We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical teppanyaki”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Reserve with OpenTable
Mikado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,031 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Immerse in a spectacular feast for all your senses at the Mikado Japanese Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta. From the moment you step into the world of Mikado, the exquisite aroma and sizzling sounds will invite you to join the masterful display of our teppan chefs as they juggle knives and ingredients, joking and creating dazzling culinary art pieces for the most demanding of palates.Magnificent Japanese cuisine with touches of Pan-Asian influences, artistic cooking displays, relaxing music, and impeccable service in an unrivaled ambiance wait for you at Mikado Japanese Restaurant.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical teppanyaki”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Was very good but nothing special. Nice change of pace as mostly we were eating Mexican food. Seemed a bit pricey but we also had sushi and wine with our entrees.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSD_22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    76
    29
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Sushi is awesome”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I am not a big fan of the teppanyaki, because I believe you pay for a show and not so much for quality food. The sushi was amazing on this occasion, and the lobster and steak that we had was also great. My kids loved the teppanyaki experience and I had no complaints on this occasion. The service was also very wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxlakerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was a nice dinner with a little "show"”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Japanese tempenyaki style restaurants do the food prep in a fun and tasty way while you watch your dinner being prepared right in front of you. Knife and spatula skills are impressive as the chefs do their acrobatic culinary dance while diners ooh and aah and of course laugh too!
Mikado was even able to serve the vegan and gluten-free diner in me and delight to boot. Loved the cream of saki chilled saki and of course, the hot saki never fails to please!
The second night we went their to dine they informed me that the next time they will have gluten-free soy sauce, as the next day the company was coming to do a tasting of the gluten-free tamari so they will be prepared for other guests with that need.
I loved the veggies on the grill, the fried veg rice, veggie sushi rolls and the yummy salad. I would go again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyOOBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese-style restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The food, the service, and the ambiance were very good at this upscale restaurant. I had the sushi and it was delicious. The very attentive service was outstanding. Most of their customers come from the Marriott hotel next door, but I recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves sushi and Japanese food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pvexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tempura shrimp worth the price”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I love Japanese food, and this place didn't really pull off any of the dishes ordered for me to consider it good Japanese food. The one exception, however, was the tempura. The veggies were perfect and the shrimp were unbelievably delicious. If tempura is your thing, Mikado will not disappoint.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing