We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arhie's”
Review of Archie's Wok

Archie's Wok
Ranked #32 of 1,031 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Archie's Wok is widely recognized as Puerto Vallarta's best Asian fusion restaurant, featuring authentic, freshly prepared cuisine that spans the Pacific Rim from Thailand to the Philippines, to China and Vietnam. The staff offers traditional and contemporary dishes from these distinctive regions. They daily prepare a palette of complex sauces and condiments. Savor the aromas of spicy chili sambals, curry pastes, their famous hoisin sauce for the ribs and chiang mai sauce, too. The menu is truly a cuisine of medleys, which combines Pacific Island foods, Asian cooking techniques, Mexico's fresh ingredients and a host of other cultural and culinary influences. Seafood is caught daily in Banderas Bay and delivered fresh to the restaurant. Locally grown ingredients include an array of vegetables, herbs and spices, including kaffir lime, galangal, lemon grass, ginger, chilies, tamarind, and coconut milk. These are native to both Asia and the Mexican Coast. Archie's Wok has been family owned and operated since 1986. The history starts in 1977 when Archie Alpenia began working as the famous Hollywood Director John Huston's private chef at his personal retreat in Banderas Bay. From then on the restaurant continues to be run by his wife Cindy, daughter Kyoki and son Sergio. His legacy continues in this comfortable restaurant. Archie's Wok is just steps away from the Los Muertos Beach Pier and is a great location to meet friends and family. The restaurant is casually elegant and their team is committed to great service, excellent food and a comfortable setting. You can enjoy lunch and dinner in this sublime atmosphere with dining room and Asian style garden.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Arhie's”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Disappointed food is just so, so! They really do need a Asian chef.. Puerto Vallarta has much better places then this!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JaninPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    185
    59
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still a trusted place for Excellent Asian Food in this Mexican Paradise”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Archie's Wok probably doesn't need more great reviews but since my wife and I have been there in the last week and enjoyed it a great deal I thought I would add a current complimentary note.
Friendly service from the moment you arrive. Great Southeast Asian food, mostly Thai inspired. You can't go wrong with anything on the manu that gets your attention. A very moderately priced bill at the ed of the evening. All together, very much worth a visit if you are a fan of this style of food, and if you haven't tried Thai food, a great place to get your feet wet. Enjoy, we sure did!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chukrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of our absolute FAVORITES!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stay in PV for a month every year and eat here at least 3-4 times, bringing with us all of our friends and family. If you go with a larger group I would really recommend ordering family style of a bunch of different dishes so everyone can try everything. A MUST is the chicken satay appetizer. The peanut sauce is really good and the cucumbers have just the right amount of spice. We always order the Thai garlic shrimp...a must for garlic lovers. One of my favorites is the Coconut curry fried rice with shrimp. It comes with a bunch of veggies in it and tastes even better with a little of the peanut sauce from the satay appetizer. Our other favorite are the Thai fried noodles and of course the Hoisin ribs. I have also tried the curried vegetables and cashew chicken with were both fantastic!! I made the mistake of just ordering the vegetable fried rice for the kiddos and they didn't really like it....they much preferred the Singapore chicken on plain rice...it's a good one for kids, kind of like a sweet and sour chicken and comes with pineapple in it. Also a very neat thing they do for the kids...each kid get a coloring sheet with their logo and crayons when they come in and then they hang the pictures in the restaurant for the rest of the night. For the really good ones they actually put them on the front of the menu's. My daughter worked on hers all evening making it perfect and they slipped it on a menu and all the staff congratulated her. So fun! We also took my mom there for her birthday and at the end of the evening they treated us with a little glass of amaretto at the end of our meal....but since we had the kiddos with us they made them little mini shirley temples in the same little dessert glasses so that we could all Salute together. So wonderful I love this place so much!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppleGrl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

It is hard enough to get in here as it is. The food is great . On some nights they have a flutist or a harper which makes the place magical. Sooner or later anyone who's anybody in town slips in for late dinner.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank TJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Truly great restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We just experienced our second outstanding meal at Archie's Wok. This is the best Asian restaurant we have ever tried. The memu is varied and original. Each dish was outstanding, especially the calamari appetizer and lemon cloud dessert. Entrees superb - fish wrapped in banana leaves and curries. Yum yum! Service was conscientious and understands English. Archie's unusual story and that of his family is described on the back of the menu. Treat yourself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archie's Wok also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Archie's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing