We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Selva Romantica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selva Romantica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I would stay here for the beauty of the grounds alone let alone the nice rooms and nearness to the beach. They welcomed me and my family including my 4 year old nephew,8 month old niece and 9 month old son.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ak_vis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was our first condo stay in PV, and it was absolutely wonderful. The Selva Romantica location can't be beat. You are squarely in the heart of Zona Romantica, but it still feels peaceful and secluded. The complex is about 3 blocks from Los Muertos beach/pier and just one block up from all the restaurants and nightlife on Olas Altas.

We stayed in Paraiso 6. The owners were fantastic and really made the stay comfortable and stress-free. The unit is fabulously appointed with 2 br/2ba and overlooks the city and beautiful infinity pool. It even has it's very own espresso machine. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ResidentEville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here last January with our family and had a wonderful time. The apartment was beautifully furnished with balconies overlooking the sea. The only thing I would have likes was at least one bathtub in the apartment which has two showers, one a sit down. I a place like that I am surprised all units only have showers. Is this the norm in Mexico?
Also the swimming pool, as gorgeous as it is doesn't get deeper than my neck. Is this a new liability issue? I noticed this in Las Vegas as well. Really too bad, but still impressive nevertheless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I live at Selva Romantica part-time and own a unit here. Just wanted to let everyone know that we have now heated the pool, so the cold pool issue is not a problem any longer! It is a wonderful, quiet oasis convenient to everything and you will not be disappointed. We now have free wi-fi at the pool, too!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
11 Thank eileeninoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is not a hotel but a series of buildings with condos in them. We stayed in the Casa de Dante in the Amazonas building and it was wonderful. The views from this corner, 2 bedroom unit were spectacular as you could see all of the city and Banderas Bay, and the pools, hot tub and gardens are what sold us on renting in this place. And now we here that it has been approved to have the pool heated next year FOR SURE!! It is located up the hill from the El Dorado beach area. A great escape from the hustle and bustle of Old Town and the Beach, peaceful and quiet during the day. At night....well that all depends on which unit you are in as to your location. For us, it was very noisy at night, as we were fairly high up in the building and facing the city. BUT still worth it. We are returning for 3 weeks next year, already booked, so I figured I would let the secret out of one of the most beautiful places to stay in Old Town in my opinion.

Room Tip: Our third week here we moved to a studio on the side facing the hill....very quiet at night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skiwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

2012 was our second time at Selva Romantica. We used PVRPV.com to book our suite (Iguanas 6) and they were an excellent property manager.

As in 2011, this condo development did not disappoint on our second visit. This complex has excellent views, a nice infinity pool / sun deck, is secure and private.

UPS:

-New condo complex so all the units are nice (built in last 5 or 6 years)
-Secure - there is a night watchman, locked gates, and steel security doors on many suites
-Many suites are owner-occupied so it is quiet and well cared for
-Excellent grounds keepers - the grounds are always clean and well attended to
-All units should be equipped with air conditioning
-Nice pool - amazing views
-Hot tub is nice at night - good place to watch the stars
-Has a gym (although dumbells only go up to 30 lbs)
-Iguanas 6: has a safe, stereo, flat screen tv, DVD player, water cooler, etc. Very nice suite.


DOWNS:

-3 blocks from the beach - UPHILL

-Pool isn't heated - WAY too cold to swim in - BUT: They had a strata meeting this month and are planning on heating the pool. My guess is that this will be done sometime in 2012.

-Iguanas 6: The pipes in this building have some kind of problem - they squeal sometimes when other tenants use their water. It's only happens occasionally but is loud enough to wake up even the heaviest of sleepers. We brought this to the attention of the property manager so hopfully it will be dealt with.

-Iguanas building is on the north side - there is a chicken koop nearby and so there are roosters at all hours - keep your windows closed and it's not a problem. Iguanas 6 also didn't have a nice view (too low down in the building).

-No elevators - you have to go up several flights of stairs to access some of them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam_5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just returned after 10 days in Paraiso #9. Overall we really liked the location of the property and weren't put off by it being up on the hill with stairs or a climb. The views were as spectacular as reported.

The studio unit was spacious enough for a studio and had a fairly upscale feel. The owner's taste in decor was pleasing and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything one would need to cook/eat in, which we did on several nights.
Having access to laundry facility was a big plus. How nice to return home with clean clothes!
Two issues: There's construction going on on I.L. Vallarta which is a street that's backed up to the rear of the property. We were on the other side, so it wasn't too bad for us, but if we'd been in another building, it would've been an irritant.
Also, the pool, although beautiful and providing a panoramic view of the bay is FREEZZING! I don't mean "cool" or "refreshing" I mean "both eyes in the same socket, OMG am I having a stroke?" freezing. It's my understanding that adding heat to it has been voted down by the owners but continues to make the voting agenda. If it passes we'll be back in a second. Otherwise it's a big consideration for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylerhhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#102 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Descanso
La Casa Descanso
#18 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Alemana
Hacienda Alemana
#5 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Romantica

Property: Selva Romantica
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 203 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Selva Romantica Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing