We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Hotel But Beach Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun Hotel But Beach Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is a nice place for a family vacation. The grounds are large and pleasant. Our room was very big, with a kitchen and plenty of space to hang out. It had a nice view but no outdoor patio or balcony. The pool was large and quite nice, with a hot tub, a swim-up bar, and several separate areas to swim and play. The pool-side bar food was excellent. Drinks were kind of weak, probably owing to the all-inclusive price. We didn't like the buffet dinner at all, but the fancier restaurant was pleasant and had good food.

Probably the best thing about the Pueblo Bonito was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and did their best to be helpful. The wait-staff in the restaurant made every meal an event. Special kudos to Jose, who set our dessert on fire and put on a show serving it.

The biggest drawback is the beach. It's OK to walk along, but not good for swimming and not particularly nice for sunbathing. So if you want to hang out at the pool, this is a great place, but if you're a beach person, I would choose another destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    466
    173
    88
    77
See reviews for
1,303
732
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and me spent a marvelous five days stay. The Spa, pools and beach are outstanding, as well as the food and service. We rally had a relax time in a quiet but delicious environment. Special mention to the Spa staff and facilities; both are the best. Another mention is for the service staff at the beach; they take care of everything so you do not need to worry about anything.
The only stain was the attitude of the front desk employee Juan. Instead of welcoming us at our arrival he treat us in a rude manner. Please move him to back office out of the seen on the guests. Unfortunately, due to his we did not receive all recommendations.
Anyway our stay was delicious.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

we arrive to resort sunday driver who pick us up at airport very freindly workers at resort very profesional good attitude registration area very freindly staff they ask us what kind of room we like to have we pick the 4th floor with a view of the ocean from our room you can see the swiming pools (5)our room have 2 bathrooms partial kitchen plenty room for 4 people resort grounds are very well keept pools are very clean beach very nice water very warm

Room Tip: any room you choose is good people at this resort are very polite there is no roudy people you can w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently returned from Mazatlan,MX. Emerald Bay resort is an awesome place to go relax and take your family. The resort offered everything we needed.The rooms were beautiful with an awesome view. The service anywhere on the resort was over and beyond. People were always friendly and very helpful. It was great having the convenience of two small delis/markets on the resort as well even though there was a Super Walmart close by. Be advised though, if you go to the Walmart for your shopping they will only accept $250.00 us per customer. If you use pesos there is no limit. They also had plenty of space on the grounds for getting in the morning jog, as well as a gym, spa and tennis courts. They took care of setting up our tours and currency exchange too. The tour to Old Mazatlan is definitely recommended, but keep a close watch on your money exchange as they don't always seem to give the correct amount (don't think it is intentional). We definitely felt safe there as well as walking the streets in Mazatlan. Not what we expected. Can't always believe everything you hear. We definitely plan on going back.

Room Tip: We had a master suite with 2 junior suites near the office facing the adult poo, on the 3rd floorl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank madted3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've been 4 times in the last 5 years and absolutely love it. After going to the Yucatan recently I can say that the level of service in Mazatlan is far superior. Emerald Estates is a great place to relax and be pampered. But there are also plenty of fun things to do if you like a little adventure in your vacation. The fishing is spectacular. The golfing is superb. And you don't have anyone trying to take advantage of you and charge $12 USD for a margarita. If you stop by the main pool ask for Carlos- he is the MAN! Not only does he deliver great service, he'll have you cracking up in no time.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the main resort, as they all have views facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed couple of times. The pool is huge, the beach is the safest to swim in town. They have a couple of nice restaurants, Angelo's and Cilantro. I recommend both. It is located in the best area in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 912cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been down at the Villas at Pueblo Bonita Emerald Bay for almost two weeks. The resort is great fun, full of fun and helpful people. Sam is the man at the pool bar, and Gabby the concierge is excellent. I should not forget Juan at the Bistro, as another outstanding representative of the resort and the overall desire to help.

Mazatlan has gotten a bad rap as of the last few years, while it should really be focused on Culican, the state capital a couple hours to the north.

If you want a great time with fair (very fair) prices, come to Mazatlan and enjoy the best Mexico has to offer.

The hotel is a $ 15 cab ride from the middle of town, with lots of choices there. But they do have an hourly shuttle to the Pueblo Bonita in town (about 10 minutes) that puts you in easy access to everything for a few dollars cab fare.

Room Tip: request a balcony unit if you can. if traveling with a larger family consider upgrading to a villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#55 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Property: Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing