We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing in paradise!”
Review of Punta Pacifico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta Pacifico
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We travel quite a bit and were pretty surprised at how nice this place was. Very competitively priced for such a tourist-y area and very welcoming environment. The food in the restaurant they have is outstanding which was strange because it was very undercrowded, which was fine with us! that just means better service for us and a more intimiate setting. Service overall at the hotel was very friendly, especially Alex and Rocito who we got to know rather well over the week and were happy to accommodate whatever we needed. Overall, a really great experience that I would not mind returning to. Thanks La Jolla!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

It has only one small dull restaurant and is miles away from all the fabulas Mexican restaurants in town. It has no night life whatsoever with no way to get to fun places in town such as "Gus Gus" who have live bands and affordable drinks. A taxi ride costs an arm & a leg because it is so remote and there is nothing to do there at all. If you don't care about spending time in Mazatlan city and just want the beach, you will be disappointed. The beach sand is rocky and dark color, swimming not good at all in this area. Not a pretty beach front at all.

The timeshare salesmen are sharks who prey on American victims. They are ruthless. I was ripped off big time and regret ever walking through their door.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
14  Thank frankie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We just returned from a 3 weeks tay at Club La Jolla, we travel a bit and have totally enjoyed our stay here. We are owners in the villas at Club La Jolla and had a wonderful stay. It is very quiet so if you are looking for a party place do not stay here but if you want to read, take long walks on the beach this is it. Please also remember that you are in Mexico so things will not be like back home, but that's why you are there to experience a new culture and to relax. The staff at La Jolla was extremely friendly and very helpful from when we arrived to when we left. Thank you Edgar, Alex, Luis, Sergio, Felix, Chillo, Rocito for making our stay there great. If you do not want to be hassled by the timeshare sharks at this resort just let them know and they will not bother you. If you buy a timeshare at La Jolla, just read your contract carefully before you purchase. Although the resort is a ways from the Golden Zone, there is a shuttle from the resort that goes in 2x a day. Taxis and Pulmonias are also readily available anytime. We enjoyed some lovely restaurants such as El Presidio at Plazuela Machada (great dining experience and highly recommended) Fish Market, Diegos, Las Brujas. Pueblo Bonita is also right next door to La Jolla and just a short walk on the beach to the left of the resort. We will be back next year with our family and we are already looking forward to seeing our new friends that will also be returning and the staff at La Jolla.

Room Tip: The rooms in the villas are a little worn but the new rooms in the tower are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1nana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Unless you want a slick sleazy salesman, backed by equally shady and HOSTILE bosses, following you around the whole time don't go here! Worst experience in Mexico EVER in 30 years!

I've been a lot of places in Mexico over the years, made a lot of friends, and had a lot of fun. Not only was this the worst experience ever, you're located so far from anything it would cost you both arms and legs to see any sites.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank happytraveler5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The resort salesmen are slick and not to be trusted.
They do not honor the 5 day Mexican consumer protection law which allows you to change your mind. Before making a reservation, Google La Jolla and you will see hundreds of angry comments from people who have been cheated and scammed by La Jolla.
> The salesmen use high pressure tactics and lies to convince you to buy.
> The resort itself is unfinished, plain, dull.
> There are no amenities.
> The beach is rough sand, lots of rocks. Not good swimming.
> No bar, no hot tub, no fun

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I just got back from Residence Club La Jolla and already planning my next trip back.. My stay there was amazing.. It is a beautiful propety in a great location with lots of fun activities.. Rooms are really comfortable and clean.. The staff was very friendly and provided great customer service.. The restaurant has outstanding food.. Very relaxing and enjoyable place to be.. I will definitely come back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We just returned from 6 nights here. The good points were the close proximity to the beach from our room, unlike most of the mega resorts. This placewas small by comparison. The grounds and pool were very well done. We were in the "old section" consisting of 4 buildings with 4 units each. We were in 107, upstairs in the second building from the beach. Upper units get a lot more sun in the afternoons than the lower units. Now the not so good. The location, while serene, is at the extreme north end, next to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. We were 10K to the marina and another 10 K into the Gold Zone. You couldn't see out of two of our windows as they were so dirty. The main 5 story building is mostly unfinished but the one room the timeshare people were showing was much nicer than our building. The timeshare people occupied all the shade areas in the morning unless I got up early and occupied one of them. The restaurant only open for breakfast and lunch and the bar was minimal. The road to the resort was not paved so lots of dust.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank tomgyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
5.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#10 of 80 in Mazatlan
421 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
67 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
254 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#35 of 80 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
5.4 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#11 of 80 in Mazatlan
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pacifico

Address: Avenida Del Delfin Cerritos 110, Mazatlan 82128, Mexico (Formerly Residence Club La Jolla)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range: £32 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusivity and privacy define the atmosphere that Residence Club La Jolla offers its guests in all of its luxury suites and villas. All the rooms are elegantly decorated and have all the amenities, including marble and granite finishing, kitchenette, balcony with ocean views and LCD TV. Located in Nuevo Mazatlan, the Emerald Bay provides the majestic scenery that inspires the most beautiful sunset views from any of our 16 spacious villas and 47 luxury suites in our resort tower. The infinity pool, beautiful grounds, the exquisite international cuisine, and the warm and personal service of our staff, will make you wish that you could extend your vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing