We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Leyendas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Leyendas
Ranked #2 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa de Leyendas. It is located in the quaint old town area of Mazatlan quite a ways from the high rises/more touristy area in what they call the Gold Coast. There are many restaurants within a couple of blocks and the beach is also a block away. There is a wonderful boardwalk that runs along the ocean and there are always many people, both locals and visitors, strolling and viewing the ocean, especially at sunset. It seemed very safe.

The hotel itself and the hosts were wonderful. The whole place was very very clean, beautifully decorated and well equipped. There are a couple of areas, both in and outdoors, to lounge, read a book, sit and chat. It felt very homey. Sharon and Glenn could not have been more helpful and personable. They are American so obviously it was nice for us as we do not speak much Spanish. We stayed in room 6 which is in the back and overlooked the courtyard patio area. It was nicely decorated, comfortable king bed, and very nice large bathroom. For breakfast, which was included, we got to choose from about 10 items off their menu- there were a number of egg dishes with maybe sausage or bacon, yogurt, fruit plates, muffin, juice, etc. I think it changed slightly each day. Self serve coffee was also included. I wouldn't say it was a large breakfast, especially by American standards, but was certainly adequate.

A restaurant named McCaws is in front/attached to the hotel. It is owned and run by Sharon and Glenn also. It seems to be a local gathering spot for the Canadian and American snowbird locals in the area. We had the fishfry on Friday night and it was quite good. It is a nice place to sit outside and have a beer. The one thing I should mention is that it does get quite noisy and loud on the weekend nights. They had a band which played some fun loud music on Friday and Saturday. There really is no way to block the sound so if you need to get to sleep I think it would be a really really good idea to bring ear plugs.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the cookie cutter resort hotel scene.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSstpmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
149
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I spent several days in Mazatlan in January and stayed at this casa. Our room was quiet despite being so close to the historical downtown centre. Glen and Sharon were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the inner courtyard was lovely and the room was comfortable with a lot of thought given to details that make the traveller's experience a pleasure.
We loved the location near the historical center and not far from the ferry to Stone Island beaches. Would definitely stay again.

Rick and Jayne

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Once again Glenn and Sharon have set the standard for hospitality. We spent a wonderful week here enjoying the sun, the artisans at the plazas, and the fabulous cooking of their staff. Their aguacate rellenno (stuffed avocado) is scrumptious! We will be back soon.

Room Tip: There is some noise from a nearby restaurant on weekend nights but not bad. All of the rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our sixth trip to Mazatlan and Casa Leyendes is my favorite place of all. We love being near shopping, restaurants the beach and more. The bistro downstairs is a popular local hangout with live music on Fridays. The food is great. The rooms are very clean and the building is very well maintained. I plan to stay a few nights every time I come to Mazatlan to compliment the timeshare we have; Casa de Leyendes is much more of an authentic Mexican experience. The owners and staff are very accommodating to their guests.

Oh, the bed is soooo comfortable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with different themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okmulgee, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed with Sharon and Glen for two days before going to Emerald Bay for seven. They were so helpful and walking distance to do all your shopping. We go to Mazatlan every year. Will stay again and for a longer stay.... Excellent rooms clean and cool,,,,good food and excellent bar helpful for finding your way around.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flexer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This place is great! Loved it and the owners, Sharon and Glenn are so helpful and have made an amazing place, the bar/restaurant is great as well! Would stay again for sure! I only rated the place as not terrific on the criteria given as they have no fitness center or kids activities, it's not that they are bad-you can take the kids to the beach or rent a bike, etc, walk on the Malecon for fitness.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ligren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My boyfriend and i just stayed here on our way to and from the border to legalize my truck. Everything about this B and B was great. The building is beautifully renovated. Rooms are large and comfy and spotlessly clean. Linens were all cotton. Food was delicious, my boyfriend claimed best eggs benedict ever. And the location is great. Two doors from the malecon and beach and right in the middle or the centro historico which is full of great restaurants and galleries and beautiful architecture. Glen and his staff were extremely nice and went out of there way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganesha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#16 of 81 in Mazatlan
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#15 of 81 in Mazatlan
136 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 81 in Mazatlan
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 81 in Mazatlan
1,709 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leyendas

Property: Casa de Leyendas
Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza # 4 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Leyendas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leyendas is a totally refurbished 8,000 square foot hacienda bed & breakfast with over 2,000 square feet of additional outside terrazzo space. Located in the heart of the central historic district and only 200 feet from the ocean, this casa feels like home away from home. Experience the past and enjoy the present. History, culture, arts and music surround this magnificent bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Leyendas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing