We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer visit to Mazatlan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Murphys, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Summer visit to Mazatlan”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We are time share owners at this resort. We were there in April of this year. What we noticed between April and June is a drastic reduction in service personnel. There are far fewer waiters around the pool. Is this to reduce staff and/or reduce the number of orders that can be placed by visitors who have purchased an all-inclusive. Even the staff admits a reduction. In both cases the owner is saving money.

The grounds are not as clean and again it's noticeable that staff is reduced. So what is driving all of this? Is it because Mr. Coppel, the owner is building another large project in Los Cabos? The emerald bay owners were promised a golf course but it's been ten years. But the new development in Los Cabos has a new Jack Nicklaus golf course under construction.

The rates in the Spa are higher than in the US. They also add a 16% taxes and 3% valet fee!! On top of all of this, you are billed 'donation' to The Letty Coppel foundation, what ever it is they do with the cash.

The rooms are nice with views. Only time will tell if the owner is going to walk away in favor of Los Cabos.

Room Tip: The second story of the two-story buildings near the Bistro restaurant are good locations if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lapiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    485
    184
    91
    80
See reviews for
1,375
750
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Point, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was my first trip to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. After check-in, the timeshare representative did ask me if I would be interested in listening to her presentation. I told her that I wasn't interested and was never bothered again.

My room was beautiful. I love to 2 closets. Also, the bathroom has a make-up mirror. (This is a great amenity for old eyes.) The complimentary bath products include shampoo, body wash and lotion, which are all very nice, except there is no conditioner for your hair. The towels and washcloths are fluffy and soft. There is also a retractable clothesline in the shower.

The beds and pillows are comfortable. My junior suite had a balcony, which I really enjoyed. (Most of the Master suites do not have balconies.) It had 2 lounge chairs, but the cushions were weathered and torn. I still enjoyed the view every morning while drinking my coffee.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The pools are awesome, although the water is as warm as bath water. Enrique is the best pool waiter. My cup was rarely empty. Try the spicy margaritas.

The food in every restaurant and poolside was delicious. The service was great. The only drawback is waiting to have to sign your bill after every meal and/or drink. We had six people in our party and four different rooms. This seemed to be confusing most of the time. Maybe a better way would be to have a scan bar on your wrist band or key card that could be scanned by the waiter. (You have to have both of these at all times, anyway.) One receipt could be printed and slipped under you door every evening, so that you can tip accordingly and at your convenience.

I did have an incident one morning. My cousin and I were walking toward to lobby on the walkway close to the adult only pool. I was distracted by this beautiful green gecko running across the sidewalk, when a service vehicle came flying up the WALKWAY. If my cousin hadn't have pulled me out of the way, the service truck would have hit me. The worker did stop and said "sorry" and then went on his way.

I took advantage of the spa. Chris, my massage therapist, was wonderful. The spa is fabulous. They have these different showers, tubs, and a sauna that is out of this world. This is a nice way to spoil yourself for a couple hours.

In summary, this is a beautiful resort, with delicious food and comfortable accommodations. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Too hot to sit on the balcony and not enough shade around the pool. This time of year, the resort was full of Mexican families and pools were crowded and noisy. Food at Emerald Bay mediocre (meal plan); we preferred eating at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan.

Room Tip: Don't go in June!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlAgtRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a beautiful resort and quite elegant, yet not pretentious. It felt very safe, and I was able to completely relax. We did the all-inclusive and found the food quite good and the waiters around the pool very attentive and generous. On our first morning at breakfast at The Bistro, after ordering our huevos rancheros (Pueblo Bonito style- yum!) the waiter welcomed us "home." We were always able to get food and drink (between 7 am and our bedtime), but next time I'll bring my own coffee to make in the room.
I was able to stay shaded because I woke up very early (before 7) and established myself at my spot by the beach/pool. There really wasn't enough shaded property for everyone at the resort though, and the sun in June is HOT!
My 14 year old son enjoyed the beach volleyball and Jenga and other games (although you have to listen closely for the announcements and pay attention to your own watch to catch them). The free shuttle to the tourist area is convenient and comfortable and from there you can get an open air taxi to the downtown market for about 80-100 pesos. We did that only on one day.
My husband snorkeled every day, but the area around the resort is disappointing for snorkelers; remedy this with a boat trip to Deer Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 916Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stay there 2 times a year. Spring and Fall. I love the quiet of the adult pool for reading and relaxing. The food is great but most of the time we do our own cooking in the room. We like having the shuttle that drops us in town at the bus where we use it to go all over town for a reasonable charge. The staff at PBE are super. They remember our names after 6 months of not being there.

Room Tip: quieter rooms are by the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff was absolutely wonderful and the atmosphere was very relaxing. All the pool staff were very attentive and the activities were especially fun- don't miss the water aerobics and trivia games with Eduardo! Best vacation we have ever had, we will definitely come back soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliciaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

While we had a nice relaxing vacation, we don't feel that the resort lived up to expectations. The furnishings are outdated and dirty. We are glad we didn't have anyone expected to sleep on the sofa bed in the living area. It was not even comfortable to sit on. We had to request twice for the floor to be mopped. Our feet were dirty after walking barefoot inside. There was a cigarette butt and bird droppings on the balcony that were never cleaned. Bird dropping were prevalent throughout the resort. Poolside tables were always dirty. While we had a few good meals, menu offerings were limited. Poolside service at Emerald Bay was slow and inattentive. We spent 2 days at the pool at the Mazatlan location. Antonio was the best...exactly the kind of customer service expected. Fortunately, we know to not respond to the messages for us to pick up our "welcome package", so we avoid the timeshare gauntlet. Airport transportation and transportation to sister resort were clockwork!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are very glad to hear that you had a very relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed our facilities in the beautiful town of Mazatlan, knowing that Antonio met your service expectations. As well as our prompt shuttle service between hotels. We apologize for the omissions in the services that you mentioned here, we are working on correcting them. We appreciate the time you took to review us and share your experiences and hope to welcome you anytime in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,536 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
681 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 79 in Mazatlan
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,798 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 79 in Mazatlan
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing