We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home with a Mexican flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Posada Freeman
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Felt like home with a Mexican flair”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The wonderful staff made us feel really welcome and at home. Our Expedia reservation had not come in when we checked in, but Isaac at the front desk didn't bat an eyelash and put us in one of the best rooms in the house, on the 8th floor. We had an ocean view room and enjoyed sunsets and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach, but since we were so high up, we could hear very little street noise. There is a nice balcony with chairs to enjoy the sun or you can go to the rooftop pool.

As others have said, the buffet breakfasts are very good and Roberto and crew will order you an omelet or French toast if you like. The beds are firm but better than in other Mexican hotels. The rooms are clean, bright, and spacious, and the maid service is thorough and efficient. Note that there is no toaster or microwave in the room as on one of the websites. But there is a coffeemaker, hair dryer, safe, TV with a dozen or so English channels, and free wifi. The elevator is interesting but you get used to it, and as far as I am concerned, it is quite safe.

This hotel is not a five-star all inclusive, and that's not what we wanted. It is a budget hotel that offers a Mexican feel with English-speaking North American service. It's in the heart of the Old Town, and literally dozens of restaurants are nearby, offering Mexican, American, Sushi, pizza, coffee, the works. There's a bike rental nearby so you can ride up the Malecon to Valentino's, about an hour ride each way. It's a 10 minute walk to the ferry to Stone Island, or to the Plazuela Machado. Frequent bus service can get you to Mega or El Cid if you so desire. I'm definitely going back.

Room Tip: Book an oceanside room on the 7th or 8th floor to be above street noise but still able to hear the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyshful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
44
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We felt as though we were experiencing life among Mexicans instead of other tourists during our stay. Our balcony faced the ocean and the seawall where every morning we saw people going to work, taking their kids to school and walking their dogs. Delicious buffet breakfast included. Our waiter offered us choices not on the buffet. Clean rooms and gracious hotel staff. Lots of good restaurant choices nearby. Walking distance to Plaza Machado. All for under $100 C per night!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We were on a driving trip from Oregon to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, and decided to take a break from the driving by spending three nights in Mazatlan. After a previous stay, we knew we preferred to stay near the historic town center instead of the touristy Golden Zone. And because we had our car, we wanted a place with off-street parking. After an online search, we chose the Freeman, which is right across the street from the beach at Olas Altas. We were so happy with our choice!

We got a room with two comfy double beds with a partial ocean view. It was very clean, and had an armoire for hanging clothes, a safe, a desk, a nice bath with beautiful vintage Mexican tiles and a hair dryer. The very reasonable price of the room included an AMAZING Mexican breakfast buffet that included eggs with ham, chilaquiles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, beans, salsas, fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, etc. The servers even offered to make custom omlets. It was quite a morning feast, and the servers were fun and personable.

The hotel was built in the 1940s and retains the old word elegance with beautiful artistic touches. The painting on the domed ceiling in the lobby is gorgeous. Also, the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the area, and the 10th floor rooftop deck/bar offers perhaps the most stunning sunset views in the city.

A word of caution: We laughingly referred to the hotel elevator as "Lurch" because it made some weird sounds and sometimes shook a bit. But it was perfectly safe, and we felt comfortable after the first ride.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurielizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great value for the price! Very good service, nice and full buffet breakfast, on site parking, wi fi, ocean view rooms, roof top pool and bar with happy hour, beach across the street and nice restaurants within walking distance as well as a liquor store :)

Room Tip: Get ocean view and higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Professional service, room with a view, great value for the price. A very nice full buffet breakfast is included which included everything from fruits, mexican dishes and traditional American choices.
The hotel has an upscale feel to it and we will definitely be back.
Great on sauté parking.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 4 or 5 closest to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh and Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazatland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

when in mazatland a must see is the freeman hotel.The view of mazatland is immpressive.The pool up top is wonderfull and the whole feel of the hotel with its rich history and charm are a must see.friendly staff and bar tender. food ok better resturants down the street .nice beach out frount but watch the undertow .

Room Tip: ocean view or old city view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigchinook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I am here at this facility right now and must say I am impressed wit the rooms. For the price it is nice with a great view of the ocean. The food for the free breakfast is not good however. There are some very good restaurants close by to fit the breakfast need but the hotel ois clean and the beds are nice. They need to get rid of these small old televisions though. Will stay here for my trips to Mazatlan in the future..... TIP THE MAIDS!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
2.5 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#38 of 79 in Mazatlan
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 79 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 79 in Mazatlan
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 79 in Mazatlan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Posada Freeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Posada Freeman

Property: Best Western Posada Freeman
Address: Olas Altas #79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Posada Freeman 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Posada Freeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing