We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Oasis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis Hostel
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I had a great, lazy time at the Oasis Hostel. The staff was great, especially Adela, and the location of the hostel was perfect, in an authentic Mexican neighborhood away from the tourist crowds, but still not a far walk from downtown. The open concept of the hostel made for a great atmosphere and it was easy to meet cool new friends. The noise could be a bit of a problem in the mornings especially with the church bells ringing early on. But that was a small price to pay for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    16
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Well, It has taken me long enough to write this review! I started backpacking by hitching from Canada, and bussing from AZ to Puerto Vallarta in Oct 2011. My first of many hostels was this place and I have to say now out of all the hostels I have stayed at all over Mexico, and Central America - This was by far the best experience I had! Guillermo and Fernando make you feel like family and I know I've got some good friends. What was supposed to be a couple day trip to visit and old high school friend in PV - turned into 2 weeks of pure awesome! Skip the resorts and ALL the blah of touristy resorts and check out Oasis for a real, warm, welcoming, and unforgettable experience! The place itself is beautiful with a second floor terrace, and also a rooftop terrace to watch the sunset as it hits the central church. RIght in the midst of all the action and close to everything you could want, whether that be tourist strips or to venture off exploring on your own! Miss you guys tonnes!

I say avergae sleep quality because i was having way too much fun to sleep!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I had the best time there, the staff is friendly and helpful. Here you will find affordable prices, the hostel provides good services as internet access and breakfast. I hope I have the opportunity to go to Puerto Vallarta again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

If you are looking for a hostel that makes you feel at home right away, this is the place for you. It's great because it's not right near the beach, which means it's not right near all of the tourists - so you get to experience Puerto Vallarta a little more authentically. And the beach is not far away at all - it's a 15 minute walk and you are there. The owner is so great- he draws out an incredible map when you arrive so that you know exactly where to go. The employees, especially Fraser and Norma, takes great care of everyone staying there - in terms of keep things clean, providing plenty of professional and personal interactions, and they even had a big roof top dinner one night while we were there. They take care of you like you are family. We will be back many many times! - Skylor and Peter

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I really enjoyed this hostel. It's not very close to the beach, but a quick and cheap bus ride gets you there easily - and gives you a bit more of a Mexican experience. The walk from town is beautiful too. I stumbled upon a great local restaurant on the way which served amazing margaritas and guacamole for a fraction of the price of anywhere in the centre. In the evening families also sell tacos on the street near the hostel, they're amazing and cheap.
The convenience store next to the hostel is a great place to get cheap beer and drink it on the balcony and watch the sunset. Vallarta sunsets are amazing, and I recommend watching them from the beach and from the Oasis balcony if you have time. The view over the town is really special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The guy is not very flexible if you arrive later than you said due to flight constraints. It is not even close to the center nor the beach, you have to walk like 20 minutes to arrive these places. It is also very noisy since it is next to the highway, in a not very touristic place. However, the place is nice inside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillermovm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Oasis Hostel, responded to this review, 26 January 2016
We clearly state that we do not have 24 check in, we clearly have the location map displayed and walking 15 minutes anywhere has never been an issue before in Barcelona, Paris or Rome, why should it be in PV? We have been open for 11 years and we have been rated one of the best hostels in Mexico. We believe that we cannot please everyone, but we sure will try! Come Visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

You can't beat the location at the downtown hostel. Close to shopping, clubs, and bus service. Some of the best hosts I have found on my world travels. Whatever you want to do, they can hook you up. The terrace is a perfect place to chill.
Bruce E.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hostel

Property: Oasis Hostel
Address: Calle Libramiento 222 | Colonia Benito Juarez, Puerto Vallarta 48389, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing