We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really unique experience”
Review of Teatro Limon

Teatro Limon
Reserve with OpenTable
Teatro Limon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #232 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: US$55 - US$85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Teatro Limón is Puerto Vallarta's finest interactive dining experience. Sit back and enjoy a relaxing meal or take part in the creation and enjoyment of a gourmet meal designed by (or with) talented Canadian Chef, Bruce Byng. You find no boring fixed menu here, Teatro Limon's innovative plates constantly changing. And while Bruce continually strives to come up with exciting new approaches to beloved classics, he is unwavering in his insistence on premium quality and absolute freshness. Be as involved as you want. Or, Opt to sit back and soak in the good things that come to you in the cheery torch-lit terrace under the stars. Or, make yourself comfortable in the open kitchen and be part of the action. Every cocktail imaginable comes out of the fully stocked bar just the way you like it and wine pairings are suggested, with several vintages available by the glass. All in all, an evening at Teatro Limón is an unforgettable and yes, somewhat theatrical experience, ideal for sharing with family, a group of friends or that special someone. Teatro Limon is located in the heart of Old town on Basilio badillo 229 on the upper level of Cocco's Market Bistro Cafe
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really unique experience”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I went to Teatro Limon as our last night in Puerto Vallarta dinner. We were impressed and entertained by Bruce, his wife and staff and the interaction they have with their customers. They had a young boy that was there with his parents help plate the salads and help in the kitchen. He had a wonderful time. Bruce speaks to each of his customers and decides what he will serve them. My husband got a delicious steak and I received the salmon with maple glaze. They were both very good, but I have to say I was a little envious of my husband's steak.

The one disappointing event of the evening was after we left we realized that we had been overcharged a bottle of wine, and they are pretty proud ($$$) of their wine, so it left a little bit of a bad taste in our mouth that that had occurred. I know we should have went back to reconcile the overcharge, but it felt tacky. :(

This is a really fun place to eat, the interaction with their staff is great fun and the food is very good, be prepared though to eat what Bruce chooses for you and know in advance that it is not an inexpensive place to dine, our bill for the evening for the two of us was equivalent to almost $350 American.

So, I give it a 4 because I really would have like to have the steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonStateChuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    21
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“This should be the #1 restaurant in Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and had been to Teatro Limon 5 years ago and were looking forward to going back.
This experience was as perfect as our first experience. When you walk in you are greeted by Bruce who is warm and welcoming. After all he is welcoming you into his home. He asks if there are any allergies or food preferences and then the "performance" begins!!
We had 5 courses, one more delicious than the previous. Each course is prepared by the chef and staff and supervised by Bruce right before your eyes. This really is the definition of dinner theater!
Bruce's wife is a wonderful pastry chef and presented us with a delicious array of desserts.
I will come here EVERY time I am in Puerto Vallarta and would encourage friends, family and strangers to do the same

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in PV”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We own a condo in PV and were there for almost a month over Christmas. We went to Teatro Limon three times during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed our evenings. The food was outstanding and always is! Do not be put off by the 8 negative reviews as there are over 280 excellent reviews, do the math, everybody can't be wrong! We have been going there since it opened and have never been disappointed. During our stay we also went to Trio (twice), Cafe des Artist, Portobello, Bistro Theresa (food was pedestrian at best, how they got that high of a rating is a mystery) and Hacienda San Angel. Teatro Limon is one of the best restaurants in PV. I have seen other reviews complain about the cost but you need to consider that it is a fixed price menu and you are receiving 5 courses. If you were to order an app, soup, salad, entree and dessert at one of the above restaurants your bill would be much more that what Bruce charges. We particularly enjoy the fact that you can stay there all night if you choose and swap stories with Bruce. It is no coincidence that we go there multiple times every time we are in PV.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo6355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Some friends invited us to eat here last year and we loved it. We went again this year and loved it even more. Deliciously prepared food (sous vide) and excellent selection of wines and cocktails. Each of us had a separate entree, so sharing was mandatory! Thank you Bruce and Julia for another wonderful meal. We will be back again...and again...and again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great dining”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

You need to be open minded to have the best experience at this restaurant, only because there are no menus. Bruce puts together fantastic choices from the foods that he has that day which creates a fantastic experience. The wine choices are limited but acceptable. Expect it to cost considerably more than a typical meal in the area but what fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro Limon also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Teatro Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing