We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is my favorite hotel by far in Mexico. I've been to Cozumel, playa del Carmen, p. Vallarta, ixtapa and cabo. The grounds are superbly attended to, the hotel is off the beaten path and very lovely. Food is WONDERFUL and I love the option of doing all inclusive or not. Not a lot of hotels give u the option anymore. Staff is so polite and you feel like you are a first class guest. Beds and rooms are awesome- very roomy and comfy. We drink the water from the tap... It's purified. This is my favorite of the pueblo bonito hotels.. It's decor and feel are light and airy and what a Mexican hotel should be. Some of the others are a bit stuffy. At night the hotel is quiet which we prefer. Kelly's bar is hopping into the wee hours though. The spa is very nice also- one of the best I've been to....it has won many awards. If you wait mid-week, they usually come around the pool advertising spa specials and that is the time to book it. I've gotten several massages, a body wrap and facial. All were excellent.

We love this hotel so much we actually got married there a few years ago. We had a group of about 50 and everyone had the best time. Everything from the food, to the flowers to the decor was stunning. The wedding coordinator, Wendy was so accommodating and sweet. She was a gem. Highly recommend this hotel and we plan to go back in March 2015 with our new little son.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rojack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 3,134 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The facilities were amazing. It was clean and well appointed. We took a tour at the beginning of our stay and earned $200 to use at the resort. We had a few meals from room service, and many poolside drinks during our week stay. We always took advantage of the afternoon drink special (2 for 1). When we left we only owed $20!! It was amazing. I would go there again for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank D4rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us, we look forward to welcome you for the second time!

Warm Regards,
David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was first time for us. If you want to relax and really enjoy your Vacations and have nothing but a great time this is the place.The facility is beautiful, The staff were extremely kind and caring to all of our needs, the rooms are somewhat dated and need upgrading,This is the place to stay in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ALeasyrider S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I LOVE this place! My husband, five year old daughter and I spent a wonderful six days at Pueblo Bonito. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The staff is also wonderful.


FOOD
We purchased the all-inclusive for the first four days to see if it would be worth it and figured we could extend later. I will say, the all inclusive is definitely worth it. And it costs much more to add after booking, about $100/day per person.

The food at the restaurants is good. It does get repetitive, but it's a great option if you don't want to have to leave the hotel or pay full price at the restaurants. The all-inclusive also includes room service for a very small ($4) charge.

My only complaint is the people we saw with drinks inside the pool, especially children. This is probably more of a manners thing, but they could also make it a rule that drinks are not allowed in the pool. I'm really surprised we didn't run into a situation where a small child dropped their fruity drink in the pool.

STAFF
Wonderful! Very friendly and eager to make you feel welcome. The staff at the pool is continually checking to make sure guests have all they need, drinks, food, water. An our room was nice and clean when we returned.

ROOMS
They are nice and big. It was a great layout, perfect for the three of us. I can imagine with 4 adults it would feel a bit small. The decor is nice and bright and there is a small terrace with towel racks to dry your clothes. We'd purchased some sweet bread one night and in the morning it was covered in ants. There is a small kitchenette so I would be cautious of storing any sweet foods.

POOLS
They were very warm. We went in June and when I first stepped into the pool it felt like a jacuzzi. I was hoping to cool down, but it was about the same temperature as the air. This was the kids pool so it may have been due to it being shallow. The other pools were slightly cooler.

As usual, getting a chair near the pool in the shade is always a challenge, but this happens everywhere. People hold their chairs with some small personal object and then leave so you're forced to walk in circles looking at empty chairs when all you want to do is get to relaxing already. I haven't been to one hotel that has managed to find a good way to address this.

OVERALL
We had a wonderful time at Pueblo Bonito. We were there for six days in our ten day trip. We had planned to switch to a less pricey hotel on day seven, but we regret it. We tried to extend our stay, but they were already booked. The second hotel we stayed at was the Riu. It was a notable downgrade and not worth the money we saved. We will definitely book this hotel for the full vacation next time. I would highly recommend this hotel. Spend a little more to make your vacation worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Emerald Bay is a beautiful hotel. The grounds are fabulous and very well kept. Everything that you need to have a great vacation is here. Food at the two restaurants and the snack bars is delicious. You can eat outside in all of them. The hotel service is the best. Every hour there is a shuttle bus down to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan hotel where you can catch a taxi or pulmonia to restaurants and shopping Mazatlan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second, third and fourth floors will give you the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 78,661,939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is a nice place for a family vacation. The grounds are large and pleasant. Our room was very big, with a kitchen and plenty of space to hang out. It had a nice view but no outdoor patio or balcony. The pool was large and quite nice, with a hot tub, a swim-up bar, and several separate areas to swim and play. The pool-side bar food was excellent. Drinks were kind of weak, probably owing to the all-inclusive price. We didn't like the buffet dinner at all, but the fancier restaurant was pleasant and had good food.

Probably the best thing about the Pueblo Bonito was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and did their best to be helpful. The wait-staff in the restaurant made every meal an event. Special kudos to Jose, who set our dessert on fire and put on a show serving it.

The biggest drawback is the beach. It's OK to walk along, but not good for swimming and not particularly nice for sunbathing. So if you want to hang out at the pool, this is a great place, but if you're a beach person, I would choose another destination.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and me spent a marvelous five days stay. The Spa, pools and beach are outstanding, as well as the food and service. We rally had a relax time in a quiet but delicious environment. Special mention to the Spa staff and facilities; both are the best. Another mention is for the service staff at the beach; they take care of everything so you do not need to worry about anything.
The only stain was the attitude of the front desk employee Juan. Instead of welcoming us at our arrival he treat us in a rude manner. Please move him to back office out of the seen on the guests. Unfortunately, due to his we did not receive all recommendations.
Anyway our stay was delicious.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,660 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,908 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#17 of 80 in Mazatlan
722 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
421 reviews
16.9 mi away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £127 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing