We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Great Beach, Older Buildings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Great Beach, Older Buildings”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Let me start by saying that we are Mayan Palace owners and have been to most of the Mayan Palace locations. We are satisfied with our timeshare purchase because, when we go, we know it will be a high quality resort. We started out with the AI (all-inclusive) experience and it just didn't suit us. Understand that Mayan Palace needs to sell timeshares to keep growing. If you aren't interested, say no to all presentations. The sales people will give misleading information. Just ask to see, in print, everything they tell you. If they refuse, walk away. As owners, they give us the best rooms. Ours had a pool/ocean view. It was certainly large enough for the two of us however we used the second bedroom as a closet. It would be an OK bedroom for young children but too cramped for adults. The maid service was great however we tip $5 every day. Amazing what that does for service!
I read extensively about Mazatlan before the trip and it didn't disappoint. It is a great city with a mix of tourism and real working industry. We rode the bus everywhere and had no worries about safety. Many good restaurants in particular Casa Country and Pedro y Lola in the old city. We spent the second of our two weeks in the new Mayan Regency building at the same location. The master suite was huge for the two of us - almost too large, like the Grand Mayan. We would certainly go back to the Sea Garden, just have to understand that it is older than other Mayan's but is as clean and perhaps more cozy.

  • Liked — Beautiful, well-kept grounds, pool, beach.
  • Disliked — Room was a little dated but still quite comfortable. Not a complaint.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ballroomgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    117
    79
    50
    61
See reviews for
170
90
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My cousin and I just returned from a week at the Mayan Sea Garden. We booked thru RCI. After reading the reviews on this site I wasn't sure what to expect. I had prearranged shuttle service thru the resort to pick us up at the airport and they were there waiting for us. The Sea Garden was not a brand new resort but still very nice and comfortable. The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. The pool area was large with plenty of lounge chairs around the pool. We had a one bedroom suite with a partial kitchen in the Coral Building. I brought a small electric tea kettle and my own tea bags and was glad I did. They provide a coffee maker but no coffee. My cousin brought her own coffe from home. We also brought from home instant hot cereal, microwave popcorn for the room, and granola bars to put in our purse for downtown and on the airplane. The onsite market is very small and does not have a large selection. We made a trip to the Mega supermarket (Mexican Superstore) for a few items like fresh fruit, pastries and bererages. Bus down, pulmonia back. The room was a bit small but comfortable. We did not have any problems with anything in our room. The balcony was small as well but the pool/ocean view was lovely. The resort staff were all friendly and worked hard to maintain the grounds and the buildings. Ask them about places to eat and shop. The pulmonias (open air taxis--looks like a large golf cart) are everywhere, so there is no problem getting transportation. We opted to take the city bus which stops right outside the resort. The white bus is 6 pesos (60 cents) and the green bus is 8 pesos (80 cents) and is very easy and safe to take. Yes, there are vendors and timeshare sharks everywhere. Just say a firm No Gracias and keep walking, no eye contact! Just like anywhere, you get more flies with honey than with vinegar. If you act stuck up and look down your nose at people you are not going to get as good service. If you are friendly and try to learn a little of the language the Mexican people will bend over backwards for you. The resort automatically adds a 15% tip on any food item you buy, even a can of coke. That saved us the hassel of trying to figure out what a fair tip was. Don't be afraid to negotiate when buying things. Cut the price to just below half so it leaves you some room to meet the vendor in the middle. Alot of the silver jewlery sold on the beach or in outdoor markets is only silver plated even though they tell you it is real silver. It was my first time in Mexico and I really enjoyed it. How much you enjoy your vacation depends on you. For 2 women travellilng alone we took the usual precautions and we felt safe. Even tho we did buy bottled water we still drank the water at the resort restaurant and had no problems. Take acidophilus capsules for a week or so before you go. We ate at the Shrimp bucket and the Chilli Pepper and coffee at Ricco's (like a Star Bucks), food and service were good. I liked the fact the resort was not right in the Golden Zone, it was quiet and peaceful. I would definitely stay at the Sea Garden again.

  • Liked — Not right in the Golden Zone
  • Disliked — Only one restaurant and snack bar onsite/nearby
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Chinook38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I'm a frequent traveler and I've visit a lot of resort, hotels, RV parks and many others, but NEVER been so UNCOMFORTABLE as when i staid in MAYAN SEA GARDEN MAZATLAN.
It has a VERY BAD attention to every one of your needs, they even can be RUDE, only 25% of rooms has ocean view all rest has park yard view, if you are traveling with family, rooms could be smaller and less comfortable that you think, bad odor when you arrive to the room is really a bad sign, plumber installation really bad, if you're thinking to take a bath tube shower be prepared to a dinning room shower to, cause drain may cause a flow.
If you have any vehicle, own or rental forget the night life at least you are agree to park out side the resort into a lot for construction.
Food is not so bad, if you are in weight reduction plan.
Pools are good
So BEWARE to stay in.

  • Liked — pools
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

No.California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We had a very nice Mazatlan vacation at the Mayan Sea Garden. The resort is right on the beach with palapas, drink service, and activities. There are two swimming pools of moderate depth, so that is great for kids and fun for adults. The grounds were kept very nice with lawns and tropical plants. We did not eat at the on-site restaurant, but went to their little store many times for a wide variety of food; fruit, some vegetables, tortillas, chips, salsa, beer, etc... They also had an afternoon BBQ grill going where you could buy grilled chicken or beef w/torillas. The unit we stayed in had a sink, a little stove, and fridge, which was perfect for us.
On the down-side, we were apparently staying in the older portion of the resort so our 4th floor unit did not have an elevator but did have a view of the Pacific Ocean. We got used to walking up the stairs...
Also, we were contacted everyday about attending the "Welcome Breakfast", which we knew would be a time share pitch, until we finally gave in. It was a pitch... I later talked to a guy that knew about a "No Timeshare" T-shirt he could get from cafepress.com and I think I'll get one of those for my next trip.
Overall, it was a good place to stay. We walked on the beach a lot. The surf was quite rough for swimming but excellent to watch from the beach and for wading. The taxi (or pulmonia) was only about $12 to the Zona Dorada or the Malecon; the local bus was 8 pesos (80 cents) each...
Have a great time...

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — 4 flights of stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank humanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

The common grounds at Mayan Sea Garden are beautiful and well-manicured. The restaurant and other hotel staff are friendly and helpful. However, there is significant pressure before you even get to check into your room to commit to a timeshare presentation.

The Mayan Sea Garden buildings were built in 1972 and look it -- not luxurious in the least. Furniture is dated and faded and room is cramped, even in the 2 bedroom. Terrace is almost non-existent with a very low railing -- not safe for kids at all! Had several problems with the in-room safe which required us to call maintenance. However, if you are lucky enough to be booked into the Mayan Palace building, the rooms are modern, luxurious, and spacious.

There are 3 pool areas, 1 large unheated with a waterfall and plenty of pool chairs; another 2 which are heated to a wonderful 90 degrees, also with lots of chairs. There is a large game room area with pool tables, ping pong, video games, air hockey, internet, etc. which is great for kids. Nightlife at the resort itself is pretty much non-existent, but there is a bar with live entertainment on Fri, Sat and Sun, but very few guests attend.

The resort is about a 15 min. cab ride (about $5-$7 US) into the Golden Zone where there are many shops, restaurants and other resorts, as well as nightlife.

  • Liked — The friendly restaurant and bar staff.
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed for a week, 4 adults and 2 teenage girls. The room was adequate in size, but very old, and very musty smelling. We had problems with our room almost every day. Lights not working, coffee maker not working, curtain falling off the rod, toilet wouldn't flush and excessive noise from the other guests. We can party with the best of them, but these neighbors stayed up until 4:00 a.m., outsite their room and were not quiet. Every time we had an issue with the room, the staff came immediately and repaired the problem. I was quiet disappointed with the room and would not return to this RCI resort.

The food in the restaurants was good, good pool side service, too many trinket vendors hasseling you every day. They were nice, but you just got tired on constanly saying "no thank you" for a week straight. I found out at the end of our stay that this part of the resort is being torn down and new buildings to replace them. They should have done this a long time ago.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mduvall541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Four of us were planning our first getaway sans kids in a very long time when the opportunity presented itself at the Sea Garden through a time-share company. After it was booked, we found ourselves here on tripadvisor more and more often as it seemed every review of this place got even worse than the previous! It got to the point that the other couple booked an additional hotel room as we were now anticipating arriving to just an absolutely horrible place.

I can tell you that 10 minutes after arriving to our room and then sitting for lunch at the restaurant - our friends quickly canceled the other hotel room. The room was a very pleasant surprise (after the reviews) - the bathroom was updated and things were comfortable (we were in the "Coral Building"). The restaurant was great. We had two breakfasts there, one lunch & one dinner - all were delicious. (For everyone that ripped on the food - this is a restaurant at a hotel, in Mazatlan, Mexico. If you were looking for food that you only read about in Bon Apetit magazine, seriously?!).

The pool is really something. It's huge and we camped out by the waterfall. Use the gym, buy your eight-packs-o-beer from the market to save a few bucks and be sure to head downtown to eat at the Shrimp Bucket one of the days that you're there.

Also went through the timeshare presentation (No, we didn't buy). But we did get a nice chunk of change taken off our total bill at the end, and a free "Stone Island tour" out of it (taxi, boat, tractor, lunch/drinks, boat ride out to see some sea lions, taxi back). Tip: trade in an activity ticket for a "coco loco".

So, if you want to have a fun, laid-back, easy going time - stay here. If you want 7-star accommodations, an out-of-this-world meal program and a person to fan you while feeding you grapes - this place probably isn't for you.

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly, Relaxing
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank denmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 78 in Mazatlan
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#60 of 78 in Mazatlan
380 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Property: Sea Garden Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Garden Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing