We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid . . .avoid at all costs !!!”
Review of Amaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaca Hotel
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel has amazing views and a pleasant staff, but they decide to turn the rooftop deck into a blaring disco making it entirely impossible to do anything but be subjected to hearing a constant thump, thump of music. I feel extremely sorry for anyone who lives near the hotel as it is completely unacceptable to have to tolerate this assault on the ears! I came to relax and not be subjected to be booked into the inside of a disco . . .even for the party goers this place has no redeeming assets to even slightly recommend it. Stay far, far away !

Room Tip: Do not stay here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charioteer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Some friends and I had a fun and relaxing stay at Amaca Hotel on a recent weekend getaway. We absolutely LOVED it here.

I really enjoyed the cozy and non-touristy feel of Amaca vs. the resort I stayed in on my last visit to PV. Each room is different, and you can tell there is a lot of love put into the design and decoration.

If you feel like exploring the town, the staff are very helpful, and can give you suggestions on the best places in the neighborhood to eat, drink, swim, snorkel, hike, etc. There is plenty you can walk to in this cute area, including shopping, and restaurants where you can be seated on the beach, just a few steps from the water.

If you feel like relaxing at the hotel, you can sit in the pool on the roof and order some fresh ceviche (some of the best I've ever had) and one of Juan's famous micheladas while enjoying the beautiful view up and down the coast. You can also take a nap in your in-room hammock, or enjoy the ocean breeze while you read a book on your balcony.

I would definitely recommend this place to any of my friends and family. I already miss Amaca Hotel - planning my next trip!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avtar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just want to say I loved the staff here. With that said, I feel the place was on a slippery slope. The year before was so much fun. The spark was gone. Part of that was a huge new hotel being built that stole there view of the sunset. Not there fault but still a bummer. There was no internet access. The bathroom had paint pealing off the floor in the shower. Breakfast was include but stopped after the first few days. (we stayed for 2 weeks) The roof bar that was so much fun the year before was closed. I wish the family who bought the place much luck. I would love to come back and see it up and running again. It really is a nice place with good energy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welltraveled1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My only complaints are very firm bed, a little run down and the steps from town. But the staff was very accommodating, the hotel was quiet, the pool was refreshing, the room was clean, the sheets were soft, the towels smelled amazing and the balcony was heavenly. This hotel is coming back with new owners after being closed and run down. There is still work that needs to be done, but I can see that this will one day be a great hotel. Right now it is a very good hotel. If you are looking for a party atmosphere then don't stay here. If you don't mind walking up more than a few stairs, like a quiet evening, enjoy a refreshing pool and like hammocks then this is the place for you! The staff really makes your stay as enjoyable as possible and the stairs do bring you into the heart of the Zona Romantica.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I arrived in Puerto Vallarta on December 30th with a booking at another hotel. Surprise! Overbooking, and nowhere to go. I was told the Amaca had just reopened a week before and with little choice left, I decided to check it out. The people running the hotel now were so welcoming I had no doubt. Indeed, you can see it has just reopened, freshly painted rooms, some things missing, internet not working properly but, hey, both Beto and Francisco did all they could to make my stay excellent. Their hospitality will make me want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was so excited for my long weekend getaway to Puerto Vallarta. I got a taxi from the airport (which was very easy). The taxi ride was about a half an hour to the Amaca from the airport. I arrive at the hotel and IT'S CLOSED! (see picture) I couldn't believe my eyes! There was a 'for rent' sign hanging below the Amaca sign! I called the phone number and got a recording. I left countless messages, knocked at the door, yelled, emailed and was completely in shock that I got taken. I ended up dragging my luggage down a hill toward the beach and was VERY lucky to find a hotel that had a room available for my entire stay in Vallarta. I lost hundreds of dollars because they said I had to pay 'in full' to get the better room rate and the 'get one night free' deal.
I had a good cry the day I arrived, but ended up having a wonderful time in Vallarta at another lovely hotel on the beach. Live and learn.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
11  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Reserved and paid for a King Bed room and was sent to a 2 Double bed room. We called to rectify and were told that we were "upgraded" because all King rooms were taken. While walking down the hallway you can hear everyone's conversations through the doors whether you want to or not. The bathroon is FILTHY and had mold! The rooms look NOTHING like what was on there website. Linens are old, leaking air conditioner (onto a wet tile floor). Had 1 face towel in room and asked for more - an attendant came to the door with 2 washcloths. Hole in ceiling. We asked for a refund or a partial refund so we could move to a new hotel and they refused. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jasper T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#105 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#33 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#55 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaca Hotel

Address: Calle Pino Suarez 583, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £28 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amaca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing