We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go-to spot”
Review of Selva Romantica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selva Romantica
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our go-to spot”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed in three different units in Selva Romantica and will continue to go back. It's perched on a perfect little hill with city, ocean, and mountain views. The pool is a perfect spot to relax all day or unwind in the early evening after a day at the beach. It's perfect for gay travellers wanting to be close to Blue Chairs beach area and night spots.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recently returned from my first visit PVR. So fortunate to have stayed at the peaceful & beautiful Selva Romantica Condo. We stayed in a studio "Iguana's" with a amazing view of PVR. Clean, well decorated & nice kitchen. You will be woken in the morning by loud roosters & some crazy bird, parrott I think. But hey you want to start your day off early anyway to see the sights, sounds & beaches. Exit front gate & its a straight shot to the pier but hilly climb back, but if you exit the side gate, it's flat & easy walk steps away from town, shops bars & beach. Around corner is the best Taco's "Takos Panchos" & evening drinks $1 Cerveza or Margaritas at the Sea Monkey, while watching the sunset on the beach. Yummy!!! Walk the Malecon & experience the local vendors selling their wares. One of these locals suggested to us taking the local Orange bus to Rio Mismaloya 7pesos bus ride (bus stop is just around the corner from Selva Romantica at OXXO & returns to the same spot) with the locals. Awesome experience & AMAZING BEACH. Liked it so much we went the next day & actually stayed on the bus to the end of the line Boca. Walked to this beach where you can catch a water taxi or just hang out on the beach & drink a cerveza.
Selva Romantica's Infinity pool is to die for, with breath taking views of PVR. Was so peaceful to just float & take in.
No worries about safety Hugo & the crew are on the job, what felt like 24/7. Felt extremely safe!
I recommend this property & am planning a return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have been going to PV for the last 10 years & have stayed in another condo on the beach. This year (2013) we decided to try Selva Romantica & we definatley were not sorry!! The first 10 days we stayed in a 1 bedroom penthouse condo. Was very homey & comfortable. We faced the mtn. which was very nice & had a ocean/pool view from the juliet balcony from the bedroom. This condo had everything from washer/dryer to dishwasher! The condo was beautiful! We then moved over & stayed in Amazonas 7 & it was beautifully decorated & had a very warm feeling. It also had washer/dryer but no dishwasher. The bedrooms were huge & very comfortable for sleeping! The terrace was so relaxing to lounge around & the view was incrediable! If you plan to stay there use the BBQ that is on the terrace. The staff there are wonderful! Can't say enough about them!! The only negative thing about this condo is the 2 couches in the living room. Each one splits into 2 separte seats & becomes very uncomfortable after awhile as you have to keep pushing them back together.

The pool was the most relaxing,warm pool I have ever been in! We loved the quietness of the area & when we wanted to visit our friends on the beach with all the local action, we just took a short walk down to the beach area.

We definately are coming back in 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Booking with the owner was very easy and she was very helpful. We stayed in Safari 10 that had nice partial ocean/city view. We could see the sun set from the kitchen balcony and it felt very secure being on the 3rd floor relative to street level. The complex was located in a central location at the top of the hill with many walkable short cuts to different parts of town. It was close enough to the restaurants and tourist areas but far enough away that the noise from revelers did not disrupt our sleep.

We really enjoyed our stay there. The kitchen was well stocked for us to cook breakfast every morning. The ceiling fans in the room was also sufficient in keeping things cool without having to use the AC.

The best amenity at the complex was the infinity pool. It was quiet and relaxing with many lounge chairs to choose from. We did morning laps with maybe only 2 others in the pool.

We stayed 5 nights and we only had one compliant. The grounds keeper with his leaf blower starting working at 7am! It woke us up abruptly two mornings - way too early while on vacation and the noise continued as he walked around the entire complex for an hour.

Room Tip: Safari #10 unit had a nice view from the kitchen balcony and easy access to the gateway entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveller_hp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I would stay here for the beauty of the grounds alone let alone the nice rooms and nearness to the beach. They welcomed me and my family including my 4 year old nephew,8 month old niece and 9 month old son.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ak_vis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was our first condo stay in PV, and it was absolutely wonderful. The Selva Romantica location can't be beat. You are squarely in the heart of Zona Romantica, but it still feels peaceful and secluded. The complex is about 3 blocks from Los Muertos beach/pier and just one block up from all the restaurants and nightlife on Olas Altas.

We stayed in Paraiso 6. The owners were fantastic and really made the stay comfortable and stress-free. The unit is fabulously appointed with 2 br/2ba and overlooks the city and beautiful infinity pool. It even has it's very own espresso machine. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ResidentEville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here last January with our family and had a wonderful time. The apartment was beautifully furnished with balconies overlooking the sea. The only thing I would have likes was at least one bathtub in the apartment which has two showers, one a sit down. I a place like that I am surprised all units only have showers. Is this the norm in Mexico?
Also the swimming pool, as gorgeous as it is doesn't get deeper than my neck. Is this a new liability issue? I noticed this in Las Vegas as well. Really too bad, but still impressive nevertheless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#102 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Descanso
La Casa Descanso
#18 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Alemana
Hacienda Alemana
#5 of 70 in Puerto Vallarta
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Romantica

Property: Selva Romantica
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 203 | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Selva Romantica Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing