We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but the hotel needs some work...”
Review of Amaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaca Hotel
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First Off... a seven story condo tower is being built directly beside this hotel. So if you are looking for peace and quite, this hotel should not be on your list. Its quite unfortunate that this hotel is about to loose most of its views to this monstrosity of a building. They currently have the steel framework in place, looks like they have about a years worth of construction left to go. The construction does stop around 6pm, but it starts bright and early at 7:30am.

Our first room had a direct view of the construction, blocking the view of the ocean, which would have been perfect at one point. We requested a move and we were placed on the third floor, room 302 I think. This room had a wrap around balcony and had two sliding door windows (one facing the ocean and one sort of facing the construction). The views were breathtaking and despite the side that faced the construction, we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony and enjoying the sunset. The decor in the room was very nice, modern and clean and the hammock was a perfect addition to the room. The layout is a little odd, considering the bathroom toilet is in the shower stall, one of the weirdest layouts i have ever witnessed in a hotel.

The staff were amazing. Very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

The location is perfect. A couple blocks from the beach and the heart of the Zona Romantica.

The hotel itself is in a state of disrepair. Years of neglect have taken away some of its charm, but it still has good bones.

The sky bar lounge or the 'skydump' which is what we called it, was a sad excuse for a roof top lounge/pool. When we arrived there were beer cans everywhere, cigarette butts on the lounge furniture (most of which was trashed). The pool was murky, didn't appear to have been cleaned in sometime. It basically looked like there had been a party or two on the previous few days and the hotel staff had neglected to clean it. It looked nothing like the photo's from the hotel website/trip advisor.

To sum things up, at $70 US/per night. This hotel is decent bang for your buck. That being said, with the massive construction going on next door, I would recommend skipping this place in the near future. Maybe the Amaca will take this time to complete some upgrades of their own to improve the hotel over the next year. It could certainly use it.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to the best they have available. If you are facing the construction, they will upg...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Amaca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

First off the overall this hotel is good. The Staff here were extremely Friendly and helpful. The Hotel is good condition but does need some massive upgrades which they seem to be working on, However it was very clean. ( The Rooms are nice, but could really use some storage space or dressers. There are no Hooks or hangers.)
The few downfalls, are the construction right out side the hotel, there is no way you can sleep past 8:30am. This is not the Hotel's fault and they were very sorry but please do inquire about the noise before staying here. Also, the pool needs some updating and was very cold and dirty.
Apart from that the view from upper deck is amazing and hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNowGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've noticed that there are plenty of people quick to criticize everything they see and experience but I try to look at it as a whole. We came to Amaca Hotel because I booked a deal on Expedia and had a choice between Amaca and the more expensive hotels in the Hotel Zone. I'm glad I picked the are where Amaca is located. So much more authentic. Plus it's a great area to be gay and there are so many gay friendly establishments.

The hotel is cheap and you do get what you pay for. The bathroom are decent and the beds are actually huge but they could have better sheets. We got the upper room 303 and it was really nice to have a hammock and a breeze. That room faces the some of the construction but that really didn't bother me. We were out enjoying the city to care too much. 302 is probably the best room but our room worked just as well. You can ask for an upgrade once you arrive but it's not guranteed. Overrall for the price and especially if you're gay it's a perfect location.

Room Tip: 303 or 302
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I recomend this hotel clean cheap and great staff. Down side condo construction next door ask for años inside room, special thanks to Paty, Ernesto and Óscar of of course our bartender Remy. Also remember its located on The top of a hill. Not for those with mobility issues.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valdezmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

First I have to say the Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they make there guest welcome.
The hotel has amazing view of the whole city, perch on the top of a hill.
You must know; there is many steps to climb from the beach to get to that hotel, if you are not in-shape you will need to take a 5$ cab to go back up. For me it was not a problem 100 stairs is a good exercise after dinner or a day at the beach… ;-)

The hotel itself need some work done, not totally ready to be call perfect, but acceptable.
Room seem very clean, and I am a clean freak…
The shower head need to be change, the water was running all over the wall except on me (see pictures)….and if you have lots of clothes, you might find there is not much room to put them, there was a small area to hang 2-3 pairs of pants. Other then that, the private terrace in my room "amazing", the view from my wood window frame was amazing. I felt like I was in Greece in one of those hotel you seem on postcard. My friends came to visit me, and they were amaze by all that. I paid about 80$ USD a night, for Puerto Vallarta that is cheap.
The Tropicana hotel down the hill charge me 110$ for a room not that great with so much noise from construction beside the hotel, I thought the Amaca hotel was a super deal compare to the tropicana. And most hotel down allowed visitor in Vallarta, be careful…if you have friends. Tropicana would not let my friends come and have a drink with me in my room.
Very strange custom. The Amaca Hotel did not bother anyone.

I would stay there again for 3-4 days at a time

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean, its worth it, the view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montreal35457382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

First time to PV and stayed in the Amaca hotel in part due to its location reasonable close to the gay beach and town. Got a room with an awesome view, balcony, and hammock for $66/night. The hotel was clean and the views from my balcony and the roof deck were great. My only complaint was the lack of wifi in the rooms.

A couple of things to note:

1) It is a clean good value hotel in the old town of PV, if you are looking for beach front or remote and completely quiet this is not your hotel.
2) There is a large hill with stairs that take you onto the main drag ( two blocks from the beach), if you have mobility issues this would be a challenge.
3) Like everywhere in PV these days there is some construction going on around the hotel, the noise wasn't bad, with the ac on in the morning it was barely audible, but this could happen anywhere in the city.
4) The hotel is very close to a lot of good and inexpensive restaurants.
5) Three blocks from the beach, 6 blocks or so from the gay beach, walking distances to night clubs. The area was safe enough to walk at all hours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel has amazing views and a pleasant staff, but they decide to turn the rooftop deck into a blaring disco making it entirely impossible to do anything but be subjected to hearing a constant thump, thump of music. I feel extremely sorry for anyone who lives near the hotel as it is completely unacceptable to have to tolerate this assault on the ears! I came to relax and not be subjected to be booked into the inside of a disco . . .even for the party goers this place has no redeeming assets to even slightly recommend it. Stay far, far away !

Room Tip: Do not stay here !!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charioteer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallarta
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallart...
#16 of 93 in Puerto Vallarta
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olas Altas Suites
Olas Altas Suites
#20 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Xantolo
#61 of 93 in Puerto Vallarta
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaca Hotel

Address: Calle Pino Suarez 583, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £27 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amaca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing