We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a great villa!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Dos Primos

Villas Dos Primos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas Dos Primos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great location and a great villa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We just returned from spending two weeks at this fine home! The location could not be better if you are in good health and can climb stairs. The house is very clean and comfortable, and Kathy and her crew could not be more accommodating! The grounds are well manicured and beautiful! You are just a short walk to two great restaurants, Taste and Vista Grill. It is also just a short walk down into the heart of Puerto Vallarta and all that it has to offer. We only used a cab to go too and from the airport since we could walk everywhere else. We will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We've had the good fortune to visit Villas Dos Primos twice and have loved everything about the experience. The ocean views are magificent and the rooftop terrace was a great way to start the day with coffee and to end the day with cocktails. The decor and vegetation are pure Puerto Vallarta. The first time we arrived, I was in awe of the beautifully and tastefully decorated villa. Our hostess was the greatest!!! It was a quick walk to the beach. We also walked to the Malecon a number of times. We hope to visit again and highly recommend Villas Dos Primos to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have visited this villa several times and made a family vacation out of it once, using both of the 3 bedroom homes. The grounds are private and beautiful. The roof top terrace is the perfect place for making an "at home" dinner and enjoying cocktails while watching the sunset over the ocean below.

In less than 10 minutes, you can walk to the beach and the local shopping hot spots for a day of fun in the sun.

I plan on staying there again. You should check it out too and see what you've been missing!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We went with three kids to this charming Villa. Very Comfortable. Great decor. Small pool but good for small kids as nice patio you can watch them from. In the evenings you can walk among the local neighborhood. PV is interesting. You have the high end villas among the very poor on just down the street. Kids loved the local puppies, mango trees outside our window, local tiendas the tamale guy on his moped who would wander the neighborhood and chickens too!.

Be prepared to walk up hill! it is way up at the top of the Southern side. This wasn't such a bad thing. We ate ate ate and lost weight in the end. Old PV is right below which we loved! Lost of resturants down the hill and a few close by. Los Muertos closest beach.5- 6 blocks down. LOTs of beach food and fun! No need for a car.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantanasWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

Our hostess is an overall fabulous person and Villa Dos Primos has been a favorite destination for 3 years. The rooftop patio and dipping pool make it a terrific "deal" if renting the two lower units since we still get to enjoy the ocean view and ocean breezes. This year I stayed in Casa Oro and it was unbelievable. Open aire spaces and comfortable accommodations. Private. We didn't even want to leave and one day spent the entire day lounging around the pool and cooking in the kitchen. The resident dogs add a lovely touch to the immaculate cleanliness, personal hospitality and aesthethic touches throughout the Villa. Too bad so much negative press on the "violence in Mexico" because that is NOT the case in Puerto Vallarta. I can not recomment this property enough. Easy walking to town and also a cheap cab ride back with groceries from Rizos. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

Our family just got back from Villa dos Primos in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. We stayed in Casa Oro, while other members of the family stayed in Case Verde and Casa Sol y Luna. There were 11 of us all together and this worked great for our large group. The living quarters are very spacious and beautifully decorated with authentic mexican arts and crafts. The detail to the comfort and decoration are very obvious. We were on a quiet hill above Puerto Vallarta and had a gorgeous view. There was also a very large patio with a small dipping pool for keeping cool. The kitchens were very well stocked with pans and utensils and vital appliances (except for dishwasher, though we did not mind). It was so relaxing to go and sit by the pool and relax on the lounge chairs and just read. There was also a laundry room. There were two access gates out of the house and plenty of locks on the doors, so we felt very safe and it was a relatively quiet neighborhood at night.

Most importantly we had the views, but we were close to town (Old section/Zona Romantico). You could either walk down the hill or take a cab, same on the way back. Cab fare was usually $5 per trip. The house also had a great upper level terrace with full kitchen and bathroom. The view from up there was great for sunsets and we had several happy hours and parties up there.

Kathy is the owner and lives right next door and her grounds manager is David. They were great. Always checking on us and letting us know what was going on. Even though not a full service place we felt we were taken care of at every turn. Housekeeping only came a couple times, but will come more if you ask. They really try and accommodate requests. Also house is very reasonably priced for such large digs. You may need to rent a car, but that is on a case by case basis.

The only things to be aware of is that there are a lot of stairs on this property so you need to be pretty fit. Same for getting up and down the hill. The cab ride up can be pretty interesting since the hills are steep. There is construction in the area so be aware, but some days are quieter than others and no work on Sunday. Kathy and David own dogs who visit the house, so if you do not like animals this may not be the place for you. There are also several stray cats who come by at night, but they never stuck around long. Also, the beds are hard. To be honest, none of these things bothered us, since the scenery and proximity to beach and town were top notch. My husband will also want me to mention the noisy parrots who belong to the people next door.

If you want full service and luxury this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a unique adventure and authentic experience of Mexico with great scenery and people, this place is pretty hard to beat. As I said, this was one of the best vacations I ever had. Exceptional place for a large family gathering.

  • Liked — The views, scenery and style of the houses
  • Disliked — Hard beds, variety of interesting noises
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caseyestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#12 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Terraza Inn
La Terraza Inn
#45 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casas Rio Amapas
Casas Rio Amapas
#67 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa Descanso
La Casa Descanso
#20 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Dos Primos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Dos Primos

Property: Villas Dos Primos
Address: 171 Las Hortensias | Colonia Amapas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing