We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Humpbacks and calves in the wild!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Onca Explorations

Onca Explorations
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Mazatlan Swim with Dolphins in the Wild
Ranked #1 of 47 Tours in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Mazatlan & Explore with us! Whether it is watching the amazing humpback whales, swimming with dolphins in the wild, snorkeling the islands, kayaking among mangroves or discovering ancient petroglyphs hiking within a natural protected area, our experienced staff, small group policy and personal attention make simply the best ecotours in town! Tourism for Conservation: When you travel with ONCA a portion of your tour fee goes towards local wildlife monitoring and conservation programs.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Humpbacks and calves in the wild!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Went out with Saul, a very experienced Oceanographer and guide, for another amazing day on the water on March 5th. We were treated to observing two Humpback Whales travelling with and training their calves....how sweet is that! In our midst we joyously found ourselves within a super-pod of at least 100 bottle nose dolphins and many, many babies....oh what a thrill!!!! It's wonderful to see the population growth of the marine mammals in the Sea of Cortez!!!! In the distance we saw a giant splash, not once, but twice, so our captain headed over to see what it was. It was a giant male humpback, Saul lowered the mic into the water and we listened to him sing - it was both touching and brilliant! When he raised the mic from the water, and cut the engines, we could still hear the beautiful creature sing his heartfelt songs without any amplification....now it doesn't get any better than that!!!!!...We were overjoyed with our experience and look forward to another visit next season!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MazatlanMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    22
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A day we can NEVER forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

My daughter and I joined Oscar and his crew for a most unforgettable day March 22. We were told first thing that we are going out on the ocean and of course we can never know what we might see as we are seeing these creatures in their natural habitat. We were treated by seeing a small pod of bottle nose dolphins and then later a pod of maybe 200 spotted dolphins who put on such a show!!! They love to swim with the Boat and play and jump around the boat... one jumped in front of the boat and gave us such a surprise. We also were so fortunate to track a whale who showed himself/herself to us three times... one of which it jumped right out of the water. Only word to describe is AMAZING!!!

This is not a booze cruise, which is a nice change when out in such a beautiful place. We enjoyed our day out on the ocean with good company and such knowledgable people. Make sure you do not drink too much coffee that morning before getting on the boat,.. these are boats are not big and do not have toilets so you may get uncomfortable going 4 hours without facilities :)

Enjoy! ONe of the best experiences we have had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank philbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No whales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We didn't see any whales, so that was somewhat disapointing. It was still pretty interesting as we saw a seal eating a fish, and some rocks with a lot of sea birds. I think it makes a difference as to who your guide is. Our guide was not very talkative, even though she was knowledgable and answered questions when we asked. I know it wasn't her fault we didn't see whales, but more information would have been nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had the most wondeful day possible. We saw the biggest pod of bottle neck dolphins that the guide had seen in a long long time. Most pods have 6 to 10 dolphins but for some reason, they were in this super pod formation and there were about 100 in this pod. They swam along side the boat with us. AMAZING!! THEN....we saw 2 sets of mother and child humpback whales. And to finish off the day, we saw a large male humpback. We put in an underwater mic and heard the whales clicking and singing!! Like I said....wonderful!! WOW!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nantermckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Knowledgable guides who know the Gulf of California, in the Sea of Cotez!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Our experience was life altering. Being in a bottle-nose dolphins and viewing two humpback whale Cows with their calves, and a bull humpback was amazing! ONCA knows its it's business: well organised, knowledgable, and articulate in Engish and Spanish!
I strongly reccomend this experience!

Helpful?
Thank boultomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onca Explorations also viewed

 

Been to Onca Explorations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing