We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Setting, Fabulous People, Great Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Mazatlan
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
Traverse City, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Setting, Fabulous People, Great Memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

I stayed at the Mayan Sea Garden with my daughter and had a fabulous time. The beach was wonderful and I enjoyed the beach vendors, although they seem annoying to the old people, youhave to remember this is there country and they have to make a living also, a simple " No Gracias" works tremendously. The staff at the Mayan were very friendly and helpful. The Sabalo Centro bus will take you to the heart of Mazatlan and back 8 pesos one way, eat at Gus & Gus in the gold zone for a great dinner. I will return to Mazatlan next year and stay at the Mayan Sea Garden again...Gracias Mayan Sea Garden, until we meet again Amigos !!!!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconut92911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    116
    79
    50
    61
See reviews for
147
90
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Mayan Sea Garden a lot. The place is clean, including the pool area and the beach. I liked that it is out of the main tourist zone and that the beach is relatively isolated, without a lot of vendors (unlike at the El Cid, where the beach is packed with people and vendors). Great beach for long walks. The staff was wonderful and the condo very well decorated. I would again choose to stay in the main tower because it's close to everything. And, make sure to ask for an ocean view. The sunsets are gorgeous. There may be a downside for some people (although for me, it wasn't an issue) in that it's a quiet place with an older clientele. There's not a party atmosphere and not a lot of choices for bar hopping and dining in the local area. But there's a bus that stops by frequently and taxis that can take you to restaurants and bars about 15- to 20 minutes away.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank ldrsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

I was apprehensive after reading several reviews about the Mayan Sea Garden. However, I must say that the resort really is quite nice. The biggest complaint would be the high pressure sales pitch you get if you agree to take the "tour". It only lasts two hours and then it's over and you do get some lucrative discounts for your trouble.

Otherwise the staff were fabulous. The food in the resaurant is average at best. I would stick to lunch by the pool and dinner in town. The drinks at the pool are STRONG so be careful. (They sneak up on you as the day wears on) We found the staff to be excellent in all departments. They were even able to find an ocean view room for us at the last minute.

The rooms in the older building are a little dated, but the views of the ocean and the sunset are to die for. The hotel is pretty far from the Golden Zone and Central Market, but the buses are easy to figure out and it is very safe. It is nice to have the game room and internet room if you are traveling with teenagers. They mingle and make new friends!

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The Sea Garden is an older resort, north of the golden zone in Mazatlan. Our room was older with 2 bedrooms, or maybe one bedroom and a dressing room. Everything worked fine but was quite old. The room we had a very damp odor. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot. The check-in went very smooth as did the check-out. Check -in is at 5pm, but they let us into our room at 2pm, that was a nice surprise.
We were not all-inclusive so we didn't spend much time eating at the resort. Bought a few groceries and tried out several local restaurants. What we did eat at the resort was good, but very pricey. They do not have wi-fi, so we paid 75pesos for 1 hour of internet and it was not always available. The time share representatives were nice enough, but did not want to take no for an answer. However, we did get our prizes with no problem.
Mazatlan itself was very nice, unfortunately our weather was slightly cool and the evenings were often cold. We tried several local restaurants and never had a bad meal. Even watched a hockey game at the 'Dugout' in the Golden Zone.

  • Liked — Pool and Beach
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bonmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We are Mayan Palace Regency owners and decided to try the Palace at Mazatlan. We were given an end unit in the fabulous new building on the 10th floor overlooking the ocean & the larger pool. I was disappointed that the balcony did not accommodate patio chairs/table. The patio door did not have a screen so opening the patio door was not an option. I would have loved to leave the patio door open so I could listen to the ocean at night or even during the day.

The unit was about 1 1/2 years old so everything was in excellent shape. There was either a problem with the air conditioner or plumbing-every so often, we would hear a loud clump-very annoying. Perhaps it was due to the fact that construction was still going on in the building.

The towels were rough-I think the towels should have been better quality or softer.

The service at the restaurant was good. The staff were friendly and attentive.

The Mayan Palace in Cancun was a lot nicer than Mazatlan Mayan Palace.

  • Liked — The ocean view
  • Disliked — rough towels
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stay here once or twice a year. The employees are charming and attentive. The room was very similiar to the Grand Mayan Resorts. The food was great. The Margaritas were the best I have had in years in Mexico and so were the other drinks. There are 3 pools. The large one, a smaller one for real peace and quiet and the small pool under one of the towers. We only left the resort once and was for a day trip to El Quetina for a marvelous under the trees lunch with great food. This is a very small village about 25 minutes from the resort.

The older building is scheduled to be torn down and a new tower will go up. We stayed in the new tower. It was a 2 bdrm, 2 bath with a nice large living room, dining table and kitchen. We had many evening meals in our room with room service. Very quick delivery.

  • Liked — The employees are always wonderful, the food is very good and the accommodations are excellent.
  • Disliked — Distance from Zona
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tjomsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

We bought a time share in 2006. This was our first time there and we booked for 2 weeks. Our room was in the newest tower. No chairs allowed on the lanai. Plastic toliet seats. Tub enclosures that move when you do. Tub faucet that was not attached securely. No fans in the comode area. There were open holes in wall under the sinks around the plumbing. Our key card failed us 3 times and we had to go to the main building to get rekeyed each time.
We were invited to breakfast by management the day after we got there. When we did not agree to "upgrade ' to the newest plan for more $$ we were informed that our current plan was like owning a Volkswagon when we could have a Cadillac. We thought we had quite a nice time share but were informed that we have the lowest time share they had and time may be harder to come by in the future. A 90 minute presentation turned into 2.5 hours. We did not "upgrade". The "closer" looked at us like we were stupid and could not understand whey we would not pay more.
On a positive note the restaurant was very good and the prices were reasonable. The employees were nice.
We will not go back to the Mayan Sea Garden in Mazatlan.

  • Liked — beach access and restaurant
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CoCoClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.9 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#54 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#58 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Mazatlan

Property: Sea Garden Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Garden Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sea Garden Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Mazatlan
Mazatlan Mayan Sea Garden
Mayan Sea Garden Hotel Mazatlan
Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing