We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo.... Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid Granada Country Club
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Stayed at the El Cid Granada because the rates were a little cheaper than at the other El Cid hotels because there were 5 of us travelling and budget was a little tight. Do not regret it at all!!!! We had 3 children with us ranging from age 5 to 19 and were given adjoining rooms near the front of the hotel. On Saturday night it was somewhat noisy from the Senor Frogs disco across the street and couldn't sleep so when we mentioned it to the front desk they gave us a choice of other rooms(let us check them out first) and moved us to a sutie farther away where it was quiet. Everyday we had walked across the skywalk to the larger hotel complex and would spend most of our day by the pool or on the beach. Then later in the afternoon when we had all had enough it was really nice to go back to our quiet hotel and swim and sit by the pool. Also the pool at the Granada is kept a lot warmer than the other pools (I think because it is generally a little older crowd staying at the Granada). The food was great at all the a la'carte restaurants, but I would skip the buffets as they were not very good. The Granada is a lot smaller but quieter and the staff couldn't have been better. On the day of our departure our flight was to leave earlier than planned and so our shuttle got bumped up. The front desk staff called our rooms but we were not in them, but because they knew who we were by name as soon as we walked through the lobby that morning they stopped us to let us know(don't think that would have happened at the larger hotel). The Granada's restaurant, El Patio, was one of the best and ate there a couple of times. We had the most amazing waiter ever! His name was Ricardo and he was an amazingly good and made sure our evening was just perfect, right from suggestions to cutting our 5 year olds steak for him. I have never had better service anywhere in life!! The rooms were quite spacious, but in some need of updating. Everything was always very clean, right from the rooms to the hallways to the public washrooms. Everywhere you went they were always, always cleaning. If you are young and want to be where the action is or are terribly picky about your rooms then this is not the place for you - I would recommend staying at the Castilla. But if you are just there to relax and actually sleep at night then this might be for you. The only compaint about the whole experience was the aggressive vendors on the beach in front of the El Cid, it made it almost impossible to relax when you went down to the beach as every 2 minutes someone was coming by your chair trying to peddle something. Overall we had an awesome time and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuKayJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2010

Dear LukayJo

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feeback about your stay at El Cid Granada Country Club. We cannot begin to explain how happy we are to hear about your great experience in Mazatlan and at El Cid Resots. We strive to provide the best customer service that we can.
In addition to the upgrades you have already seen, we are continuing the process of renovating the rooms and hotel even further.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience with our staff and restaurant El Patio, and would love for you to stay with us again the next time you visit Mazatlan.

Kind regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

My husband and I had never been to Mexico before this trip. The El Cid Granada was a great deal and is joined to the other El Cid resorts, which you can use as part of the all inclusive package. The restaurants were great, especially the Italian and the Patio. Great service from all the staff, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and had a firm but comfortable kind size bed. The trips you can go on are excellent, we recomend going on a couple for sure. The beach is nice and the pools are great! The pool at the El Cid Granada was very warm and nice and private. We stayed for 7 days, but we would have liked to say for at least 10 because there is so much to do and see. Very good resorts!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2009

Dear LTESK

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Indeed we strive to maintain the highest service standards at our hotel. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in the city and look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future. We always have specials available on our website that may work well with your future travel plans to Mazatlan!

Best wishes for 2010!

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed at the El Cid Granada in Dec. 09 with friends. The trip was a spur of the moment due to the great travel price found, so we weren't sure what all to expect. Overall, the resort was good. You can tell it's a bit older than the other El Cid resorts in the area. The rooms were clean. The A/C was a bit to be desired - loud in the rooms and didnt quite get overly cold in the room. When told to the front desk, nothing was done about it, but we didn't truly suffer so we werent too worried about it. We did the All Inclusive portion, our 1st try at that type of holiday. Not sure it was worth the extra $$. The food was so/so in the resort and we found it tough to know which restaurants were included in the all-inclusive, as not all were included. As we were with friends who didnt go the all inclusive route, we found places off site to eat that were much better - nice to see the area and see the sights instead of staying at the resort only. The Prime Rib restaurant at the clubhouse where we had to pay an extra $20/pp cover charge was not good at all. The service was slow, even though we were practically the only ones in there. The food wasnt all that great, for the price we paid. We took advantage of golfing, through a member, and all who golfed said it was great and the caddies were friendly and personable. If any complaints it was definitely on the internet access and the food quality. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Having access to the hotel across the street where the much better pools and access to the ocean were was good. We spoke with a few other guests who said they upgraded to the resort closer, would have been nice to be given that option, as it is closer to some of the facilities. Also, the time share pressure to attend the welcome breakfast was a bit much. As we were only there a week we didnt want to waste the time. All in all, if you are looking for something comfortable, clean and not too far from the beach, I'd choose this resort and maybe look into the upgrade.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCole07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2009

Dear JCole07

We kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to detail your experience about the services rendered in El Cid Granada Country Club. From the various people worldwide who have visited us, we have heard nothing but rave reviews on the delicious food, varied buffets, comfortable rooms, gracious hosts, hospitable staff, and excellent service.

It was very pleasing to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however I would like to extend to you my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result of our food and service shortfalls.We have taken good note of your comments. Please be assured that your feedback has been discussed with our management and service teams so that we may take the steps necessary to improve ourselves in this area.

With comments of guest like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

Happy Holidays

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The El Cid Granada is a wonderful resort for the price you can get it for. I can't believe the deals you can find for it. You have access to the other resort on the beach but you pay less because it's across the street. It is really only a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the beach. We've stayed in bigger resorts that were beachfront and been further from the beach.

We've been travelling for 23 years and we seldom go to the same resort twice but even before we left we were making plans to go back. We've booked again for January and this is the 1st time our kids are really excited about going on winter holidays.

Food: We were all inclusive for 2 weeks and in all that time there was only 1 meal that we didn't enjoy. With all the restaurants that are included you have a great variety to chose from. It's also nice to have the choice of buffets or a la cartes for all meals. We had our 6 & 11 year old with us and they always enjoyed the variety of choices for their meals. It's also great that at the Castilla that they have food right at the swim up bar. It's a little confusing at first to figure out which restaurant is included in the AI but they give you a pamplet that is handy to keep with you for the 1st few days.

Rooms: We had a 1 bedroom unit and it was wonderful. They are really great if travelling as a family. They have a kitchenette which is handy if you need to keep things cold in the room. They have in room safes which is great. The kids each had their own double bed which is wonderful. The rooms are always kept clean. They are also really quiet, you can't hear your neighbours.

Entertainment: The activities staff are really good at getting people involved. We've been to many resorts were they only try and get the 20 somethings involved but at the El Cids they get everyone involved, from young to old. They always have something going on around the pool from volleyball to bowling to bingo and bartendering class. The evening entertainment was also great. We were there for 2 weeks and hardly ever missed it. They do a variety of shows and all are entertaining.

Pools: They have a pool for everyones taste. The pool at the Granada is very laid back and quiet, the ones at the Castilla are usually were the activities are. They even have water slides at the Moro which the kids loved.

Kids Club: Our kids loved the kids club. Brianda & Leity were great at keeping the kids entertained. They loved going there to do crafts or play a few video games. They even take them to the beach to build sandcastles & soccer. They really enjoyed going to see the turtles and releasing them in the ocean. It was the highlight for our 6 years old. It's great that the kids club is open late so if the kids don't want to watch the evening entertainment they are just across the hall. You can also have private babysitting in the room for a price.

Bar: The only really problem with the Granada is in the evening you have to go across the bridge to the Castilla for a drink. The service is excellent from the waiters. We've been to 5* resorts and have not had the bar service that the El Cid gives. You even get service at the beach! Even if you are All inclusive they come around constantly checking to see if you need anything. They also make great drinks.

Location: The El Cid is in a great location, you are a 5 minute walk to shopping. It's great being able to take a nice walk on the beach and come back on the road and do some shopping on the way back. It's great if you want to drop your kids off for a few hours at the kids club and have shopping right out the door. If you're not AI there also is a lot of restaurants within walking distance.

Customer service; The staff at the El Cids is the best we've ever had. If you have a complaint just go and talk to the managers they'll do their best to fix the problems. Daniel at the Granada will try to help you with any problems that you may have.
I've been on trip advisor for years and have never seen a manager respond to reviews like Mr. McKay does. We met him while we were there and he really is as nice and helpful as he seems here. We've been to many higher * resorts and have never had the customer service that they provide.
My husband let them know that it was my birthday while we were there and they really made it special. They decorated my room with balloons and had a cake for me in the room. We usually go on holidays around my birthday and this was the biggest deal ever made for it. I loved it so much that we are heading back for my next birthday.

Timesharks: They really aren't that bad. If you're not interested just say no thank you and walk away. If that doesn't work just say that you leave tomorrow.

Beach: This is a beautiful beach for walking, nice packed sand. The water is shallow. We never had a problem going to the beach anytime of the day and getting a beach chair. It's handy having the vendors there but if you buy from one they'll start bothering you. You just have to keep saying No Gracias .

We can't wait to get back to this wonderful resort and make more great memories!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday-pinettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2009

Dear holiday-pinettes

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at El Cid Granada Country Club.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Guests' reviews are very important to us: they help us to understand guests' needs. We learn where our services are appropriate and appreciated, and also where we can make improvements.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to El Cid Granada during your future stays in Mazatlan.

Warmest regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I recently spent three weeks in Mazatlan, Mx., at the El Cid Granada Country Club, which turned out to be a refueling for what was to come. I try to visit the El Cid Granada twice a year and this time was a exceptional. The staff greeted me as if one of the family had come to visit, included a great room, and offering of all the services they have. This type of service continued for the next three weeks of my stay. I'll be back in April. Shotese

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoteze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2009

Dear Shoteze

Thank You for your recent positive review. I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. I shall pass your positive comments on to our staff, who no doubt will be delighted to hear of them.

We are always interested in hearing from our guests. Through each comment we receive both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our business and leisure travellers.

Looking forward to your return already.

Happy Holidays

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We just returned from a terrific vacation in Mazatlan in March 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the Granada! Check-in was easy and friendly, and the staff at the Granada were wonderful including the front desk staff and the El Patio wait staff (Ricardo and the wonderful older gentleman who always poured our coffee with a smile). Information was given about time shares at this resort but there was no pressure to attend. New friends that we had met during our stay did buy into the time shares and we were able to see their beautiful set of rooms. We had the choice of 3 pools to choose from and made sure that we visited all of them as much as we could. There is also a lane pool at the fitness centre. I tried the water aerobics most days and found that they were fun and my arms got a great work out. Boogie boarding was also a blast and the beaches had beautiful, plentiful sand and surf. The whole resort was immaculate and the washrooms by the pools were always being cleaned. Thanks to the wonderful staff at the kid's club (Leticia "Lety", Brianda and Roxanna) who worked tirelessly to entertain the children from 10 am-10pm, and thanks also to the performers in the nightly shows who worked hard to entertain all of the vacationers. I enjoyed the food at El Cid and especially liked our ability to eat at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants. It is recommended that you make reservations for the a la carte places as soon as you arrive to ensure that there is space for you. Most breakfasts were enjoyed at El Patio where cactus juice is a must and there are lots of dishes to choose from. Lunch was always enjoyed at the Alhambra on the beach where fresh seafood and a large variety of foods were available. Thanks to Adrian for making us feel like family whenever we arrived. We also enjoyed all of the a la cart restaurants; choose beer or mixed drinks over the wine. The lobby bar was a great place to meet up with new friends over a drink and a game of pool; children welcome. Most of our days were spent at the Castilla but it was always wonderful to retire back to the intimate surroundings of the Granada-safe, warm and friendly. Thanks for a terrific time! Although I would like to see other parts of Mexico, I would gladly return to the Granada at the El Cid and will tell my friends about this trip. Be prepared for a crazy cab ride to the airport!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzyVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2009

Dear jazzyVancouver BC

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with your feedback, we are so glad to know your visits have been enjoyable and keep you coming back to stay with us. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Thank you also for the positive comments about the location, cleanliness and quality & variety of food. It is unfortunate that all of our guests are not able to post their experiences, like you did. We appreciate the compliments to our staff about their attentiveness to your needs.

Our team is here to accommodate whatever we need to and I'm happy that Ricardo, Leticia, Brianda and Roxanna assisted you in any way they can. We take pride in our hotel and our associates and are delighted to see that reflected in your stay.

Should your travel ever bring you back to Mazatlan we do hope you will stay with us again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for further assistance or if you would like to make a reservation.

Warm regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We went to Mazatlan in March,09,there was 8 of us all together-3 adults and 5 teenagers.All of us had the greatest time. We we were booked to stay at the Granada thru an all inclusive offer at a travel agency. I had read alot of the reviews before our trip so I knew what to expect.The Granada is a part of the El Cid resorts, it is the oldest of the hotels(located across the street from the 2 larger hotels) but with the all inclusive you have access to the all the facilities/pool of the Castilla and the Moro hotels.(you also can take a shuttle to use the pool at The Marina hotel,which we didn't get a chance to use) It was easy to check in and get ourselves situated in our rooms,the staff is very nice. A timeshare staf Lupita gave us some info and money saving coupons for attending a time share presentation( tere was 8 of us!!!!)We really appreciated the free tours we received.If you are just wanting the free gift and not interested in the timeshare presentation just don't ask any questions and you'll be out of there faster(with gift in hand!) We repected that they have a job to do,I didn't mind them at all. Lupita was wonderful and very sweet every time she saw us. The food at the El patio was excellent, our regular waiter Ricardo made us feel like family from the first visit.We all loved the omelettes every morning,also the hashbrowns, make sure you try the cactus juice,it's excellent!! CUDOS TO THE CHEF11 .The service at this hotel was the best we've received anywhere,largely because everyone was genuine. The only thing that I can suggest to mgmt to improve this hotel would be to increase the lighting at the check in to brighten the area, and to update the washrooms(floor and tiles) they are outdated,but the rooms were so clean!!After 4 days I did ask Daniel(manager) for an upgrade(only for a change and hoping for an oceanview room)He was great in helping us.I was really impressed because he even called after we got to the Moro hotel to see if everything was ok. Great people!!!The venders at the beach are very persistent but again we chatted with them and didn't mind them at all,thy are just trying to make a living,and they were very nice.The atmosphere at this hotel was great for family.There were all agegroups. The hotel at the Granada was great if you wanted a more quit area to read etc. Make sure that you make you dinner reservations days in advance,they do gat booked up fast. I booked ours as soon as we got there for the week. We really enjoyed the buffet at the Pergola (no res required) The shows were awesome,the Mexican Fiesta show on the first night was the best!!!! We had dinner 2 nights at the Alcazar restaurant, the canneloni there was awesome,also the salmon looked good too,excellent food!! This was our first trip to Mexico,I was very worried about the news coverage I saw on CNN-but our worry was needless, everything at the resort was great.We do want to see other places in Mexico but I know we'll be back to stay at the El cid resorts soon in Mazatlan. Thank you all for a great time. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Granada Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2009

Dear jazSurrey

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Such pleasant reading in regards to your recent experience. It is comments such as yours that prove our attention to detail, service and reputation live up to our guest’s expectations, as well as that of El Cid Resorts, its management and staff. We know that people rely on reviews when choosing their hotel accommodations and we appreciate all of the reviews that our guests post.

I am pleased to learn that the genuine friendliness and caring of our staffs have made your stay so special. I have shared it with the team so everyone concerned can appreciate it.

Appreciate your comments regarding the look of the rooms - we do consider a refresher of some sort to the bathrooms at some stage this year. The progress of the refurbishment is going quite well. I can envision that they will look great once completed.

El Cid Granada Country Club and its employees are honored to be your hotel of choice on your return trips to Mazatlan. We will see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,909 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#16 of 80 in Mazatlan
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid Granada Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Granada Country Club

Address: Av Camaron Sabalo S/N | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £54 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cid Granada Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty, warmth and tranquility of Mazatlan and experience "Real Mexico" at our welcoming El Cid Granada Country Club. This intimate Mexican-style retreat offers the idyllic blend of pleasure and relaxation making it the ideal hideaway in the heart of the convenient and highly popular Golden Zone.Only steps away from world-class golf, spa and tennis facilities along with the sun-splashed restaurants, beach, and pools of El Cid Castilla Beach, just a stroll away. • Ideal for seniors and guests seeking solitude • Secluded area for relaxing, reading and sunbathing • Garden courtyard swimming pool • Easy access to El Cid Castilla Beach facilities and beach via sky bridge • In walking distance from El Cid Golf and Country Club offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center and access to restaurants, including the Prime Grill restaurant, Sushi Bar and Villa Italia. • European & All-Inclusive Plans • Inviting El Patio restaurant serving delicious Argentinean cuisine • WIFI Internet Access • Pronatours Tour Desk at nearby El Cid hotels • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid Granada Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Granada Country Club Hotel Mazatlan
El Cid Granada Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing