We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Azteca Inn(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melville Boutique Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
302
119
29
34
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
119
29
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupstairs master bedroompeace and quietgolden zonea great vacationoceanmexicoresortjacuzzijosepoolsideel
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation at El Rancho Villas in December. It was 80 degrees everyday and the sunsets (different everyday) were the most beautiful we have seen - anywhere! Yes, the pool is cold but the hot tubs are hot, and overlooking the ocean, which is warm. I'm sure the pools, which were very clean, are used more during the hot summer months. The beach was great - miles of white sand, and a nice restaurant when you reach the northern end (grab a pulmonia taxi back if you're tired of walking - or had too much to drink). The grounds are old and established, beautiful bouganvilla, lilies, flowers everywhere. Bananas hanging from trees! The villas themselves were very spacious, decorated in traditional Mexican style with dark heavy beams, tile floors and Majolica pottery. Everything was clean and well stocked. The bar was right outside our door so Margaritas were in constant supply. The restaurant has a Mexican chef - and she really cooks up a storm! Try her chillaquilles or her lobster/seafood special. The staff were always available and the front desk clerks were very helpful. their little store had just about everything you might need. The pulmonia ride to the main tourist area (Zona Dorado) is 5 minutes and costs about $8 or less - the bus is less than a buck. This resort is in 'New Mazatlan" - quieter and a bit more of an upscale area. We would love to come back here someday and bring our family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank murpheygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share so many helpful details about your vacation at El Rancho. We’re very glad that you enjoyed the wonderful benefits of Mazatlan – the great winter weather, and the sunsets. And of course, the unique benefits of El Rancho as well – our verdant gardens, our authentically Mexican villas, our beachfront hot tub, and our staff, among others! We’re delighted that you really enjoyed yourselves and were able to relax, and we look forward to seeing you again whenever you have the chance to come to Mazatlan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

When my husband and I had an opportunity to take a quick holiday, we did not hesitate to make El Rancho our first choice. The character and atmosphere of El Rancho is exactly what we needed. Becoming Premium Gold members at El Rancho on our last visit, we contacted reservations directly. With less than a month away from departure we were treated to efficient reservation processing and qick answers to the many questions we had.
Upon arriving at El Rancho we were not dissappointed. The staff welcomed us warmly and looked after us very well. We especially like the "private" and cozy setting of El Rancho. We come to El Rancho to escape the hustle, bustle, crowds etc. of a busy life in "the city" The gardens this visit were especially beautiful (probably due the season) lush and green, the pool and hot tub a treat and well maintained. With "night life" and the "downtown" close but far enough to away.
Having had a most enjoyable relaxing vacation made arriving home to -31 degree celcius and much snow, much more bearable.
We love El Rancho for its pleasant atmosphere and genuine character and beauty. A definite for anyone looking for a real relaxing vacation in "almost Paradise".

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WalleeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2009

Thank you for sharing your comments! We’re so glad to hear that you have now become Premium Gold members, and are taking full advantage of it! We really value all of our members, and want to continue to provide the escape that you need from the hustle and busy-ness of life for many years to come! And of course, the benefits of the beautiful Mazatlan climate are nice too!

We hope you can come and relax with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We came to El Rancho through a timeshare exchange, and were very pleased. Our son and his wife came with us, and we weren't sure how it was going to work out, because a 2 bedroom timeshare can be sort of a crap shoot, especially in Mexico. But the villa was actually just fine - not luxurious, and a little run down, but clean and bright and comfortable, and we definitely had plenty of space. The wonderful thing was the beach - warm sun, gentle waves, beautiful golden sand, and practically no people. It was great!

Mazatlan was very nice too. My wife was very pleased with the "treasures" she found while shopping, and we enjoyed a lot of great restaurants, including the one at El Rancho. Prices are definitely better than in Cabo (where we have our timeshare).

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2009

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We always enjoy having guests come through a timeshare exchange, because we love to share our unique relaxing atmosphere with members of other resorts. Of course, you don’t need to worry about space at El Rancho. We do have two complete bedrooms, with a king size bed in one and two queens in the other – no sleeper sofas or anything of the like here! And our beach is also the real thing – we’re glad that you enjoyed it!

We hope you have a chance to come to Mazatlan again - after all, it is cheaper than Cabos! We'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

My wife and I decided that we should do something really special for our 25th wedding anniversary, and some friends recommended Mazatlan as a great place to go to the beach. When we started looking on the internet, we came across El Rancho - quiet and peaceful, beautiful beach, not a lot of frills or show. We're not fancy people, so that seemed just right.

We were surprised when we arrived at how big the villas were! It was actually much more than we needed, but all that space actually gave us a sense of freedom that we don't find in a normal hotel room. It also just struck us how close everything was. We could only afford a poolside villa (maybe someday we'll come back to stay in a beachfront villa - that would be a dream!), so of course the pool was right there, but the beach and the restaurant were only 20-30 yards away! :) It was wonderful!

It did rain some during our stay, which they said is unusual - normally it only rains at night - and that did limit what we could do on some days, but there were some great sunsets afterwards, and we really enjoyed the time together for our anniversary, which was the whole point! Thank you, El Rancho!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BillE_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

Thank you for sharing your comments! We’re honored that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us, and delighted that you had a good time. We’re glad that you did appreciate the space and freedom of our villas, and also the quiet atmosphere and the closeness of everything in our resort. It’s our pleasure to serve you, and we hope you’ll be able to come back again, for a special occasion or just to get away to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

The trip was a mixture of pleasure and some concern. First the good news. The villa accommodations where very comfortable and full of Mexican flavor and decor. The grounds where well kept and beautiful, plush with floral, and bordereded by the pacific ocean and a white sand beach. Our villa was pool front and it was a pleasure sitting by the pool sharing a cup of coffee first thing in the morning. The pool was spacious, and clean, but cold. Sun sets where magnificant and the personnel was great, and most helpful. We found the city to be full of history, and enjoyed taking the bus which stopped right in front of the villa into town daily. The one thing that we did miss was a spa on the property. Now for the concerns. During our stay we where approached to purchase a time share which was okay, but since returning home have found out that follow through on the information provided pertaining to the purchase has not taken place. First we were promised that we would be contacted by a broker who was said to be interested in purchasing certain months from us, and as of this date we have not heard from any one. Prior to leaving the facility we were first told that the contract from the broker would be presented to us before we left, then were told that we would receive by federal express when we returned home. While the resort accommodations and the stay was great we now have a questionable attitude towards the persons who provided us the information, and feel as if certain things where said just to encourage the purchase. If that is the case it is unfortunate, and leaves questionable doubth about the business practices of the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank letgonow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2009

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on El Rancho. We’re very glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your villa, the beach, your patio by the pool, and of course our luscious gardens. We want El Rancho to be a special place, so we take pride in maintaining the unique flavor of our resort! And of course, our staff is glad to know that you appreciated their service.

As for your concerns relating to your purchase of a timeshare, I’m very sorry that the material took longer to arrive than expected. El Rancho is totally committed to doing business in the most upright manner, so I definitely investigated your case because if anything improper was done I wanted to get to the bottom of it. I was very thankful that you responded to my private message to confirm that you had received the material you were expecting and your doubts were resolved.

We’re delighted that you chose to vacation at El Rancho, and even more delighted that you chose to become a member, because that means we’ll get to see you many times in the years to come. Thankfully our memberships are not limited to any specific dates, so hopefully you’ll be able to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews