We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #75 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

So we stayed here on our RCI time share. Like anything you get what you pay for!!

Right off the bat we were pestered under the guise of the girl being our guest services advisor and it actually took 2 very strong goes to get the point across that all we wanted was a bell boy and then she came up and asked how did we know about the ruse??!!
There was even a fellow hanging around the towel area who asked if we were interested in the time share! Very persistent and annoying! If you are going to be there for 3 weeks then maybe it is worth giving up 4 hours of your precious holiday time to get there VIP discount card! But they are from what everyone says very aggressive in their approach so be strong!!

The first room they put us in fronted on the main busy road and the patio looked over the roof top and air conditioners which ran nonstop ...ugly! So in the morning I requested a move which we got. The room was just OK ... but 150% better than the first one!

The food is mediocre at best. Beware of drinks delivered to the beach..stick to Happy Hour or you will pay a ridiculous amount for a margarita!!

Big tip if you want a pylapa be prepared to get up very early and stake out your claim. I was up most mornings at 5:30 to get what I wanted for the day! You will need the blue towels from the towel desk to mark your chairs.

Remember it is not Canada ...people smoke everywhere. So if it bothers you park yourself at the waters edge! The beach boys are very accomodating and will help drag the lounges and umbrellas or you can set yourself up!

I did have a great massage in the spa!!

We would not rush back to this resort!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighFlyinMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-conciergeManager, General Manager at Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
As General Manager of Villa del Mar, I thank you for your valuable comments as they assist us in providing the high level of service our guests have come to expect.

Please rest assured that every comment is reviewed and measures are being taken to remedy situations like the one you may have experienced.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Once again, we thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the excellence in service we are known for and hope you will give Villa Del Mar another chance to be your host in the future.


Cordially yours,
Ernesto Hernández
General Manager Villa Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
29
50
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

del Mar is closely attached to the Palma where you check in, which is easy. You will be nudged to go the the Flamingo - a new timeshare - for a presentation which includes breakfast. It will NOT take only a little time, it's the whole morning +. Enticements with the "Gold Card" are worthwhile in the long run with the discounts it can afford you.

There are NO ocean view rooms at the del Mar, in spite of what some of the pictures you may see, only pool view rooms, but you are at the smaller 'quiet pool', except for the couple of evening presentations, which are shut down by a reasonable time.
Two restaurants, one more expensive than the other. Facilities are complete on/at the facility. Local shopping is relatively nearby. Wal-Mart is not too far down the road, BUT remember you are in Mexico - everything is in Spanish, which makes some selections a little more difficult in spite of the similiar packaging.

Having a car can help, but there are NO roadmaps the kind that we are familiar with in the States. Read TripAdvisor on driving and you may want to watch the video on driving a rental car back from the Malceon - everything is different and requires caution and fortitude. We also went the the Zoo, a young magnificent zoo considerably different. You are much closer to most of the animals.

Departing from the airport, with shopping ALL the way to the gate, is where you will go thru three (3) different security checks, two of them into your bags.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank thrpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

We stayed here in the one bedroom suite for 6nights and had a blast! The location was excellent and we just jumped on a bus for a cheap short ride to the malecon, or boardwalk. We went to walmart and bought food that we cooked in our complete kitchen. We had a TV in the livingroom and the bedroom and the living room had a big double-size pull out bed. We had a patio with a view to the pool but we could cool off easily inside with the ice cold a/c. The villa del Mar share with sister hotel Villa del Palmar so you can use their pools and stuff but they rarely used ours. Food was a little pricey but very good quality and everything had to be charged to our room credit card though. Took a tour on a boat that took us to a small beach to have a delicious lunch and horseback riding to a waterfall! We had an open bar and dancing upstairs and even had time for snorkeling! A great small safe place to travel. Villarta is not as cheap as some places but definiteley worth the money. Villa del Mar will try and get you to do the timeshare hard-core at first but after that no problems and great service anyways. Room always cleaned and new towels everyday. Email me with Q's on this resort, it was worth it!!!

  • Liked — location, gardens, rooms, EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — time share people at airport
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lyns19583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI for school, otherwise Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We booked a week in a 2 bedroom at the Villa Del Mar through RCI. At first we were very confused since there is the Villa Del Palmar at the same address. They are sister resorts, and part of the same complex, so you get to use both resort facilities. When you check in, you'll do it at the Villa Del Mar. Check-in went very smooth, lots of genuinely nice people to help with luggage and answer all your questions. We are a group of students in our mid-twenties, and had an awesome time.

The best parts of the resort are the pools, resorts grounds (very pretty with palm trees, all of the grass and bushes are in great condition), exercise facility, public grill and location. The VDP pool has a fun slide and its warm, they also have two jacuzzis (one at the VDM and one at the VDP) which is awesome to relax in the evening. The workout facility has brand new cardio equipment with plasma tvs, and a good weight area. In the locker rooms they have a jacuzzi and sauna too, and free purified water. The rooms are very homey and we had two balconies. When you arrive just ask to be in a building that is not facing the street, tell them you are a light sleeper and its very important. There are four building kind of a circle around the VDM pool. We were in D which hugs the parking, and we really liked our room. Fully functional kitchen (minus oven, nice big fridge with separate freezer), large rooms, two bathrooms. It was just what we needed. I heard that the VDP has newer rooms, but I know they have updated some VDM units. The VDP is louder with lots of kids running around and music from speakers, and some units don't have as full of kitchen. Other perks are the free BBQ gas grill that you and your friends/family can grill on in the evening. Just pick up some meat from gigante which is a block away, and you're set. The bus going to el centro (downtown/malecon) stops right in front of the resort and is only 50 cents US. Cab drives are about 5 dollars to get downtown. Its the perfect location because its 5-10 minutes to downtown, but also close to walmart and sam's club, and the marina is a short bus ride too.

This was our second time visiting in the past year. Our favorite areas to visit, were old town and sayulita.

-to get to old town take the centro bus until it ends and then just wander around. Or you can walk along the malecon going south and then just keep walking. It has the best restaurants and a lively bar scene. Wonderful little shops and is definitely less touristy.

-sayulita is my favorite place to go in puerto vallarta. You take a bus to walmart then take a bus to punta mita/sayulita. It takes about 45 minutes. Sayulita is a little surfing town that has great waves, a beautiful secluded beach, and a great trip. When we go back we plan on staying half a week in the town. If you've never surfed, they have teachers that will take care of you. There is a little sandwich shop that is open air, and a huge one was only 15 pesos! Get the cuban. Then they have little family owned ice cream and popsicle shops, get the horchata (milky cinnamon drink that taste kinda like rice pudding) it will rock your world! Take my word for it, do this side-trip, it will be the highlight of the trip.

All in all we loved the Villa Del Mar, it has a relaxed cozy feel, and had everything we wanted in a resort.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank justskipee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2007

great place to stay. very safe. very secure. great people. great service. i would def. stay there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Too Expensive.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jeeps805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

My new wife and I stayed at Villa Del Mar on our honeymoon at the beginning of October. We aren't experienced resort patrons, but we absolutely loved this resort.

We booked through Universal Vacation Club and got into a 2 bedroom, 3 full bath condo, with a full kitchen and living room. We were on the ground level and just steps from the pool. Waiters were always coming around taking orders, so our drinks were never empty poolside. Maids kept the room spotless, doing dishes, mopping the tile, etc.

We ate breakfast every morning at La Cocina, which had an awesome breakfast buffet. Omelettes made to order, fresh fruit, you name it. Lunch and dinner were also great.

The other restaurant on site was only open for dinner and had superb food as well. The sports bar was great for grabbing a cocktail and watching the MLB playoffs.

I would definitely take the resort up on their all inclusive offering. It was only $53/day/person. We doubled or tripled that nearly every day, no problem.

I would highly reccomend the resort and the city of Puerto Vallarta to anyone considering.

  • Liked — The room and pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Pacino45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2007

Great place, this was the first time at the Villa del Mar, but I've stayed several time at the Villa del palmar. I should also say thatmy family occupied two rooms at the same time in both locations during our stay in Jan 2007.

The Villa del Mar is much more quite compared to the VDP, but is near the Gym and the Store. Even though we had a room on 3rd floor,the main street, the noise did not distrub us. I was there Jan 6-11th and really enjoyed every moment. I spent most of my time at the main pool in the VDP. So thumbs up to the VDM.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EQtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#66 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.9 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#96 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing