We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Ranked #76 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Bogotá
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in that hotel and have a very good expression.

Pro: every day room service, friendly staff, pool area, book exchange, own fridge

Contra: no kitchen (well it is a hotel, but still would be nice)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MirEgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us 4 nights! We are thankful you had the time to get to know our hotel and appreciated our amenities. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
31
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed here for several years, mostly a month at a time. The rooms are clean, maid service is 2 a week, beds are comfortable, services are fairly basic but all you need. Pool is a bonus and this year the wi-fi seems to be working well. I am a woman on my own so appreciate the security and always feel welcome here. For long term stay a toaster oven would be a bonus (I would prefer one instead of a microwave) bar fridge is adequate as PV has some of the best restaurants so tend to eat out a lot, but once in a while it would be nice to eat in. The suites (different location, same owners) do have a kitchen. Location is great, close to the action but quiet at night. There is a nice sitting area with tables and chairs near the pool so you don't have to stay in your room if you are not out and about walking the town.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool give you a little more opportunity to sit and eat outside but people are w...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PatHawk160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your fantastic review! It always makes us glad to hear feedback from you and to know that our efforts to give you a relaxing stay were worth it. We will look into providing different appliances to better serve your needs, thanks for the tip! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here over the xmas period. For the price we thought it was a good deal. Great location. Rooms basic but clean. (cleaned twice a week) Stayed on top floor with view of water. Pool is cool but clean. Wi-Fi was mostly good but a couple of down times. I think they could improve the bedding quality & have sheets that fit the bed. I would stay here again. Service was good & the water filter worked great. Enjoy if your on a budget.

Room Tip: Try the local taco stands, cheap & safe. Top floor rooms far left & far right have ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 807kennyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy you thought Vallarta Sun was a good value, especially during the holidays. We appreciate the recommendations regarding the bedding and we will keep an eye on the Wifi to make sure it is working properly. We hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

when we visit Puerto Vallarta we spend most of our time on the south side. there are 16 units here, there is a locked gate for security. the rooms are comfortable,clean and have all the basics for a kitchenette. .all rooms have a balcony.with table and chairs. the pool is not heated but was always comfortable. plenty of lounge chairs available. good wifi service. enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micknay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff and management at Vallarta Sun, we would like to thank you for posting a review. We appreciate you taking the time to mention specific aspects of the hotel that you found valuable so that we can continue to offer the best experience possible. Please stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Please be aware that this review is for the hotel part of this operation. Other reviews here seem to mostly be of the hostel, and a few for the suites (which are in a different complex) and fewer still for the hotel.

We pre-booked six nights for ourselves and 5 for my wife's mother, based on the positive reviews here.

The location is excelent, but there are easily 50 hotels in the area with just as good a location. We had to prepay for half of our stay before arrival and the rest on arrival, and learned on arrival that there are no refunds. At $79 a night this hotel is poor value, given that the rooms are very basic, maid service is sporadic at best (we had to ask the maid to come and she never did show up before 2:30 p.m. even though the hotel was less than half full), and, despite assurances to the contrary when we booked, there is NO internet service except on rare occasions when they can get their server working, at which time you MIGHT be able to check your email (speeds are slower than dial-up) in between crashes.

There's a general sense of cheapness here that's unmistakable. They double check to make sure they are getting the best possible dollar-to-peso rate, but don't even provide bottled garrafon water (instead there's a faucet that says the water is filtered but with no sign of a working UV system).

The rooms are just okay, with basic beds that are firm but not rock hard. Good luck getting them to wash your sheets, and to get fresh linens or have your trash emptied you'll need to track down a maid and insist.

It sounds like the hostel here is the best deal, and I have no experience with the suites so perhaps they're exceptional, but knowing PV very well and having stayed at close to a dozen properties in the Zona Romantica I can say with certainty that you can do better for less money elsewhere if looking for a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We offer you our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. Without negative feedback, I am unaware of areas that need improvement. We have made changes within our staff to better serve our clients, we upgraded our internet service for faster and more reliable connection and made other necessary improvements. We would like to contact you so we can follow up on the steps we've taken with the issues you've mentioned and discuss further how we can make our hotel better. We hope you’ll give us the opportunity to show you that we have heard your concerns and will stay with us again in the future.


Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Amazing…

That’s the word comes mind when I think about my time at the Vallarta sun hostel.
From the absolutely epic location just steps from the beach and the brilliantly colorful and impeccably clean hostel itself, I was pleasantly surprised. As a veteran of many hostels over the years, this one was just about the best I've ever been in and by far the best in Mexico.

Marco was a fantastic, helpful, clever and fun host. I always felt safe and attended too, as well as the vibe here is just truly amazing. This hostel is friendly to all types of people from the older and bolder crowd, 420, rainbows, holy rollers and even Canadians. (Just kidding, I love Canadians)

I really can't say enough how much I enjoyed my stay there and next time I find myself in Vallarta, I'll most defiantly return.

You just can't beat the price, the location, the staff, the vibe etc...

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savory_Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such an amazing review! We are thrilled to know that you had such a great experience with us at Vallarta Sun! You are a seasoned traveler and can appreciate what makes the difference between a good stay and an excellent stay. We try very hard to exceed all expectations and couldn't be more thankful to know you were so pleased! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Puerto Vallarta!

Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was there last year and Took me a few months to wrote these review because of the Owners, they are terrible all the time, Armando and his wife were so terrible host, you never trust them please even they promise you anything !!!!!! I was there and the staff was terrible all the time and Armando was the most unresponsive and underspending owner, he was with me so aggressive all the time even he knew me. I was there for a few days but I decided to leave before. the place is not that they say and the service is terrible, not breakfast , not hot water, not services, staff terrible and the owner all the time drunk at the Hostal. I will never recommend these place to anyone who is travel in Vallarta! there is others places more cheap an nice that these place. DONT GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEXSUISSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallartaSunSuites, Owner at Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for giving us valuable feedback. I want to personally apologize for your negative experience during your stay at Vallarta Sun. Your concerns are very important to us so we will contact you to discuss the details you have brought to our attention. We will also talk to the staff that was working during your travel dates and review the situation. We hope to have another opportunity to show you that we are listening and want to provide the best hostel experience possible.

Sincerely,

Vallarta Sun Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#102 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#63 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#55 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel

Property: Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 169 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta just a few steps away from one of the most attractive sandy beaches - Playa de los Muertos - and surrounded by great cafes and restaurants, our location allows you to walk to the most beautiful places in town. Enjoy the quietude while staying in the heart of Old Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Vallarta Sun Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Sun Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Vallarta Sun Suites And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing