We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good not to review! Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too good not to review! Excellent!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the Villas El Rancho resort for 10 days at the end of January. I usually don't write reveiws but this place was too good to not share with others. My girlfriend and I came for a much needed vacation and we were very pleased with our choice. We were greeted at the airport and taken directly to the resort. There are trees and plants every where you look. It looks like a little oasis! We reserved a poolside villa and it was very impressive. It was not new, but very clean and bright. The people who work here appear to be very happy to be there and are very friendly. We spent some quiet time alone and enjoyed both the pool and the private beach. There is also a very romantic jacuzzi where you can watch the sunset. Most of the guests that we spoke with were there to relax and enjoy some quiet time too. When we wanted more action, the staff happily suggested places for us to visit in town and helped arrange transportation too. The restaurant La Fonda is very nice, It has great margaritas and makes the best food too. (We had a seafood platter for two including lobster for only $39!) It was a very relaxing and quiet place. The individual units makes it feel like you are the only people around. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will be back again in the future. Thank you to everyone there that made our vacation so great!

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are just a few steps from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    117
    26
    33
    30
See reviews for
272
81
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We visited Mazatlan in January 2012 and stayed at the Villas El Rancho much to our delight. It is a small cozy resort with individual villas, so you don't have to worry about people hearing your conversations through the walls like in highrise hotels! Like any other good resort or hotel, we were not the only guests there, so one night we were able to hear a few other guests having fun and enjoying themselves on the beach but they were not totally out of control and they did quiet down after a bit. Overall it is a very relaxing and laid back place. Our villa was very clean and bright with an "Old Mexico" flavor in the decorating. One whole wall is glass so you have an amazing view of the ocean, we even saw several dolphins one day! The food was great and the staff very friendly and efficient. Totally recommend to anyone looking to relax and kick back!

Room Tip: Ocean units are right on the beach with glass facing the water for a sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiandVioletsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at El Rancho. This was our 2nd stay in 3 years and I wouldn't hesitate to go again. There were 7 of us ranging in age from 17 to 75 years and we felt safe the entire time. The villa we stayed in was lovely, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful and did not hesitate to help us with anything.
El Rancho is a peaceful bit of paradise located outside the Golden Zone which is only a short bus trip away.

Room Tip: We stayed seadside which costs a little more but poolside villas also look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Where to begin?? ….. I travel extensively on timeshare exchanges and this was my worst resort stay ever! So bad, that I wanted to cut my vacation short and get the heck out of there! It definitely is not the quality of others within the Interval International system and definitely not what I expected. Basically it is a hostel in a tropical setting on a great stretch of Cerritos Beach with fabulous sunsets. I felt so uncomfortable in my unit that I never even unpacked my suitcases during my one-week stay.

The units are 25+ years old and inside they look it - the counter tops, tile, furniture, lamps and fixtures are all very dated. The units are dark, stuffy and smelly. The remodeling they brag about is basically putting newer appliances in each unit. The modern high-rises surrounding not only block the afternoon sun, they make you wish you were staying in one of them. The resort is small, which is fine, but there is absolutely nothing to do onsite – no activities at all - just the small restaurant and palapa bar, which was usually unattended except for the ever-present timeshare salesman sitting there. Granted I was traveling solo, but I have no problems joining in with others socially.

The only items in the bathroom were a bar of soap, two towels and a bath mat (no washcloths, no toiletries, no hair-drier, nothing). The shower head was rusted and corroded, and the water came out brown for the first minute. There were lots of dead bugs visible in the bathroom light fixtures, the skylights were disgusting and you could see daylight around the vents, A dead spider on the shower floor in the 2nd bathroom stayed there my whole stay – even though the maids “cleaned” every day.

In the kitchen there was a daily parade of ants on the counter (they said they don’t use pesticides inside but would spray outside??). Utensils were rusted (can opener, veg peeler, corkscrew) as was the rack holding the “purified” water jug. Kitchen walls, light switches, exposed oven fan were all very gross and grimy. I had to request a microwave to be put in my unit. Wine glasses/corkscrews must be special at this resort because I was told they couldn’t give me any for my room?? (The timeshare salesman arranged for them to be sent to me.)

When I asked if I could move to an ocean-front room that was unoccupied, I was told by the timeshare salesman it might be arranged if I purchased. I looked at it, and it was no different than my unit other than it was hotter from the afternoon sun – but you could hear the waves. It is hard to avoid the timeshare guys – they are basically hanging around onsite all day – and this is a very small resort so you have nowhere to go to get away from them. I was approached to purchase four straight days in a row – each day a different “deal” – really, have you looked at what you're trying to sell? The beach vendors are allowed on the property so there is the constant parade of interruptions when you are trying to relax. The pool is not chlorinated or heated, had a film floating on the top and is shaded mid-day, so it is way too cold at this time of the year.

One thing that did help get me through …… Winston makes fabulous margaritas at the bar and they are very inexpensive!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jtay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This used to be a quiet beautiful place that you could depend on......alas no more. It is badly in need of repairs. Biggest problem now is the on site manager. We were there this past month and during our stay he rented out half of the entire place to a bus load of sixty young adults and gave them free rein of the place. They were blasting their music until 4am each day and refused to turn it down. Even though about ten of us complained to the manager he just laughed and said they were having fun. The front desk was exasperated but said the group was friends of the manager so nothing could be done. Hopefully the owner will take a interest and realize how bad this manager is. Also the pool is not heated as promised and was freezing cold, the wi-fi around the pool was not working, the cable TV has only three american stations now and pretty much every promise and expected upgrade to the property has never been done......very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 22savytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear 22SavvyTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We sincerely apologize, because as you say the manager did not act at all according to El Rancho policy. At El Rancho, our primary goal is to provide you with a relaxing and peaceful vacation, and the manager did not enforce that. He has been severely reprimanded, and we would like to offer you free nights on a future vacation with us in order to make up for the part of your vacation that was affected by the group of young adults. Please contact the reservations office. Also, we would like to make clear that even if a manager is doing something that is contrary to the spirit of El Rancho, you can request that the staff contact the owner in order for the situation to be dealt with.

We promise that we will always preserve El Rancho as the place where you can enjoy true relaxation and a peaceful vacation, and we look forward to seeing you many times in the future.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Villas El Rancho from January 18 - 23, 2012 and we were not at all happy with this hotel. We were scheduled to stay for 10 days but gladly left early and moved to the Golden Zone.

This place is 25 years old and in dire need of a total facelift. Our unit was very musty, smelly and dirty. The kitchen was disgusting with a fridge that was totally rusted out both inside and out. The bathroom had rust and mold everywhere. The towels are all grey and stained. It is very humid at this location due to all the vegetation and the bed sheets, towels and even your clothes are always damp.

This is a timeshare property mainly and you will be bugged from when you check in and daily by the four timeshare reps that work there. Be prepared.

It is very quiet with absolutely nothing going on. The two adjoining high rises block the sun around noon so the pool area is shaded. The pool is not heated and the hot tub is lukewarm and the hot tub at the beach has no water in it. Once it's dark the place is deserted and the lights are off around 9:00 pm. It is very far from downtown although bus service is good right out the door.

The restaurant has good meals with good service. The office staff and manager are wonderful and provide excellent service but they are very limited to what they can do In a very aging property that seems to only want to sell timeshares.

In closing I would like to say that the manager did everything he could do to get us to stay but once we were firm on telling him that we wanted to leave he was very accommodating. Too bad he has to deal with the complaints resulting from such a run down place that simply needs a total overhaul.....top to bottom.

Room Tip: You need to be in a poolside unit to be able to get Internet reception.......which is intermittent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliceb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Aliceb5,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We do admit that there is a lot of humidity - we are directly on the beach, after all, and our villas are at ground level and open directly on the lush tropical gardens. In all honesty, clothes and linens may be a little damp, but we've never had guests complain about it. Of course, some people prefer to be in a sterile tower, not actually close to nature, and so they don't value what El Rancho offers.

We are serious about offering a peaceful and relaxing environment for your vacation. That does mean that we don't encourage a lot of "night life" (although all of the Golden Zone's attractions are only 10 minutes away). It also means that we don't want you to feel pestered, and we apologize if you felt bothered by the timeshare representatives. Unfortunately, the timeshare culture in Mazatlan is something we have to fight against, but we will continue to instruct our representatives to respect the peace of our guests.

We're glad that you appreciated our restaurant, and we're sorry that the beachfront hot tub was under repair while you visited.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I did read below that it was a private beach with no vendors and was very happy to have seen that...well that is incorrect information because the vendors park themselves right on their stairs! I couldn't sit out and relax. At the pool there is about 2 hours of sun during the day. We turned down there timeshare offer and after that I just felt uncomfortable. Other guests told us they just keep after you. The landscape is very well mantained. BUT, the villas are OLD Mexio! Clean and no smell in ours but, nothing is updated in them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZUREALSOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Zurealsoon,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We're sorry that you were uncomfortable with the vendors. We have always found them to be friendly and respectful, and we provide our private beach area where they are not allowed to enter so that you can enjoy yourself in peace.

I also want to reassure you that we value our regular guests, and that we do not want to pressure anyone to buy a membership/timeshare. We do offer memberships because many of our guests want to take advantage of the many extra benefits both in savings and expanded options for vacations, but we understand that some people are not interested and we respect that.

We're glad that you appreciated our beautiful tropical gardens and beach. We will always maintain our villas clean and in good order, and we think that Old Mexico has great charm. We freely admit that El Rancho is not "new and shiny," and that's how we like it. We want to offer our guests a taste of Old Mexico that is very difficult to find in the modern world.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
664 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#53 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Property: Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, enjoyment, peace, and good food all in one beautiful place, Villas El Rancho! Welcome to our family friendly hotel where you'll find a great beach front location and the calm and privacy that you deserve. Featuring Mexican rustic style, Villas El Rancho offers you 28 completely private, quiet and relaxing rooms with the capacity to welcome 6 people per "villa". All our rooms have a large living area, comfortable bedrooms, and a kitchenette with all the utensils to enjoy the art of cooking and have a family or romantic dinner (But if you also want to take a rest from the kitchen, you can join us at "Lupita's", our delicious Mexican food restaurant). If you are looking for the best place to relax, what are you waiting for? Get away with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing