We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$447
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Villas Resort(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$606
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
33
8
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
8
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice accommodationswater taxishort walkanarubenairportmexicofebocean
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for one day/night in October 2009. This is a long overdue review so there is no option under "Date of Stay" so I picked the same month for your reference. It is off season and it is HOT, uncomfortably so midday. It was a stopover sandwiched in between a stay at a big resort and a boutique hotel in the city of Mazatlan. We would have had a hard time getting from the resort to Stone Island Gardens but the owners wife PICKED US UP in her car - an hour to and an hour from - as well as getting us on the ferry (which is like Anthony Bourdain in Vietnam-we were the only ones with life preservers on... and luggage that could capsize the "ferry")! Already we knew this was an excellent choice. The room was as pictured. Maybe a little more worn but clean. Obviously, at these prices you know it's not going to be The Ritz. Beach and restaurant immediately outside. This was the first time we encountered the endless parade of peddlers. I wanted to make a T-shirt that said "No Gracias!" It was not that crowded as it was off season. It's a small beachfront and the water is nice. We took a nap before dinner and did not realize that all those beachfront bars and restaurants would be closed - we basically had to wander the streets in the dark and find a child who spoke English to direct us to a woman's backyard where she ran a sandwich shop and grocery store. Our food was cooked on a tailgating grill. So Anthony Bourdain. All in all, we were glad that we went to Stone Island and stayed here. The owners could not have been more helpful and if the waves were ride-able, my husband would have enjoyed it even more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband and I had the best time at Stone Island Gardens. Our room was affordable and clean with a beautiful ocean view. The family that runs the hotel is so great and will do anything to welcome you and help you enjoy your stay. I met so many wonderful people, I cried when we had to leave.
The restaurant had really good food and service and right on the beach. The location is a friendly small island, only a few minutes boat ride to the central downtown of Mazatlan.
Everything on the island closes at dark, so having the kitchen in our room was perfect for making dinners. Bring earplugs for the roosters, they are everywhere! Its an authentic Mexican experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LupeLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Me and my girlfriend left the city of Guadalajara for a round trip through México. Once we discovered Stone Island Gardens on Isla de la Piedra near Mazatlán in the state of Sinaloa, we changed our minds... The fact that we spent ALL of our vacation time at Stone Island Gardens says it all! The hotel is a family business, the athmosphere is very laid back, welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and high standard. As no room looks like the other, you quickly get the feeling of a unique experience. Not just the hotel itself, also Carmelitas Restaurant on the beach front (which belongs to Stone Island Gardens) is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy first class fresh and organic food. It opened up in the 1930s and is still run by the same family - so good quality and good service seem to have a long tradition here.

With the incredible silhouette of Isla de la Piedra in the background, we loved to take walks on the clean beach, go for a swim or just sit back with a fresh coconut in your hands. We also did activities like fishing with the local fishermen or riding a moto along the beach, which was big fun.

As "individual" travellers we really liked the exclusiveness of the place. It´s not overrun by mainstream tourism, the village of Isla de la Piedra has kept it´s traditions alive which allows you to discover the authentic México.

We had an unforgettable experience at Stone Island Gardens! We would love to come back any time! See our attached photos to convince yourselves about this lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michaelfromgermany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stone Island is safe and yet a great place for an adventure. You can walk all day and perhaps not get to the resort that is safely tucked away at the end of the island nearest the airport. They will let you breakfast there but truthfully the orange juice was from a carton and I preferred the OJ back at Carmelita....although the resort does have the wildlife refuge for the sea turtle.

Try out both of the the ferries. They are fun fast and safe. One runs all night. Take a flashlight if you plan to be coming back from the 24 hr. ferry from Mazatlan after dark.

The island also has a sea horse farm and several little markets. i liked to watch the cruise ships come in on Tuesday and enjoyed eating pizza at Benjis...ask and you will find it.....

The rooms at Stone Garden are ample in size, clean, and all you need. The staff is wonderful. An american lives on the premise and is very helpful.

The early morning activity of the fisherman is great watching and I purchased fish from them for 8 pesos. I learned the names of 5 new kinds of fish and took them to a small restaurant that even cooked them for me!

I enjoyed buying wares on the beach, music, dress, and food. The jewelry and dress items come from as far away as Qaxaca! The food.....delicious is made locally.

When the cruise ships aren't in some of the grass huts close....but the pool is still opened if you aren't an ocean swimmer. There are even yachts off the isla.

The fishermen will take you to another island for the day for a low price.
Horseback riding etc. is available. It's the bes t of both lives....go see busy Mazatlan and come back to the quiet island to rest.

I have gone twice and would love to go back in carnival time. I hope to be there this December. Great place, safe, great people. Salem, Oregon melisalua@juno.com

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amantemexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We just returned from a five day stay at Stone Island Gardens, and it was wonderful! The other reviews here captured it well: a down-home Mexican village ambience with beautiful beaches and good food. Our first night was in the older unit, which was fine, but the mattress was a bit hard. We moved to one of the newer units with a kitchenette for our final four nights, and this was definitely worth the small extra expense, especially since we could fix our own breakfast and literally look out on a beautiful sunset view over the beach as we lay in bed!

Except for some rooster crowing in the wee hours (bring earplugs!), it was the perfect environment for relaxation. Old Mazatlan is just a short boat ride away, and we went over to take in some of the Carnaval festivities, but we most loved reading on the beach, going for jogs, bodysurfing, and enjoying Margaritas and the food at Carmelita's restaurant (which was as good as anything we ate in town).

Gary and Ana are excellent and personable hosts, and the restaurant's namesake, Carmelita (Ana's 90 year old grandmother) is still around to greet the guests as well. If you're looking for a typical, all-inclusive beach hotel with lots of nightlife, this is definitely not for you. But if you're up for a slower, more earthy vacation, Stone Island Garden is tough to beat!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews