floor, and no rooms in our requested building. We ended up on the second floor, my balcony eclipsed by a tree. The other couple could see the back of the building in front. We booked for two weeks, and I asked 3 separate times during our stay to be moved. We were told there weren't any rooms. Really?? The place was almost empty the second week. Not one top or third floor room in any building?? Not likely. So disappointed. We went there because of the views. The view from our room made me wish we'd gone somewhere else. Since our room got hardly any sun, it was really muggy and humid. The other couple with us had bugs all over their kitchen. They had the hotel spray it 3 times. Still no new rooms. Waste of money for us. Wish anyone would have been apologetic at all. The buffets were ok, but nothing special. Some of the theme nights are plated, and if we hadn't been all inclusive, it would have been a waste of money. The food at the bistro was good, but somewhat inconsistent. Some things came out with some toppings one day and different ones the next. Cilantro's in town was good also. Our cleaning lady, Fabiola, was great. Always friendly and cheerful.
At the pool, Angel was a good server, and Jesus was fantastic. We had a few others that would consistently forget stuff.
Booked a fishing trip on the resort, (the salesman, Victor, walks around the pool area). The fishing trip was not as nice as Victor will have you believe.
At breakfast, when I asked to have two bottles of water to go, Ramon jumped down my throat, asking how many in my room. I know you have to protect the AI from the non AI, but 2 bottles of water at the start of the day??? Settle down Ramon. I went out of my way to sit in anyone else's section from that day forward. Some servers were amazing. The Omelet station was fantastic. She is good at what she does.

Overall, this experience was nowhere near my first trip. I will not be raving this time. I do not think I'll return, mainly because over the two weeks, they could not find us any other room at all. Despite our complaints.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor have views, lower do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tashaloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate the time you took to review us and would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you, we are already taking action to make sure this won't happen again.

We really hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have been owners at EB for 3 years and overall recommend the resort to all. The kids love the pool and grounds as well as the beach activities at the sister-hotel, Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. The staff is friendly and hospitable. The food options are good. The all-inclusive meal and spa packages are worth the money, if you will make use of them.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Megan K,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks and the time you took to review us, looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay was a great place to stay, the grounds were beautiful, and condo was very spacious, and clean every day.
The food was excellent, but we did not do the meal plan, but I think that most people that visit there, do get the meal plan.
We do plan on returning, that was my first visit to Mazatlan since 1984, and so much has changed, for the good and the bad.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, near the adult pool, we had a view of the water, and pool, but a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,508 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
665 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing