We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i loved the lerma”
Review of Hotel Lerma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lerma
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 23 November 2008

i totally loved the lerma, it was nothing fancy but i am a spend thrift and it had every thing i wanted. $12 a night, clean, shower, bed, safety, and the atmoshere of mexico i had hoped to find. i dont go to another country to sit in a motel. they helped me make a call on the phone, opend the gate to let me in late at night ( i felt guity about it but it is the norm for them). also it was located to all the stuff you want to see in the old part of maz. beach, marcado, cathedral, etc. we went in june and it was 95 every day and my daughter wanted AC so we left after a few days. i didnt need AC and preffered the Lerma. i would stay there again definatly. if i didnt stay there it would only be because i like to see diferent things and places.

  • Stayed: June 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brent41m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2007

I am in Mazatlan for student interchange and I needed cheap clean accomodation for couple of frts days.

The room and Hotel was for this purpose ideal place. Room ok size, fan in the ceiling (no AC, but does not matter). There was also a small bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Outside there is a jug with drinking water (do not drink water from the taps!). There is a watchman during night. If u come late, no problem, he will let you in. Price was 120 pesos / day. Payment done for coule of days (no need to pay in advance for whole stay). I usualyy stayed 2 or 3 days and paid and after 2 more days again. When I was moving in I needed to leave there luggage - they took care of it, no damages.

in the room good-sized bed (even for 2 persons), table, chair, wardrobe, sockets. Windows blocked my metal things (I dont know the mane for it in English, but u see that I mean). The hotel is simple, but honestly - I liked it much!

For a single traveller, budget travellers highly recomended. There even stayed familes with children (Mexicans).

The locality is great, in Old Mazaltan, close to center, Plaza Machado, to Malecon, beaches. For food good option close to lerma is Pollo Loco, restaurants on Plaza Machado or Market place (but I dont recomment this to first travellers to Mexico as you would very probably get digestive problems - the adaptibility to Mexican food is quite tough and can mean frequent visits of toilet :) So take care. If you have time to explore - u can take a direction and take a walk to see the city. These first days were one of the best days furing my all stay in Mexico. U can go following the coast to the lighthouse. Takes a while, but it is nice. Also highly recommentded to walk through center (plazas, also take a walk through streets - care if asking for a direction - people will tell u something even if they dont know because they dont like to admit that they dont know. This results to the situation that 3 people will tell u totally different direction :D )

See photos to make opinion. I was satisfied and this can be a positive advertisement to Lerma :-)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Myyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2005

My plan was to stay at The Lerma for a week and then move to a different Hotel, My travel agent wanted me to check out different Hotel for her while I was there. I loved the Lerma and stayed for two weeks.
Perfect location, around the corner from the main market, which by the way is a great place to eat. Very close to the Plaza Machado, plaza revolution, old mazatlan is beautiful, a perfect place to wander around at night and take in the sights, smells and to meet the ever so helpful locals, always street vendors with wonderful food as well.
5 seconds after you exit the Lerma you can see the ocean, a short two block walk towards it.
It is very clean and secure, a night watchman on all night. The maid came everyday and changed my sheets each time, left a jug of drinkable water everyday. Room was a nice size, bed, big dresser, with drawers and hangers, nice writing table and chair, night table beside the bed. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Window with shudders over looking the residential street, window on the other side, a nice cross breeze came through, no need for air condition (there is none) My room had a ceiling fan, but I never needed it.
Nice open court yard as well if you want to laze around and read a book. (I perfered to walk to plaza machado to read)
The owner (Carlos) speaks English and was most helpful in helping me find my way anywhere I wanted to go in Maz.
No TV...I did not travel all the way to Mexico to watch TV...I did'nt need it. Also no phone in the room...I also did not need a phone.
One thing that might annoy the sleepy heads...the Gaspa guy comes around at 7 am, honking his horn waking up the whole street. I am an early riser so it was not a problem for me.
The best part...the price was right 100 pesos a night/110 on high season. I believe he has rooms for less without your own bathroom. (not sure of price)
I would highly recommend this Hotel, I will stay here again. Great staff, great location, perfect cute clean rooms, great price.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank sierrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neftali Edgar A... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajerothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roberto b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Daniela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Zona Dorada
#51 of 80 in Mazatlan
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#35 of 80 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,887 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lerma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lerma

Address: Calle Simon Bolivar 622 | Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 153

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing