We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Experience!”
Review of The Jonathon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jonathon
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and Experience!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Jonathon during our recent trip to Mazatlan. It was a lovely and enjoyable experience! The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They all spoke english so there weren't any communication issues. Mostly, I was very happy because they all entertained my millions of silly questions with a smile! We got 2 standard rooms, both which could comfortably accomodate 2 people. It felt very posh and luxurious with its modern and contemporary decor. Everything was very clean and you can tell there was a keen attention by the staff to maintain the cleanliness and upscale nature of the hotel. Also, after a long day out, the bed was just heavenly! We dined at the Lauren restaurant (in the hotel) one of the nights, and the meal was good - but definitely with an American twist. But after being out in the sun all day, we really enjoyed hanging out up on the terrace bar looking out over the city. The restaurant and bar seem to be popular with the locals, which adds tons of credibility to the experience.

My most favorite part of the hotel was its location! While most visitors to MZT likely stay in the Zona Dorada, we actually were much happier staying in the Old City. During the day, we'd grab a pulmonia (little golf cart taxi thing unique to mazatlan!) or walk the long walk up (3-4 miles in total, but flat and easy walk) the malecon (boardwalk along the coast) and head to the beaches in the gold zone (fact: the beaches are gorg in the north). However, the BEST part was leaving the vegas lights and spring break/senor frog crowds in the gold zone and heading back to the old city to experience some real Mexican/Mazatlan culture. The Plaza Machada was beautiful with tons of al fresco dining, and locals attending shows at the Angela Peralta theater or just sitting on a bench and people watching. It is a very warm and welcoming area and we always felt safe and secure, even when returning to the hotel after a late night out.

Highly recommend and if I visit again, I'd definitely stay at the Jonathon again!

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper - on Fri and Sat night, the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

One of my favorite places in Mazatlan Mexico is Machodo (probably spelled wrong) It is like being in Europe. This is just off Old Mazatlan where the market is. It is a big square with restaurants all around. Just off the square is a brand new building that is really kind of art deco. This is a boutique Hotel with a rooftop lounge. The restaurant in the Hotel is called Laurens. It had one of the better meals that we enjoyed during our stay. This location isn't on the ocean but we found ourselves coming here most at night. You can always spend your days at the Malecon or on the beach. If you like little boutique hotels in great little corners of interest this is it. Prices are fair

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was initially concerned about staying at the Jonathan because there weren't any reviews when I booked the trip, but I decided to take a chance because the rates were good. I am so glad that I did! First, the neighborhood was ideal; right in the heart of Old Town and away from the tourist traps and neon lights I despise. The Jonathan is right across from the theatre and maybe 30 meters from Machado Square. The rooms are small and the furnature sparse, but the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom, especially the shower, was delightful. The pictures are an accurate reflection of the layout though. I do have a couple of issues with the Jonathan however. First, the "pool" isn't a pool as much as it is a fountain without shooting water :) I expected honestly to see coins in the bottom! Next, there are no amenities to speak of (i.e. hot tub, fitness equip, business center, etc), but I didn't come to Mazatlan for that and if you're like me and use a hotel for sleep and down time, then this place is perfect! The marina to Stone Island is close, museums and great restaurants are easily within walking distance, the shopping is epic (real boutiques with local artist's work, and 3 blocks from the beach! The hotel's restaurant, The Lauren, was fabulous. We had breakfast there most mornings, and their staff, too, was wonderful. A couple of things to mention: Old Town in the evenings is noisy, so bring some earplugs if you like to crash early, and (2) there's no parking. Overall, I loved the hotel!

Some tips: (1) Eat at Topolo and Pauline's. They are each very close. (2) Have a taxi take you to the top of that hill next to the old town beach. The views are incredible. (3) Go to Stone Island and rent 4 wheelers. (5) Go to the Central Market

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to one of the suites. They're MUCH larger and have actual furnature (other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tjkreitlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I planned my wife birthday at the Jonathon. The manger Raymond and his staff were outstanding in every way. The Cheif Sam made her day very special with a great dinner and birthday cake. We stayed in there master suite and they way they did the room with rose peddles and candles was just some of the small details they did . Thank you to all
at the Jonathon hotel.
Great time and a great sleep.
Randy & Fernanda

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtimes2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#37 of 79 in Mazatlan
26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#27 of 79 in Mazatlan
62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Mazatlan
Sleep Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 79 in Mazatlan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Centro Historico
The Inn at Centro Historico
#42 of 79 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
2.3 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#38 of 79 in Mazatlan
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Posada Freeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jonathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jonathon

Property: The Jonathon
Address: Calle Carnaval 1205, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jonathon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Jonathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing