We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very, quite hotel - relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Maria Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Maria Beach Club
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
gander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very, very, quite hotel - relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2006

We own a timeshare at this hotel and this was our first chance to use it. We stayed for 2 weeks. The pool was fantastic, very quiet hotel. Be wary of your credit card, our card was swiped and unathourized expenses placed on it.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank holly1Gander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2006

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Playa Maria Beach Club. It is a small "resort" which was what we wanted. The pool was nice and not overcrowded. However, our peaceful relaxation was often interrupted by construction noise from the adjacent property under construction as well as renovation at the Playa Maria itself.

However, our biggest complaint is with the credit card fraud we experienced. We are certain that at least one, if not more than one, employee at the Playa Maria orchestrated the fraud. There was a group of six of us (renting 3 rooms) via a timeshare exchange. The three of us who used credit cards at the Playa Maria had fraudulent credit card charges when we returned home. These charges were not over-billings from the Playa Maria, these were charges amounting to nearly $5,000 US in purchases from grocery stores, Wal-Mart, gasoline, and a tire store. According to the credit card company, this fraud is committed by swiping the credit card, generating a copy of the magnetic strip on back of the credit card, and then affixing the copy to another fake credit card. We know the source of the fraud happened at the Playa Maria because it was the only place one of the credit cards was ever used (it was given to the front desk for incidental room charges). However, beware of the restaurant at Playa Maria as well, that is where the other two cards were used.

The staff was hit and miss. Mario the bartender was excellent as was Alfonso the maintenance man. I found the hotel’s housekeeping not only to be excellent, but honest and trustworthy. On the negative side, we did get daily pressure to buy a tour or sign up for a timeshare presentation, but I guess you just have to accept that this comes with the territory. Additionally, someone in the states called the Playa Maria during our stay asking for the person to whom all three rooms were rented. The receptionist at the Playa Maria stated there was no such person at the resort. Another case of the Playa Maria either not being competent or truthful.

  • Liked — The pool and clean rooms
  • Disliked — credit card fraud
  • Tips/Secrets — Only use cash at the Playa Maria Beach Club
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Wanderlust66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at Playa Maria for our honymoon the third week of August. We are not into crowds and Playa Maria is just the place for privacy! There were only three other couples staying there when we got there and we got the pool to ourselves most of the time. It took about 35 minutes from the airport by Taxi and costed about $30. Taxis are all over the place so it's easy to find transportation to the resort. Check in was a breeze and they asked us if we wanted an ocean view. I guess since tourist season was about over when we went we were able to get some better room selections. When we got to our room I was amazed! We had an ocean front view.... BEAUTIFUL! The room only had two full size beds... not ideal for two adults to sleep in but we made do with what we had. The pool is one of the prettiest I've ever had the opportunity to swim in. It is one of the only pools in Mazatlan like it.... the pool is OCEAN FRONT. My husband and I just sat in the pool and sat at the edge closest to the water and watched waves roll in for FIVE hours straight one day. It was sooo relaxing to lay on the pool deck and listen and watch the waves. No crowds and no paths and trails to get to the ocean... Literally the pool is hugging the ocean. Amazing! The pool bar was awesome. During happy hour you get two for one drinks. So we'd make sure we'd watch the sunset and take our drinks out there with us. When the pool bar closes the retaurant is still open and Oscar (the waiter) will bring you your food and drinks to you until they close. You want dinner on pool deck NO PROBLEMO!
The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The condo was clean and the grounds were breathtaking. We had maid service everyday to clean up the condo which was very nice. The location is not located in the hustle and buslte of the golden zone but within a five minute bus ride you are in the golden zone! The restaurant was delicious and the salsa is some of the best I've ever had.
It was a dream honeymoon and exceeded all of my expectations. The location, people, food, drinks, atmosphere and condo's were all amazing. We had no problems. My husband and I would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to unwind and relax.

  • Liked — We loved the location and the ocean front pool. The staff were so helpful and friendly too.
  • Disliked — Nothing! We enjoyed everything about our stay.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go during the off season. The last two weeks in August is when their off season starts. It is also Mazatlan's hottest month and we learned that when we got there. But it was also slow and prices for activities and food were reduced. No crowds
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nilita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

We went to check this resort out. They are not wheelchair accessible. The grounds are not accessible and there is an unsafe ramp at the entrance. They had to push our wheelchair up a very steep and long ramp which was difficult to even walk on. The person pushing me lost their footing and I was in trouble. The wheelchair went out of control due to the steepness and slipperyness. The wheelchair came a hair away from tumbling over and I was a hair away from falling straight forwad out of my wheelchair face first down this concrete ramp. I injured my shoulder as the wheelchair hit the side of the wall and I slid down the entire length with my shoulder scraping against the wall. After that ordeal they had the nerve to refuse to show us the property, attempted to disappear and keep the deposit that they had taken from us. My wife made it very clear that we would not just go away, that we were not afraid to go right into the presentation area and let everyone know what had just taken place. After polite insistance they finally gave us our money back. They will act like they do not know who you are, why you are there and as though they are not even associated with the timeshare game. Be careful and assertive!! We bought a full time ownership elsewhere.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank freewheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2006

I just arrived home from Mazatlan with my parents and I loved the resort we stayed at. The resort: Playa Maria Beach Club was so relaxing and comfortable. It is right of the beach and each morning you wake up to the soft echoes of the tides washing upon the beach. The rooms provided plenty of space for us and we had five people. Air conditioning cooled us off after a day in the sun. Thats just the beginning. The people there are so nice. They are wonderful. It is almost like being treated like roalty. From Hernardo the bartender to Oscar of the resturaunt you will be more than satisfied with the service they provide for you. If you plan a trip to Mazatlan be sure to book you stay for Playa Maria. It is a treat and a wonderful expierience. (^_^)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

Don't stay here. We are in Mazatlan now and have just been there. They are rude and a guy there ripped of off. They set up tours here all the time. He had us give a 40.00 U.S. deposit . Don't ever give them money. He took it and the hotel told us that this was our problem. He is an employee of theirs and they know that this is happening. They just told us it is of no concern to them.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2006

What a find! A small intimate hideaway with all the amenities of a large resort, and without the hassles. The accomodations are spic and span clean. The pool and beach aren't overun with screaming children or pesky vendors and it's an easy busride (or cab, but really no reason to spend the extra money) to anywhere in Mazatlan. We enjoyed the incredible sunsets from our private patio, and some nights shared the time with other very nice guests at the pool side bar. If you need anything, the friendly and accomodating staff will go out of their ways to make sure your requests are met. After staying there a few days we ventured out and toured some of the larger resorts and it just confirmed we did the right thing staying at Playa Maria. When in Mazatlan, the Playa Maria is perfectamundo.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
6.1 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#14 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#28 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#50 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#42 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quijote Inn
Quijote Inn
#70 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maria Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maria Beach Club

Property: Playa Maria Beach Club
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos No 1, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Maria Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Playa Maria Beach Hotel
Playa Maria Beach Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing